Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
estrelas
2,931 classificações
762 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

31 de ago de 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

16 de out de 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrar por:

576 — 600 de 755 Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por Danil G

9 de dez de 2019

It was a good course for me to get familiar with the new perspective on statistics. Thank you!

Maybe, some extended practice exercise at the end of the course would make it even better)

por Gurpreet

26 de nov de 2016

A good course but neither notes nor lectures were not in much details. But still it was worth my time. I strongly recommend it if you want a subtle introduction to Bayesian Statistics.

por Satish C S

28 de ago de 2021

This course is vary helpful for the understanding of the basics of Bayesian analysis. The course material are fantastic as well as the teacher. Good introductory Course in My opinion.

por Steven S

7 de jul de 2017

Great course (and teacher). Assumes some basic highschool level for math. With experience in frequentist statistics, but not all the distributions this course was "easy" to follow.

por Antonio H

20 de fev de 2021

Great course in a difficult subject. Well structured. Requires some previous knowledge otherwise difficult to follow. Big thanks to professor Lee for bringing to us this content.

por Óscar S F

19 de set de 2017

Very straight-to-the-point course. Very dense, though, for a newbe in bayesian terms and concepts. But I definitely suggest it to undertand priors and posterior concepts. Thanks!

por Douglas E

15 de set de 2021

Solid, comprehensive course but helps to have a bit of background in Bayesian statistics to follow along. Would also liked a little more on the practical applications using R.

por Colin J

11 de nov de 2019

A great intro to Bayesian analysis and probability distributions. Personally I skipped the Excel content and converted the R code to python, which was itself valuable learning.

por Patricia G

3 de mar de 2020

Es un buen curso introductorio, alguna explicaciones y deducciones matemáticas podrían explicarse mejor. Además estaría bueno que se den más ejemplos practicos en los videos.

por Murray S

4 de set de 2018

I think the course would benefit by recommending a textbook that would supplement the lecture material. It's nice to have a reference to refer to after viewing the lectures.

por Jean M

5 de fev de 2018

This is a good course, I've learn a lot about Bayesian statistics with very little prior knowledge about this subject and even about statistics and probability in general.

por Simon N

9 de set de 2017

This is a nice, bite-sized introduction to Bayesian inference. Helpful lecture notes are provided, alongside introductions to practical computations using R and Excel.

por Julian S

13 de abr de 2020

Great course with clear structure and good explanations. An overview "cheat sheet" would be nice, also some hints to literature which covers the topics in more depth.

por Ben N

24 de fev de 2019

A little heavy on the theory for my style of learning - would have appreciated more clear, applied examples in the lectures, but overall a good and informative course

por Ollie B

11 de jun de 2020

A lot of clearly presented content and helpful quizzes. Some lectures felt a little inconclusive but maybe I just didn't follow the Maths. Would definitely recommend

por Taranpreet s

16 de jan de 2020

Assignments are the best part of the code. Videos don't provide enough conceptual knowledge. Overall considering the intricacies of the topic its a very good course.

por Laura V T T

27 de abr de 2021

Really like it! The videos are short and straightforward to follow, although you might need some basic knowledge in statistics to keep up all the lectures properly

por Przemysław M J

10 de jul de 2017

Nice explanations of the theory, however there could be a bit more written materials and the pace could be slightly slower, especially regarding the last chapters.

por Ruben S

3 de mar de 2019

I took this course both to refresh my basic understanding of statistics as well as to learn what Bayesian Statistics was about. This course was good fit for this.

por Anuj K S

24 de out de 2020

It is a good basic course with lot of math. However, personally I found it little difficulty but yo can make sense of everything if yo watch the video 2-3 times

por mingzhuo

25 de ago de 2018

Though Bayesian statistics is not easy, and quite complex when dealing with prior and posterior. This class provides a good overview the the Bayesian statistics.

por Fatemeh F

7 de out de 2020

The course was good, but the required time was much different from the one written in the course description. It has a lot of quizzes, which take a lot of time.

por 재환 맹

22 de mai de 2018

Intuitive course, but somewhat fast which leads students to pause and contemplate on what the lecturer had to say. Good start to get to know Baysian Statistics.

por Xiao X

27 de mai de 2018

The explanation is very in details. It would be better to have more mathematical derivation in the linear regression part besides the demonstation of using R.

por Hu S

8 de mai de 2017

Overall a good course about Bayesian inference. Only suggestion would be to spend a bit more time explaining the interpretation behind the calculated numbers.