Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.6
estrelas
869 classificações
202 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5360, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

Melhores avaliações

RD
24 de Out de 2018

Very good course, focused on the quartus prime tool and touch a lot of topics on FPGA design, optimization, time analysis and a little of comparison between Altera and other FPGA vendors.

KS
30 de Jul de 2020

This is an extremely good course and I learned a lot. Thank you very much sir "Timothy Scherr " and all the people who make this a such a nice one. Also thank you very much "COURSERA" !!!

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 203 Avaliações para o Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

por Khalid J

28 de Jan de 2020

This course is very helpful for FPGA learners, engineers, computer scientists, and hardware geeks. You will find everything you need about FPGA conception and architecture. You will learn about how to use Altera Quartus Prime, how to select the best technology based on your projects and assignments, FPGA design and analysis, and many more techniques that will upgrade your domain skills. But this course is not about programming FPGAs using VHDL or VERILOG. I really liked it and the tutor is amazing. Thanks Coursera for such helpful programs.

por Andrew K

8 de Jun de 2020

I thought the class was very useful and I am confident I can select the proper device and design for it in Quartus and Qsys. The quizzes during the videos were very effective in keeping my focus on the video and cementing the ideas. Really good pace and level. Some of the books and the demo boards sugested were not used much or not used at all. It took me to the end of the class to get the hang of submitting and grading assignments. The best online class I have had.

por Filip K

17 de Mai de 2020

Course is a good introduction.

Knowledge of Boolean algebra is a plus for the first exercises.

The Altera BeMicroMax10 is used as reference in this course.

FPGA dev board is not needed for this course. The suggestion of the Terrasic DE10-lite is a bit misleading, as it's referred to for future courses.

Certain parts of the course are not working as shown in the Quartus II. (bug in 16.1 196 build?)

por Steven K

1 de Ago de 2020

Enjoyed the course and found it useful and challenging. There were a few minor but annoying bugs in the material that should have been fixed long ago, however. Also, it appears as if the forums where students can ask questions are unmonitored, since questions often go unanswered, and the same questions seem to pop up repeatedly.

por Joshua R

12 de Ago de 2019

It was a nice course. But I feel the Designing part could have been taught more slowly so that those who are new to FPGA might understand a little bit better. Regardless, the syllabus was very nice, covering everything. I thank the course instructors also for taking effort to provide such a nice course.

por Jason C

4 de Fev de 2021

This class feels a bit dated in that it doesn't mention Xilinx Zynq. It is also less useful to individuals focused on FPGA platforms other than the Altera platform used in the exercises.

Nevertheless, it is a good class that provides perspective that one might not get elsewhere on the web.

por Muhammad S A

21 de Jun de 2020

It was a good one overall as it provided new ways to design and improve on FPGA which is not taught in most undergrad universities. Although, if they made assignments a little engaging and challenging, It will be really good for whoever comes next.

por K S

12 de Jun de 2020

The Course was very good, But Week 3 was only regarding FPGA by various companies. I would rather suggest to limit that two 2 or 3 videos and get some more insights on FPGA in that week. Other than that the course was great. Thank you So much!!

por Hanming Z

8 de Abr de 2021

Overall pretty good introduction course. The 2nd week survey of products was boring, not particularly useful. The quiz could be better designed to rely less on memorization of what's covered in lecture.

por Ali A

8 de Nov de 2018

The course was great. I learned a lot about FPGA architecture and choosing the right kind of tool for a particular task. The week 2 peer assignment needs a bit of some fixing, but the rest was awesome.

por John S

12 de Ago de 2020

Some procedures through the tutorials in the course are told without explanation, why we use this or why we do that.

But overall this is an amazing course, and I learned a lot from it. Thank you all ❤️

por Karthik P

16 de Nov de 2018

It had been quiet a knowledgeable course with the best aiding CAD tools and elobarate walk-through to work with it. Definitely a good starter into world of FPGA design.

por FARHANA S J

5 de Jul de 2020

Bit harder course, but after finishing it, will surely improve knowledge on FPGA. Have few bugs on graded submission part. Overall great experience.

por Husam k

4 de Out de 2018

awesome course, hope there would more courses similar to it and if possible it would be great if you provide a step-by-step VHDL programming course

por Thierry

19 de Fev de 2019

Very good introduction to fpga design! I regret recommended hardware is not on the market anymore and some recommended lectures are outdated.

por Kaijun F

27 de Dez de 2017

Good course. Could improve by giving a little bit more background information or project goal of the circuits we build in the course.

por Jasper H

17 de Nov de 2017

Good introduction to FPGA design, programmable logic and use of the Quartus II software. Can't wait for the follow-up modules.

por Kyle H

28 de Nov de 2017

Material is introductory, but thorough. Quizzes had some issues, and the 'correct' answers need to be rechecked carefully.

por Arjun A P

27 de Jul de 2020

Found this course very useful. But the explaination of circuits could be improved as it is a beginners course

por David T

17 de Dez de 2019

Very nice course giving a good overview of FPGA, though sometimes not detailed enough. It is an introduction.

por RAVAL V H

31 de Mai de 2019

excellent course to get familiar with basic of Quartus prime design tool

por 张智博

23 de Dez de 2020

I learned a lot about the history and structure of FPGAs.

por Sandeep D

27 de Jun de 2020

Good opportunity to learn with practical knowledge.

por PRASHANT G

21 de Nov de 2018

Good course,step by step understanding .

por Megha M S

19 de Jul de 2019

please provide fully free courses