Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
1,740 classificações
451 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

Sep 01, 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JH

Jun 27, 2018

Great course. The content moves at a nice pace and the videos are really good to follow. The Quizzes are also set at a good level. You can't pass this course unless you have understood the material.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por Li W Y

Jun 10, 2017

Good!

por joari c

Feb 10, 2017

Very instructive introduction to Bayes reasoning. By attending all videos and completing quizzes, you get a reasonable understanding of the concepts and reasoning. Thanks to prof Herbert Lee and all the supporting team

por Somnath B

Nov 26, 2017

Very helpful and extremely educational. One of those rare courses I actually finished!

por Gary S

Dec 19, 2016

Great intro to Bayesian Statistics. The math gets complex but the professor illustrates with examples to help with understanding. The exercises are generally similar to the examples in the lectures and honestly not as hard as they could've been. The course is only 4 weeks and moves pretty fast. Although I scored well, I may take the course again to help make sure all the details and concepts fully sank in.

I'm hungry for a deeper dive into the topic. I hope there is a follow up course in the future.

por Andrew N

Oct 22, 2016

wrote in my comment.

The course is extremely well presented and the difficulty level of the excercises is perfect.

por WU T T

Jan 13, 2018

I think the number of quiz questions is appropriate. They helped me to have better understanding of the content of this course. Teacher's lectures are brief and clear. I will take the next part of this lesson.

por Flavio L

Oct 30, 2016

Amazing course ! Excellent. Prof. Herbert has a great didactics, the material is clear and very well planned, including the assessments. Thank you very much. Flavio Lichtenstein (Brazil).

por Mario C

Oct 28, 2016

Simple but well explained.

por sai s

Jun 13, 2017

Like the course. Learnt a lot. Was able to apply in real world.

por Ron A

Apr 12, 2017

Excellent course. Professor Lee did a first-rate job of giving the intuition for Bayesian methods and building the foundations for further study of the topic. The course is short and to the point, but that is a feature and not a bug. It will prepare you to take further courses in Bayesian statistics or to study the topic on your own. Highly recommended.

por Derek Y

Apr 09, 2017

The whole course is not bad. More examples in the classes would be helpful.

por Natasha

Dec 27, 2016

I really enjoyed this course. The lectures were short and clearly explained, and particularly highlighted why Bayesian statistics is different and what is useful about it. I would have like a bit more walk-through on some of the derivations in weeks 3 and 4. More R exercises and further resource recommendations would have been useful.

por Jakob R

May 10, 2017

Great course!

por Magdalena S

Dec 07, 2016

One of the best courses I took to date. Paralleled only by ML (by Andrew Ng). Non-trivial assignments, focused on practice, well-explained concepts in readings. Truly impressed.

por Salaheldin G

Dec 26, 2017

Very useful crash course in Bayesian Statistics. It requires some basic knowledge in statistics and probability as stated.

por Pawel R

Oct 03, 2016

The course creates great foundations for digging deeper into more complex concepts and trying to run some Bayesian statistics on simple real life problems

por Gabriel

Jan 09, 2017

Very nice introduction to bayesian concepts and rationale. With this course I could understand why should I spend more time learning this technique (which I will definetly do on sequence).

por Jorge V C

Jun 02, 2017

A very complete and easy to follow course. It's very helpful for everyone who needs to work with data and has to take decisions about that. It also has examples in R and Excel. I strongly recommend it.

por Victor A

Mar 01, 2017

It's a great course, there is a lot of information and it might seem at times overwhelming, but it's organized nicely and prof. Lee has a very comfortable time explaining all the concepts. A few more examples would have made this course easier, but that does not mean it would have been better. It's as good as it gets

por Bui T H

Dec 02, 2017

Thank you so much, Herbert Lee. I really like the way you explain everything clearly and how you organizes the contents. I recommend this course for my friends.

por Polano M

Mar 11, 2018

Great introduction to Bayesian Statistics.

Prof. Lee uses the right approach with a theoretical introduction that helps to graps the concepts with a right balance of math and intuition. This was my first exposure to the bayesian approach to statistics and after this course I want to learn more, both on the pratical and the theoretical side.

por Mark C

May 12, 2018

The presentation was excellent. The quizzes were reasonable. This was a good use of my time.

por Bill S

Oct 16, 2017

Very good -- from fundamentals to basic analyses.

por Keun-Hwi L

Mar 18, 2017

This class is very much an intro, so if you're looking for advanced topics you it might not be challenging. But this is a really good intro. The lectures are good and the supplemented material is great. I wish there was more R, but I'm very happy with the class.

por Bilal A

Feb 07, 2017

Really great, from basic to advance.