Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
1,734 classificações
451 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por William P

Aug 03, 2018

Fantastic first course. The only concern I have is with the software choices. I have neither R nor Excel, but was able to easily use google Sheets. It might be worth mentioning to students that this is an option. There is even a stats package that claims parity with one of the listed packages for excel.

por Leon W

Aug 05, 2018

The video content is not too much. However, students can learn and practise a lot from supplementary materials and quizzes.

por Rob C

Oct 12, 2018

Very well taught, thanks Herbie!

por Nathanael G

Sep 07, 2018

Very well taught and informative.

por Adam S

May 01, 2019

This course is great! Very clear, very professional, and lots of useful content!

por Dariia V

May 07, 2019

simple, clear and enjoyable. will take the second course in the series, then move to heavy literature on the topic.

Special thank you to the instructor! you are amazing!

por Borisov V

May 10, 2019

I like this course, thank you!

por liqul

Apr 28, 2019

There are books and courses out there teaching you how to use machine learning tools to solve real problems. But there aren't so many like this starting from the Bayesian way. Besides, this is a good entry point for me to read the book "Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning".

por Cem T

May 11, 2019

It was a groundbreaking course. I highly suggest it.

por Vítor R

Apr 29, 2019

The practice exercises were very well conceived!

por Jenna K

May 13, 2019

The lectures are at the right pace; concise and challenging. Great examples. Thank you so much for providing us with great materials.

por Eugene B

May 22, 2019

Excellent instructor and very helpful readings and assignments.

por Felix S

Jun 19, 2019

Great intro to Bayesian Statistics if you have some stats background in the frequentist domain.

por Deborah S

Jun 28, 2019

Didatic and complete course! I recomend 100%

por Kostyantyn T

Aug 04, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, the videos are fairly short with focus on exercises and there is a nice narrative throughout the course. Sometimes I needed to watch videos again because explanations were too fast for me to follow in real time, but I definitely enjoyed presentation style of Prof. Herbert Lee. Will be following the course up with "Techniques and Models" to learn about MCMC.

por Michail L

Aug 04, 2019

It was an amazing course. Prof. Lee is an excellent teacher, the lectures were very interesting and illuminating, and the problems challenging and based on the material discussed. Highly recommended to get a basic idea of Bayesian statistics.

por Juan J O O

Jun 07, 2019

Excellent course. I learned late to use the note clipboard to take notes. At times the video lectures are hard to follow because the concepts are not easy. I had to watch the video lectures several times to fully grasp the concepts.

por Stephen S

Jun 09, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course as I found it to have a good mix of background and application.

por Ruoxiao S

Aug 15, 2019

This class is pretty helpful for the beginners and the instructor has a clear organization of the lecture. The Quizzes are also a good way to know what you have mastered. I have a better and deeper understanding of the Bayesian Statistics now.

por Ian M

Aug 16, 2019

I think this was a very helpful course, for me personally I learn better with "real" examples, so i think if there were more of those earlier on, that would have been more helpful. I also use Python, and would prefer to use Python, so it would be nice if there were instructions on that in addition to R/Excel. Spent a lot of time translating between R and Python.

por Miles D R

Aug 15, 2019

This course was dense, concise, and yet easy to follow for individuals that are fairly comfortable with basic statistics.

por FNU R M

Aug 16, 2019

Nice Course

por Artur A B

Aug 21, 2019

Very useful course, described a basic understanding behind Bayesian theory and sequential updating of posteriors.

por Giuseppe F

Aug 22, 2019

great course for those who have an understanding of the frequentist approach and would like to dip their toes in the bayesian approach. pace is right and the content is interesting throughout. Given the basic math requirements, many derivations are omitted (especially towards the end of the course, which might feel a bit rushed) but I feel the course gives the tools to explore should one want to fill the gaps in.

por Artem B

Jul 03, 2019

Great course with a lot of simple, but illustrative exercises. It may be useful to have some basic prior knowledge of econometrics/statistics