Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
estrelas
2,931 classificações
762 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

31 de ago de 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

16 de out de 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrar por:

626 — 650 de 755 Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por Angela C

2 de jan de 2022

T​he material is quite hard for someone who has only basic knowledge in statistics. But the excercises are helpful.

por Muksitul I

2 de jul de 2018

Well explained and articulated. You can apply it straight to your work problems. I really enjoyed doing the course.

por Sankar M

21 de jun de 2020

Excellent introductory course. Some of the concepts in the later part of the course are not explained well though.

por Robert G

3 de jul de 2019

Overall great course, the last part (linear regression) seems somewhat disconnected from the rest of the course.

por lai p w

1 de jan de 2018

I can learn the concept, but need to understand the details well in other ways. eg. reading, or searching online

por Jose a z r

28 de ago de 2017

Very helpfull course. I will use the principles taugh for other topics like machine learning. Thans for sharing.

por Jan B

3 de out de 2020

Great course with a good theory/practice balance, but examples could be a bit more refreshing and less boring.

por Pranesh K

10 de mar de 2017

The course is excellent to learn all the basic stuff needed to master the technique of Bayesian Data Analysis.

por Guruprasad K

25 de jun de 2020

More assignments and live and truncky examples applying the principles would make course even more wonderful

por Somnath C

3 de dez de 2016

I wish the last week were more explanatory. Although overall now I do have an idea. It's a good course. :-)

por Sarah D

4 de ago de 2020

Could do with more exercises.

However, I found some elsewhere on the internet, so that was complementary

por Marco

30 de jul de 2020

Pretty good introductory material overall. Only disappointing part was the section on linear regression.

por Sergio

30 de set de 2018

Very nice introductory course, practical and to the point. Good starting point for more detailed courses

por Mangmang Z

11 de jan de 2018

A little hurry in the normal distribution part, otherwise a great course for Bayesian introduction.

por Vinicius M E M

22 de jul de 2021

Excelente curso, porém acredito que uma implementação dos códigos também em Python seria perfeito.

por guangyuan l

7 de mar de 2019

a little bit difficult, I think you need to hold a solide background toward inferential statistics

por M D

16 de mai de 2018

I expected more examples to be solved or at least it could be provided as supplementary materials

por Jean-Jacques P

3 de jan de 2020

The course is good but requires a lot of homework if you are rusty on probability/statistics...

por Seeun P

11 de nov de 2017

Very Useful

It was little difficult to understand what the professor , but anyway it was good.

por Pierre-Nicolas J

31 de out de 2021

Very good! Many exercises - of an appropriate level - helping understand the content

por Raman K

8 de abr de 2017

Steep learning curve. really taxed my thinking capacity. I enjoyed it thoroughly!

por LittleStone

12 de nov de 2016

A very good course which enlights me the study of bayesian statistics, thank you.

por Luciano F R F

17 de nov de 2016

Unfortunately I could not finish the course in due time. But it is very useful.

por cyndee f

26 de jan de 2021

Would have liked more practice problems but all-in-all, a good crash course.

por Maria C B J A

22 de fev de 2018

Good course , but contains some challenging material .Thank you Professor L