Chevron Left
Voltar para The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State da instituição Universidade de Tel Aviv

4.6
estrelas
577 classificações
168 avaliações

Sobre o curso

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Melhores avaliações

TA

Sep 27, 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

DA

Feb 03, 2018

The course began with a question..What do we know about Israel(its history)? The course ended with an answer is " Is there anything more to be known?" Excellent course!!!!

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

por Denny S

Sep 23, 2019

very informative..

por Lucas M G

Jan 24, 2018

Muito bom o curso.

por Francisco G

Jul 11, 2017

muy buen curso!!!!

por RevFaith C

Sep 12, 2017

Excellent Course.

por Steban N

Jun 05, 2016

Excelent Labour!!

por Romelia V

Jan 07, 2016

Excellent course

por Alexis P

Nov 11, 2016

Very well done!

por Eden H

Dec 27, 2015

Great course!!

por Koh, Y H

May 08, 2018

Great course.

por Tal

May 06, 2017

great course!

por Sarah M

Feb 12, 2016

Useful course

por Ryan S

Jan 04, 2020

well done!

por Walter R K N

Jun 21, 2016

AMAZING!

por BILAL A A

Jul 18, 2017

so hard

por TSR K

May 29, 2019

goodd

por Mahmoud E

Aug 24, 2018

good

por John W B

Jan 16, 2017

I

por Daniela N T

Feb 19, 2016

T

por Saphir B D

Sep 06, 2016

The course was extremely informative and managed to explain complex circumstances very simple.

I highly recommend this course therefore. I was able to learn new things about the history of Israel which were never brought to me like that by history teachers. Great opportunity to broaden knowledge.

Suggestions:

Although the course was very good structured sometimes sophisticated history terms in the context of Israel and Palestine occurred in a video and were explained properly one video later. But because they were explained shortly after and it happened only like three times I would suggest to have a little box with terms like Lechi or Palmach, White Paper from thetime they occur first right beneath every video.

The interviews with the experts of each fields had sometimes an odd audio recording and one person therefore spoke louder then the other and I had to turn my speakers on full volume sometimes. If the course gets rerecorded one day I suggest to look into those samples in particular.

Thanks for this great course.

por Alec K

Nov 12, 2015

I found this course to be very interesting. I took this course simultaneously with the one from UCSD on the Holocaust so they enhanced each other. I especially appreciated having a lecture in which Anita Shapira participated - I had already read 'Israel: A History' so it added an extra dimension to that. A couple of small niggles - a) I think a warning for those that don't speak Hebrew that they need to use the subtitles facility(something I've never used before) b) I think some of the English spellings may be ambiguous when translating from Hebrew because of the special use of vowels.

All in all I enjoyed this and hope you provide more courses relating to the Israeli/Palestinian situation. Many ordinary people are very uninformed and vulnerable to misleading propaganda. Courses like this are vital in informing non-Jews.

por Nikola D

Apr 23, 2018

The professor was great, I really enjoyed listening to him. What I found confusing was the questions on the tests, it didn't seem to me that they reflected the lectures previously given, nor I thought they could measure the level of acquired knowledge.

It would be also nice if professor suggested some literature or, why not, movies and documentaries about certain events mentioned in the lectures, so students can research deeper into the subject and gain better understanding of how modern Israel came to be.

por Sarah E P

Nov 12, 2015

This is a great introduction to Israel and Middle Eastern politics. It's not too tough- everything is broken down into very manageable 7 or 8 minute lessons, so it's easy to acquire a general understanding of the factors that led to the formation of Israel. Students looking for an in-depth examination may be disappointed, but if you're curious about this fascinating and very relevant chapter of history, this course will give you a good overview, and leave you hungry to learn more.

por Rachel K

Aug 21, 2018

This was a very good course and taught me a lot about the creation of the State of Israel. One problem I had was that this course seems to assume you have more background knowledge than I had. I often found myself looking up information on my own because I didn't fully understand the different groups or people that were mentioned.

por Mark W

Nov 18, 2016

An excellent course - as an introduction, it covers the material in a logical way, and presents critical views on actions of parties on all sides. Has whetted my appetite to know more about the history of creation of Israel and to explore particular avenues that couldn't be covered in detail due to introductory nature of course.

por Sophie B

Dec 06, 2017

VERY INTERESTING - Sometime the accent and speed of the lecturers, however enthralling, it hard to follow. The use of the script and rewatching is then essential! but all in all great course. Has not helped in forming an opinion on current climate, as expected, but has increased dramatically the understa