Chevron Left
Voltar para The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State da instituição Universidade de Tel Aviv

4.6
estrelas
679 classificações
199 avaliações

Sobre o curso

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Melhores avaliações

TA
26 de Set de 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

SS
29 de Set de 2020

It gave me more insight for me about Israel history. The tutors explained it in a simple way, although some parts of the materials were a little bit difficult to understand

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 197 Avaliações para o The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State

por Mudit A

9 de Nov de 2018

Well constructed course. Provided a good understanding of the basis of the Zionist experiment, and the fundamental causes of the Arab-Israeli conflict. Explanations by both professors were lucid and engaging. Inputs from auxiliary professors brought about nuanced perspectives

por Simi V

17 de Mai de 2018

There are errors in the transcripts of the lectures (one example: the word "pogrom" is written as "program." I am not going to stay with the course but if anyone wants me to, I can clean up those transcripts (I am a professional editor).

por Kathryn M

16 de Mai de 2017

I learned so much in this course! My biggest critique would be that a lot of the videos seemed to be recorded at a low volume so they were difficult to hear.

I've taken several other Coursera courses and haven't had that problem.

por Alex B

26 de Abr de 2020

A good course from which I learned some new details. It is pretty basic, although it also expects some previous knowledge. I have some disagreements with the presentation, but overall it was pretty balanced.

por William B

6 de Nov de 2018

This class is pretty well put together and I enjoyed it a lot. Sometimes I had to listen a couple times because he has a thick accent, but that’s great! It’s authentic! Would recommend.

por Jaime L

11 de Abr de 2020

No doubt very interesting and the materials are well developed and organized. I feel like an effort has been made to explain the origins from a fairly neutral point of view.

por Lydia K

29 de Dez de 2016

It starts off a little slow and videos are very quiet but then it becomes really interesting and the short videos and change of presenters make it very easy to follow.

por Dwight H

9 de Dez de 2020

The content was very informative, but the general aspects of the quiz was too general and not directed at a specific time and history in the Jewish way of life.

por Bruno F F d S

7 de Jan de 2019

Curso muito interessante, infelizmente nem todos os videos são legendados em português, entretanto os professores e o conteúdo é muito interessante.

por Cesar A G Z

10 de Jul de 2018

No le califiqué con 5 estrellas únicamente por la falta de una bibliografía que me permita mejorar los conocimientos adquiridos en el curso

por Kelly

1 de Dez de 2015

A good synopsis of the history of Israel. I enjoyed learning about this subject, and especially enjoyed the interviews and conversations.

por Agnes L

12 de Jan de 2018

Great course, I learned a lot from it. I would have liked more details and larger class, maybe some optional readings

por Sarah Y

20 de Abr de 2017

Interesting course. Good quick way to gain a better understanding of the conflict between Israel and Palestine.

por Mary L P

17 de Jan de 2016

Excellent course. I enjoyed learning about Israel and will help with understanding world events.

por Deleted A

21 de Mai de 2020

very informative one, which will provide you an insight to the evolution and history of Israel.

por Abbas M

25 de Dez de 2020

Very interesting to learn about the process leading up to Israel's creation. Great course!

por Shi Y

8 de Fev de 2016

good for people who wanna know the brief. would be better with more details and sorties

por Christopher T C

17 de Jan de 2016

Very good class though at times it could be hard to hear some of the audio lessons

por Varun N

26 de Mai de 2020

Good one for those interested in Israel and the larger politics of Middle East

por Sandra O

21 de Nov de 2015

The teaching for this class is 1st rate. Much information and nuances given

por Julen B

19 de Out de 2017

Really interesting but sometimes it is difficult to follow the translation.

por Shirinov T

11 de Fev de 2016

There is a problem with subtitles.Sometimes they are different from speech.

por Mike J

11 de Nov de 2015

Interesting course, but rather too short and not going very deep

por Leonel C

15 de Ago de 2020

A good, even if short, historical review

por Steven Z P

19 de Nov de 2016

a bit tedious but lots of information