Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.6
281 classificações
69 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Programmable Logic has become more and more common as a core technology used to build electronic systems. By integrating soft-core or hardcore processors, these devices have become complete systems on a chip, steadily displacing general purpose processors and ASICs. In particular, high performance systems are now almost always implemented with FPGAs. This course will give you the foundation for FPGA design in Embedded Systems along with practical design skills. You will learn what an FPGA is and how this technology was developed, how to select the best FPGA architecture for a given application, how to use state of the art software tools for FPGA development, and solve critical digital design problems using FPGAs. You use FPGA development tools to complete several example designs, including a custom processor. If you are thinking of a career in Electronics Design or an engineer looking at a career change, this is a great course to enhance your career opportunities. Hardware Requirements: You must have access to computer resources to run the development tools, a PC running either Windows 7, 8, or 10 or a recent Linux OS which must be RHEL 6.5 or CentOS Linux 6.5 or later. Either Linux OS could be run as a virtual machine under Windows 8 or 10. The tools do not run on Apple Mac computers. Whatever the OS, the computer must have at least 8 GB of RAM. Most new laptops will have this, or it may be possible to upgrade the memory....

Melhores avaliações

SU

Sep 18, 2018

Very challenging course with tough assignments and quizes to pass with deadlines but i enjoyed this.\n\nI got practical experience in designing, compiling and analyzing FPGA circuits.

FC

May 07, 2018

This course will take you from a very basic understanding of FPGA technology to experiencing most facets of the design process. I would like to see more courses on this topic.

Filtrar por:

51 — 69 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to FPGA Design for Embedded Systems

por Thierry

Feb 19, 2019

Very good introduction to fpga design! I regret recommended hardware is not on the market anymore and some recommended lectures are outdated.

por Karthik P

Nov 16, 2018

It had been quiet a knowledgeable course with the best aiding CAD tools and elobarate walk-through to work with it. Definitely a good starter into world of FPGA design.

por Husam k

Oct 04, 2018

awesome course, hope there would more courses similar to it and if possible it would be great if you provide a step-by-step VHDL programming course

por Kyle H

Nov 28, 2017

Material is introductory, but thorough. Quizzes had some issues, and the 'correct' answers need to be rechecked carefully.

por Kaijun F

Dec 27, 2017

Good course. Could improve by giving a little bit more background information or project goal of the circuits we build in the course.

por Jasper H

Nov 17, 2017

Good introduction to FPGA design, programmable logic and use of the Quartus II software. Can't wait for the follow-up modules.

por RAVAL V H

May 31, 2019

excellent course to get familiar with basic of Quartus prime design tool

por Joshua R

Aug 12, 2019

It was a nice course. But I feel the Designing part could have been taught more slowly so that those who are new to FPGA might understand a little bit better. Regardless, the syllabus was very nice, covering everything. I thank the course instructors also for taking effort to provide such a nice course.

por Parikshit K C

Jul 16, 2018

Good overview however not very exciting. One week seemed to be dedicated to almost reading out spec/selection guides of FPGA and it sounded monotonous. Week 4 was much more involving and took more than usual time to finish. There was a mentioned 3 more specializations but didn't hear what those are and when those will start.

por Ammar A K

Mar 13, 2019

There should be more examples of how to practically code and run FPGA using VHDL

por Diego E S

Sep 12, 2019

Instructor is good, most of the material is appropriate for an introductory course, but there were a few things that I think could be improved/changed:

1. A much better description of the examples used in weeks 2 and 4 could have been provided. The instructor jumps into the multiplier/ALU and processor right away without any explanation of what the do and how they are architectured. A written document describing what they are would help.

2. The Quartus Prime tutorials given during week 2 are good, but the use of TimeQuest is overly complicated and little description is given on what each tool item covered is for.

3. The material covered in week 3 is very repetitive and could easily be learned by the students just by looking at datasheets. Explaining that there are a wide variety of FPGAs, and what the potential differences are is important, but in my opinion way too much time was used to cover this. I would use the time to cover Quartus Prime in more detail.

4. Some material is missing. For example, during the lecture on how to program the FPGA, there is reference to an LED programing code, which is missing from the course files.

4. At the beginning of the course, it is recommended to purchase DE10-Lite board if the students are interested in taking the "specialization", but the remaining 2 courses are still not up yet into coursera, and there is no info if they will ever be.

por PANG I H

Nov 07, 2018

I do not recommend for busy working personal. I have to admit I have time problem spent the extra hours to search for external knowledge to complete some of the assignment which wasn't covered in the course. For example, knowledge of how to simplify a 4 bit adder require some level of k-map simplification know how, which forced me to spent the extra hours to google and learn. I originally purchase the cert because it was needed in some of the companies new project. After looking at the time pressure and deadline of the course, I decided to spent time study FPGA at intel youtube and post question at their technical support forum to get my job done.

por Curtis N

Aug 15, 2018

This is largely a survey of the Altera/Intel tools and of vendors' CPLD and FPGA offerings. The "build a design" part of the course is rote learning, not foundation knowledge. You do not write Verilog or VHDL in this course. It's unclear what the "for embedded systems" part of the course title means.

por Adwait K

Mar 19, 2018

Not a course to learn a great deal about FPGA's. Seems like an elaborated explanation of a reference manual to use the Quartus Prime software.

por Jose P E

Mar 14, 2018

I'm just auditing the course.

Even though I really like it, as a beginner I see a lot of material that is just covered lightly. I guess that's OK since there are still more courses in the specialization to cover more subjects.

Anyway, the reason I'm giving it only 2 stars is because I find it expensive. $100 per course is more than what I'd want to pay. If it was less expensive, I'd take the specialization.

por Andrea M

Jul 29, 2019

For university students in the field of Engineering the course is quite basic, but it is good for having a small introduction on FPGA design, issues, and market.

The main concern is the price (too high, for me it is worth 20$ or something around), and the fact that in the course they don't explain the background of some steps that they do in the Software (it is simply "Select this", "Click this", etc.)

por Gasper

Apr 28, 2018

This course is just weird, too much content crammed into "powerpoint" style of modern education. Buy a book, watch youtube fpga content lecture videos, join a university class,...

por Carlos M

Aug 17, 2018

Software cannot be downloaded