Chevron Left
Voltar para Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Santa Cruz

4.6
estrelas
2,915 classificações
758 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Melhores avaliações

GS

31 de ago de 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

16 de out de 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 751 Avaliações para o Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

por Cooper O

27 de jun de 2017

A Fantastic course. Detailed learning materials, Lots of opportunities to test your knowledge, and difficult enough to make you learn something!

por Nitin K

1 de jun de 2017

I loved everything about this course. It reminded me of my time in school. Papers and pencils. I look forward to attending the follow up course.

por Tiannan S

6 de jul de 2020

As a computer science student, I feel Bayesian approach is much more intuitive and more computationally friendly than the frequentist paradigm.

por Fernando D L

11 de mar de 2019

It's a good course to know the principal concepts of Bayesian statistics. Also, the course has excellent examples to understand thew concepts.

por O K

2 de mar de 2018

I really appreciated the content, and the way it was taught by Prof. Lee. His explanations were intuitive, without loss of mathematical rigour.

por Giovanni G

29 de jul de 2020

Consistent and mathematically dense. If you want to go through every passage this course gives you solid understanding of Bayesian statistics.

por RIcardo G M

15 de dez de 2019

Very good course. Concepts are very well explained, and quizzes are really helpful to apply and further

understand the explanations provided.

por Kuntal B

13 de nov de 2019

Thanks, Coursera. This is a good course. It would be helpful if we get any proper class notes on Jeffrey's prior and Multivariate regression.

por Artem B

3 de jul de 2019

Great course with a lot of simple, but illustrative exercises. It may be useful to have some basic prior knowledge of econometrics/statistics

por Michael W

16 de jan de 2019

Great introductory course. It was challenging but doable for someone who has not take college level mathematics or statistics in a few years.

por Robert K M

11 de fev de 2018

Invaluable. Excellent quizzes. A few terms could have been better defined, and a few more examples wouldn't hurt, but overall excellent.

por Damian C

10 de nov de 2016

Very well presented course. Interesting and intuitive introduction into the fascinating Bayesian world.

Many thanks and congratulations!!!

por Howard H

6 de out de 2021

Excellent introduction to Bayesian statistics -- lectures, readings, and quizzes provide excellent support to learning the main concepts.

por Ariel A

12 de out de 2017

Great course, it has the right proportion of theory and practice. It's a great start for anyone who wants to dive into Bayesian Analysis.

por Hari S

5 de fev de 2020

Thought is a simple manner. Made complex concepts look very easy. Would surely recommend this course. Thanks Prof. Herbert Lee and team.

por Vignesh R

8 de out de 2018

Awesome course that helped me overcome the Bayesian statistics way of thinking hurdle. Now, I want to go on and learn MCMC, Metropolis !

por Qinyu X

2 de fev de 2020

The course is generally great. Nonetheless, it is not recommended for those without a statistical background and knowledge of calculus.

por Naseera M

12 de fev de 2017

Very good course. Prof. Lee explains each concept well. Bayesian Stats makes more sense to me now than before!!

Thanks so much Prof. Lee

por Gustavo C

4 de out de 2018

I loved this course, I learned a lot and I hope I will be able to use this knowledge when I go back to college for my Master's degree.

por Evgenii L

2 de mai de 2018

A very good course. Even better if you continue with the 2nd course that teaches about how to implement Bayesian data analysis in JAGS

por Joseph G

18 de dez de 2016

I enjoyed the lecturer, the material is relevant, and the tests are well tailored to ensure you are absorbing the correct information.

por Rodrigo G

16 de jan de 2020

Give you great insight. Very intuitive. Although we went through the last week rather quick (more explanation would have been better)

por Jenna K

13 de mai de 2019

The lectures are at the right pace; concise and challenging. Great examples. Thank you so much for providing us with great materials.

por Matthew S

5 de abr de 2020

Pretty challenging course. Well organized and well delivered. I learned from the exercises and also the feedback from the exercises.

por Dr. R M

15 de nov de 2017

Very informative and clear presentation of the material, which makes it fun and quick to learn the topics. Very good quiz questions.