Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
estrelas
2,931 classificações
762 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

31 de ago de 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

16 de out de 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrar por:

551 — 575 de 755 Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por Paul B

8 de out de 2020

Honestly wish there were more practice problems that I could do outside of the quizzes. Just make them optional. It's just tough to iterate on the same problems and work to figure them out. Otherwise I really enjoyed the course and found it really helpful.

por Katsu

9 de jul de 2017

Great introductions to Bayesian statistics and inference. Quiz is actually not easy just by passively viewing videos, so taking notes during lectures is strongly recommended. Do not be afraid the Honor quiz...they are not so different from the normal ones.

por Ahmed A T

8 de out de 2021

the course forms a very good basis for those who want to learn the mathematics behind Bayesian statistics and it had been a lot of fun. A lot of concepts that had been vague were clarified to me during this course appreciate all effort by Prof. Lee.

por Mi P

20 de mar de 2022

Overall, the course is very informative and lively, helped me get in touch with the wonder of fundamental Bayesian Statistics. However, some courses in the later chapters are taught somewhat simple, so that I spent a lot of time finding reference.

por Valerio C

19 de abr de 2021

Globally a good course, although it is a bit rushed towards the end on the part that concerns Bayesian linear regression. I would probably add a fifth week to explain that in more detail, relying less on software and more on developing the maths.

por Elguellab A

29 de jan de 2019

Likely course and practical: it help us to understand some basic notion for bayesian inference. But Some concepts are less clear and I think need more development and explication (like effective sample size, Jeffreys prior). Great job over all.

por Jerry S

13 de mar de 2017

The lectures were good, but I hope more background materials can be released. Understanding the topics needs a relative solid mathematical background. Although having completed the course, I am still confused about some concepts in this course.

por Brian M

21 de mai de 2020

Really enjoyable.

My first free course, so this may be way off the mark in terms of norms, but I would have appreciated if supplementary material was either provided or suggested for doing more practice exercises, with worked through examples.

por DR A N

4 de set de 2017

The course was excellent !...Giving a good overview of the basics needed to navigate through this topic. However, it would have been really great if some specific examples with respect to medicine and public health practice were incorporated

por Jakob W

15 de mar de 2018

I found it to be a solid course. It has given me better grasp of the basics. I also found it a bit dry, and significant time spent on equations rather than high-level understanding. This is fine, as long as you know what you are in for!

por zqin

7 de jan de 2020

Overall the class is great, especially the first two weeks' content is simple and well-explained. But from the week 3 to the week 4, the professor only writes many formula and doesn't provide enough examples to explain those formula.

por P G

17 de jun de 2019

Very high quality course. Could use some modifications (e.g. few more applied examples for regression using specific priors, MCMC etc.) and implementing some simple metaphors to introduce some topics before jumping into the maths.

por Masoud A M

16 de ago de 2020

The Course was concise and helpful to build a foundation for Bayesian statistics. However, it is not recommended for those who has weak or no background in statistics, as the explanation are not thoroughly explained by details.

por Curt J B

20 de nov de 2020

The course is quite difficult to comprehend with a loose background on stats, but the lessons prove to be interesting especially when applied to sample experiments. Eager to try the next course on Bayesian Statistics.

por Yahia E

4 de mai de 2019

Very good course for beginning bayesian inference. The syllabus is easy to follow, but I also think one could benefit even more by complementing the lectures with other sources (books or other youtube explanation)

por Ran L

12 de ago de 2021

The first 3 weeks are excerlent scheduled. I took statistical inference course in university, but still confuse the content. But for week 4, whtn includes more advance material, this course just skip many detail.

por Paul B

19 de ago de 2020

The course provides a good explanation of a complex topic. I had trouble following some of the statistical mathematics but was able to understand the concepts and the different range of possible applications.

por Bojan B

9 de abr de 2017

Short course that's actually mostly theoretical with a bit of R/Excel analysis. This fitted my needs perfectly. My only suggestion is that they should have released more comprehensive notes for the lectures.

por Raja G

11 de dez de 2019

The course content is great and provides a good introduction to bayesian statistics. The assignments could be a little more challenging as a lot of the questions require just plugging numbers into formulae.

por Leszek B

15 de jan de 2018

I could grab the concept of Bayesian statistics but did not find the course fully self-contained. I had to look elsewhere to fully understand details. More complete supplementary material could help a lot.

por Marc S

10 de out de 2018

Good use of R but maybe use the actual coefficient from the equations themselves rather than picking numbers pre-selected which may confuse.

Unable to look at discussion forum without posting myself.

por JIONG L

21 de abr de 2021

This is a good course for reviewing basic concepts of statistics, and good for starting learning Bayesian, as introduced as a basic course. If you want to learn deeper, go and find another course!

por Michael D

19 de fev de 2020

the notes for the lectures are missing.

In my opinion the notes, which includes the video materials could be very useful.

the course was good. I learnt some new concepts in bayesian thinking.

por Enrique D T

23 de jun de 2020

Good course. As a recommendation to improve it, it would have been very helpful if the lectures (PDF) given with each lesson included all the formulas and explanations given in the videos.

por Michael M

25 de set de 2019

Very clear and informative. Would like a more extensive and combined reference material (PDF, so less need to lookup e.g. definitions of effective sample size for various distributions).