Chevron Left
Voltar para Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan da instituição Universidade de TóquioUniversidade de Tóquio

4.8
estrelas
626 classificações
197 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Melhores avaliações

DP

8 de out de 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

OB

15 de ago de 2021

For me this course has been a first approximation to Japanese culture. I´m glad to be able to recognize the concepts learned here when encountering them, which happens surprisingly often!

Filtrar por:

176 — 198 de 198 Avaliações para o Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

por Vy N

16 de mar de 2019

I love this course!!!

por jordi o j

7 de dez de 2017

so interesting info!

por Dinno B L

17 de abr de 2022

thank you very much

por Douglas Q

18 de mai de 2020

Very Interesting!

por Sebastian G

1 de dez de 2017

Excellent Course!

por Fabíola d S F d R

24 de abr de 2022

Excelente curso.

por Britt W

16 de abr de 2021

great professor

por Sofiia Z

22 de fev de 2021

Amazing course!

por Hisanori S

24 de mar de 2021

Hisanori Sato

por Kleber L d S

24 de out de 2019

Muito bom.

por Pratap J

30 de nov de 2020

Loved it

por Gabriela A C

29 de dez de 2017

Great.

por Lee Y S J

3 de dez de 2017

I found the course content very interesting and the delivery generally very easy to understand. The professor also showed his wealth of knowledge in the subject matter through his lectures. If there is one thing which I was unhappy about, it has to be the subtitles for the lectures which were riddled with mistakes and the Japanese terms had a fair number of spelling mistakes. If this can be improved, it will help the students learn better. On a related note, it would be good to have the Japanese names of the individuals featured in the course as I find that there are limited resources in English if I want to do further reading on these people and would need their names in Japanese script to find resources in Japanese.

por Thana S

9 de fev de 2021

The course is very good for non-Japanese reader by having an English professor convey the class. The story and guide gave me new knowledge that could not be found from the book. The only minor thing is I'd expect more photographs and paintings demonstrated in this course. Thank you

por Ebru O

4 de jan de 2018

The course presents an interesting point of view that combines literature and visual materials (ukiyo-e, illustrations and photographs) in Japanese culture. There are many specific examples that we study and make the concept easier to understand.

por Michael K

2 de mai de 2021

Robert Cambell is clearly knowledgeable and very motivated to share his knowledge to others. Sometimes he deviates from his main topic and that makes it difficult to keep track of his main point.

por Sumyi L

19 de abr de 2020

Nice learning pace and interesting pick of works of art. It will be great if it can come with a suggested reading list.

por Pilar P d C

13 de abr de 2018

Fascinating information of Japans changing mindset in reference to the image and the onset of photography.

por Michelle M

21 de ago de 2021

I found this to be an exceptionally interesting course and learned a lot, thank you.

por Kellan M

31 de mar de 2020

Very interesting subject for those interested in art of the world.

por Vivek S

13 de ago de 2020

A nice course on the literary prowess of 19th century Japan.

por Caroline H

24 de jan de 2018

It was a surprise to see a course on this topic. At first I found the central premise fascinating, but would have preferred more conciseness in the lectures and a wider variety of assessment tasks. For instance, why not have students analyse some images themselves?

por Justin H

23 de dez de 2019

There was some interesting information here, but I can not imagine any situation where a certificate of completion for this course would be useful. About half of the images could have been interchanged with any number of random photos from the period.