Chevron Left
Voltar para The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State da instituição Universidade de Tel Aviv

4.6
estrelas
646 classificações
188 avaliações

Sobre o curso

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Melhores avaliações

TA

Sep 27, 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

DH

Feb 18, 2018

A very thorough learning experience and really showed how the struggle for a sovereign state for the Jews came about and all the differences which needed to be ironed out.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 186 Avaliações para o The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

por enriqueta a h

Aug 04, 2020

simple, clear and blunt language, reliable information, continually being updated, very interesting course Congratulations

por Alessandro R C

Mar 19, 2018

Alto nivel de conocimiento sobre la historia de Israel. Mi visión sobre la cuestión Palestina es mucho más clara. Gracias.

por Paccelli J M Z

Dec 03, 2018

É um excelente curso! Apresenta uma outra visão do Estado de Israel, diferente daquela que lemos na mídia. Recomendo!

por Lenka J

May 05, 2018

I understand well, only with test I had little problems due my English language. But all capture was interesting.

por Ben F

May 27, 2018

Great general overview for someone totally new to the material. Very informative and professionally presented.

por JOHN Q

Dec 07, 2015

I think this has been a nice wrap of following the Holocaust course. I've thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks.

por Matheus V d C M M

May 13, 2020

Great course for those who like history and want to understand better the conflict between Jews ans Arabs.

por Fernando M J S

Apr 17, 2020

Curso de muy buena calidad para quienes iniciamos en el proceso de conocimiento de la historia de Israel.

por Jorge D A G

Jul 09, 2019

I have founded really interesting, perhaps it was almost unknown for me. Congratulations to the teachers.

por rony p r

Nov 17, 2016

Good course. This course will clear the history of Jewish state in sequential order. Presented very well

por Deleted A

Feb 08, 2016

Challenging material with great opportunities to get more background information for further studying.

por Rosa L W

Jun 09, 2020

Excelente curso! Muy bien explicado tanto por los profesores como por los conferencistas invitados.

por Andrea E S

Jun 29, 2016

Excellent course that gives new light on such a provocative and discussed tragedy in human history.

por Praveenkumar S H

Jun 25, 2016

Excellent content and delivery. Gave me a good perspective of history around Israel and Palestine.

por Eric B

May 22, 2016

This course gives a simple but clear bone structure upon which to hang further study on the topic.

por Renjitthomas

Sep 06, 2018

Very good very detailed and advanced questions for quizz which require a lot of general reading

por Katarina M

Dec 03, 2017

Great course, very much needed as so much incorrect information circles around about Israel.

por Thomas E

Nov 23, 2015

Thanks for this very interesting class. Hope to see released in a near future the follow up!

por Michelle W

Apr 28, 2020

I learned a lot. I liked the way the class was run and the length. Loved the instructor.

por Angela T

Aug 22, 2017

Very interesting course which covers a lot of material that I was not previously aware of.

por David P

Sep 05, 2016

Excellent course, thank you so much! I truly enjoyed learning about the histroy of Israel.

por David L

Feb 11, 2018

Very informative lecture of the history of the most important piece of land in the world.

por Michael K

Jan 27, 2016

I learned so much from this course, it added so much flesh to the bones of my knowledge.

por Ryan A M

Aug 25, 2017

Very informative. I honestly say I understand the beginnings of Israel very well know.

por Khalil A M

Feb 25, 2018

Excellent Course, very informative. I hopeful I will join part two of course as well.