Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
estrelas
2,913 classificações
758 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

31 de ago de 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

16 de out de 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 751 Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por Sergio D H

21 de set de 2017

Great introductory course on Bayesian data analysis. The course is self-contained and the videos make a great job explaining the concepts of each lesson. I truly appreciated the practical approach either with R or Excel.

por Alejandro D O

3 de mar de 2020

Excellent course. Prof. Lee is a superb teacher. The balance between class, exercices and tests is well achieved. I would certainly recommend this course to anyone aiming for a first encounter with Bayesian statistics.

por Sandro P

21 de nov de 2017

Very interesting course.

For me the most interesting and important themes are about priors:

1) conjugated priors

2) effective prior size

3) how to choose a prior

4) non-informative priors

5) improper priors

6) Jeffreys priors

por joari c

9 de fev de 2017

Very instructive introduction to Bayes reasoning. By attending all videos and completing quizzes, you get a reasonable understanding of the concepts and reasoning. Thanks to prof Herbert Lee and all the supporting team

por Shiyang Z

12 de jun de 2020

This course is well-designed. A great introduction to Bayesian Statistics. I love the quizzes and short questions in the videos which help to understand the class materials. And the blackboard also looks cool haha

por Tu L

10 de jan de 2021

This is a very helpful and concise course about Bayesian approach to statistical inference. It is suitable for anyone with little background knowledge to quickly grasp the ideas of Bayesian methods in statistics.

por KK

1 de dez de 2016

Although I only spent less than one week to finish the course, I think it is quite valuable if you are interested in statistical inference and want to learn more specific in Beyesian Statistics. High Recommended.

por Fabian M

20 de fev de 2018

The course manages very well to balance out comprehensibility and content. Professor Herbert Lee has obviously prepared the material very thoroughly and imparts the content of the course in an enjoyable fashion.

por WU T T

13 de jan de 2018

I think the number of quiz questions is appropriate. They helped me to have better understanding of the content of this course. Teacher's lectures are brief and clear. I will take the next part of this lesson.

por chenshuai

26 de ago de 2020

very helpful courses. The assignment is decent and the professor explanation is very clear. I would like it to provide a bit hint for the honor part too, since there is no answers for the honor part for now.

por Padmeswar D

9 de jul de 2020

I liked the course because it is meticulously designed to help build on concepts in Bayesian Statistical Analysis. The Quiz's really helped me grasp the concepts as they fully supplement the lecture classes.

por Khoa M

17 de dez de 2020

Good introduction to Bayesian Statistics. Although I still need more time to realize how to apply the concepts into real-life situations, it definitely helps if I encounter this subject again in the future.

por Tobias .

1 de mai de 2020

Very interesting, mathematically driven course that dives right into the mathematical concepts that are necessary to understand the concepts of Bayesian Statistics without going too deep into the calculus.

por Paul J

6 de abr de 2020

A very challenging course, but very well thought out and designed. Note - the videos were very well done, but in some instances, I found using zstatistics on youtube.com to be a good supplemental source.

por Naehyun P

15 de jan de 2020

Very helpful for understanding the basic concepts of not only Bayesian statistics but also the basic knowledge of statistics, which will be very helpful for understanding other subjects using statistics.

por Medha A

6 de mai de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. Honest feedback would be that the course should have included a coding assignment with a particular template. But all apart, it was a great learning experience. Thanks!!

por Fabian S

17 de fev de 2019

A great introduction to Bayesian Statistics. For some of the Quiz questions, it would have been helpful to get an error warning in case one might had accidentally used a comma instead of a dot notation.

por David K

19 de mar de 2021

I realy helped to understand the concept of Bayesian Statistics and how to apply it.

I liked the approach from flipping a coin and learn and verify the steps to continous distributions and R simulations

por Raja F Z

24 de mai de 2020

instructor style and way of delivering lectures is very interactive and made this course very easy to understand, wit even a little knowledge of probability. Tank you very much instructor and coursera.

por annalise s

25 de mar de 2020

it is a wonderful course. In this course, I have learned some basic theories and concepts for bayesian statistics and also do some applications with R programming. Highly Recommended as a intro courses

por Alex T

19 de fev de 2020

Excellent first course in Bayesian statistics - definitely not too basic, but just at the right level that you can understand everything in the course without having studied Bayesian statistics before.

por Jorge V C

1 de jun de 2017

A very complete and easy to follow course. It's very helpful for everyone who needs to work with data and has to take decisions about that. It also has examples in R and Excel. I strongly recommend it.

por Alexandre H d S

13 de jul de 2020

It's an amazing course, I strongly recommend. It was like a complementary course for the Data Analysis course of my university, giving a wide explanation over bayesian analysis. I'm glad to finish it.

por John H

27 de jun de 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

por Jose P C

7 de nov de 2017

I've learned how to process data and analyze data from studies, that's a wonderful ability I think everybody should try to learn in order to not get manipulated by the media. Thanks for this course!