Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.6
356 classificações
82 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

Melhores avaliações

RD

Oct 25, 2018

Very good course, focused on the quartus prime tool and touch a lot of topics on FPGA design, optimization, time analysis and a little of comparison between Altera and other FPGA vendors.

SU

Sep 18, 2018

Very challenging course with tough assignments and quizes to pass with deadlines but i enjoyed this.\n\nI got practical experience in designing, compiling and analyzing FPGA circuits.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

por Diego E S

Nov 26, 2019

Instructor is good, most of the material is appropriate for an introductory course, but there were a few things that I think could be improved/changed:

1. A much better description of the examples used in weeks 2 and 4 could have been provided. The instructor jumps into the multiplier/ALU and processor right away without any explanation of what they do and how they are architectured. A written document describing what they are would help.

2. The Quartus Prime tutorials given during week 2 are good, but the use of TimeQuest is overly complicated and little description is given on what each tool item covered is for.

3. The material covered in week 3 is very repetitive and could easily be learned by the students just by looking at datasheets. Explaining that there are a wide variety of FPGAs, and what the potential differences are is important, but in my opinion way too much time was used to cover this. I would use the time to cover Quartus Prime in more detail.

4. Some material is missing. For example, during the lecture on how to program the FPGA, there is reference to an LED programing code, which is missing from the course files.

5. At the beginning of the course, it is recommended to purchase DE10-Lite board if the students are interested in taking the "specialization", but the remaining 2 courses are still not up yet into coursera, and there is no info if they will ever be.

por Gary F

Jun 29, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. The instructor is by far the best I have encountered on any on-line (or classroom) course. I'm now waiting for the rest of the specialisation.

por arash n

Jan 08, 2019

The course is very very introductory and can only make you a little familiarize to FPGA/CPLD types and basics of programming FPGA... you will not be even upgraded to beginner, by taking this course.

Coursea charges $99 for a course that you could get the knowledge just by reading materials you could find by a simple search on google.

highly NOT recommended.

por SYED M U

Sep 18, 2018

Very challenging course with tough assignments and quizes to pass with deadlines but i enjoyed this.

I got practical experience in designing, compiling and analyzing FPGA circuits.

por Ralph W

Oct 16, 2017

I thought that this course was an absolutely wonderful introduction to the world of FPGA design. I liked learning about the different features of some of of the more popular FPGA families. I really enjoyed the task of building a soft processor using the Altera Qsys software. I found that the homework was reasonable in scope and relevant to the topics presented in the lectures. I would like to learn more and I would like to suggest a series of classes like this one that also include HDL languages and verification concepts.

por Guift

Jun 07, 2018

Good to get to know the quartus prime software and get started into fpga design.

After completing this course, Quartus prime feel way less aliens, I think I have a solid grasp as to what I need to look for to continue my fpga journey and VHDL seem way easier.

(You don't learn to make VHDL or Verilog code in this course)

Critic :

the voice isn't always synced with the video

there a a few error in the quiz question

Some part could be introduced in a better way (time analysis definition could use some animation)

Was intended to be a 4 course series, I'm not sure if they will continues

por Curtis N

Aug 15, 2018

This is largely a survey of the Altera/Intel tools and of vendors' CPLD and FPGA offerings. The "build a design" part of the course is rote learning, not foundation knowledge. You do not write Verilog or VHDL in this course. It's unclear what the "for embedded systems" part of the course title means.

por Jose P E

Mar 14, 2018

I'm just auditing the course.

Even though I really like it, as a beginner I see a lot of material that is just covered lightly. I guess that's OK since there are still more courses in the specialization to cover more subjects.

Anyway, the reason I'm giving it only 2 stars is because I find it expensive. $100 per course is more than what I'd want to pay. If it was less expensive, I'd take the specialization.

por Ammon D

Oct 09, 2019

I was very excited to take this course. Unfortunately, the materials that are said to be available are nowhere to be found. Many students having this problem. (Week 2 - Video 4).

por Indu G

Feb 21, 2019

People who are very really interested in design perspective of embedded systems and digital logic designs can take this course which is worthful

por vishnu r

Feb 13, 2019

The topics are very easy and good content

por Victor G

Mar 05, 2019

Pretty challenging course, but very helpful if you are parallel starting with real design or have to work with some ready design. I also very appreciate an overview of different FPGA and CPLD platforms, selection criteria of them.

So I am waiting for anounced next course, about Verilog and VHDL. It is exactly what i need right now.

por A H R

Mar 16, 2019

The course was challenging and exciting and very useful, the way they trained us is awesome

por Aakash C

Mar 20, 2019

Very concise and informative

por Manish S

Dec 23, 2018

Nice way of entering into the world of FPGA design.

por Nicholas C

Apr 02, 2019

Excellent course

por Aman

Apr 07, 2019

Very Good Course.

por Joel M M

Feb 17, 2019

One of the best class I've attended. Explanations and examples are crystal clear, and the instructor is really good at teaching.

por Geovanny E Q

Jan 23, 2019

Really good

por helen w

Apr 12, 2019

great refreshment class for me

por Mina M

Jan 23, 2018

The Course is awesome

por Zakir H

Apr 29, 2018

Must take course to master the FPGA EDA Tools skills. Excellent examples,with great elaboration. Thank you so much coursera for such a nice course.

por Prashanth R

Dec 27, 2017

Pretty good and detailed for an introductory course !!

por Gabriel A R D

May 13, 2018

I fell in love with this course, I hope the other 3 courses will be released soon!

por Perry H

Jun 11, 2018

Really enjoyed the course thoroughly recommend!