Chevron Left
Voltar para The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State da instituição Universidade de Tel Aviv

4.5
499 classificações
143 avaliações

Sobre o curso

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Melhores avaliações

TA

Sep 27, 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

DA

Feb 03, 2018

The course began with a question..What do we know about Israel(its history)? The course ended with an answer is " Is there anything more to be known?" Excellent course!!!!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

por Elia L

May 05, 2019

Learned an amazing amount about Israel. The interviews complimented the lectures very nicely and provided an even greater narrative/

por TF

Sep 07, 2016

This course has valuable information, but it is ultimately political. The professors don't even disclose that there are two opposing historical schools: "New Historians," whom Palestinians reference; and traditional historians, favored by most Israelis. Which version is followed here? The answer is a mix, without identification. This is not the same as "balance," which would entail each side laying out its key points and evidence. As others note, there is zero reading material. One wonders if this is because to choose a historian is to choose sides--that is how divisive this topic is. The discussion forums are also poorly monitored, unlike other Coursera courses; which does not advance understanding.

"A little knowledge is a dangerous thing" unfortunately applies to this condensed intro course. And contrary to expectations for an offering from Tel Aviv U., most Israelis would likely be offended by some of its assertions/omissions. For example, Israelis recall that Palestinian founding father Haj Amin al-Husseini was a Nazi agitator in Europe and bequeathed an anti-Jewish ideology (Netanyahu even made a speech about this in 2015 that was covered internationally). Yet in this course, you will be told simply that al-Husseini was a "man of religion."

por Aghed S K

Jan 20, 2019

der Kurs verarmt auf die Ehrlichkeit und Distanzierung

افتقر الكورس الى الصدق والحياديه

por Ahmed A A S

Aug 26, 2018

The lecturers didn't stand in a neutral space, regarding the Zionist presence in palestine. Israel's presence today in the Middle East is part of the process of European colonization, This is the truth that this course didn't say.

por Paccelli J M Z

Dec 03, 2018

É um excelente curso! Apresenta uma outra visão do Estado de Israel, diferente daquela que lemos na mídia. Recomendo!

por Denise G I

Feb 25, 2019

Curso bem esclarecedor do início de Israel, bem como do conflito árabe-israelense.

por Praveenkumar S H

Jun 25, 2016

Excellent content and delivery. Gave me a good perspective of history around Israel and Palestine.

por Manuel F G

Dec 15, 2016

An excellent course about Israel and his development.

por Walter R K N

Jun 21, 2016

AMAZING!

por Richard H

Apr 09, 2018

Thank you very much.

por Angela T

Aug 22, 2017

Very interesting course which covers a lot of material that I was not previously aware of.

por Tracy P

Apr 01, 2016

A well-prepared, well-delivered course.

por Joyce S

Jan 20, 2016

I am 83 years old. Much of this I remember. I did poorly on the test because It is hard for me to take clear notes quickly. {medical condition}. However, as coming from a Jewish background I found the class very interesting. Israel will survive no matter how horrible the situation in the Middle East exists!

Joyce Spier

por Wilfredo B

Nov 25, 2015

This course gave me a very practical and broad knowledge of the genesis of the State of Israel, its challenges and political processes from zionism as a movement to reality.

por Steban N

Jun 05, 2016

Excelent Labour!!

por José d J D L C G

Nov 19, 2015

Excellent course and teacher

por Natalia A

Dec 02, 2017

Very clear and easy to follow

por Sarah M

Feb 12, 2016

Useful course

por Roy S I

Jul 13, 2016

Fantastic course that gives a quick, yet thorough survey of Modern Israeli history. The primary professor may be one of my favorite professors I've ever heard in my life. His passion when talking about the Holocaust is especially evident. I would recommend this course to any history "buff" or lay person looking to increase their knowledge about modern Israeli

por Miguel V

Aug 30, 2017

Very interesting to know about Israel modern history (majority on XX Century)

If you like this course I also recommend: The Emergence of the Modern Middle East

Also in two parts, but it's about the other Middle East places (not just Israel / Palestine)

Thank you.

por Eden H

Dec 27, 2015

Great course!!

por JOHN Q

Dec 07, 2015

I think this has been a nice wrap of following the Holocaust course. I've thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks.

por David P

Sep 05, 2016

Excellent course, thank you so much! I truly enjoyed learning about the histroy of Israel.

por Erika V F

Sep 07, 2016

I feel that I learned a lot on this course, I appreciate the information that was conveyed. I feel more education about the Israel-Palestine issue.

por Romelia V

Jan 07, 2016

Excellent course