Chevron Left
Voltar para Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan da instituição Universidade de TóquioUniversidade de Tóquio

4.8
estrelas
608 classificações
191 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Melhores avaliações

DP
8 de Out de 2020

Very interesting where I finished the whole course 2 weeks before the due date because I really enjoyed it. I have been a Japan fanatic since middle school so this course is really my cup of tea

OB
15 de Ago de 2021

For me this course has been a first approximation to Japanese culture. I´m glad to be able to recognize the concepts learned here when encountering them, which happens surprisingly often!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 192 Avaliações para o Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

por pika c

13 de Set de 2020

Great course. Why such a bad looking certificate? I can't use for anything. It's not the professor's real name. It reads "John Doe" and the signature says "signature". It looks like a joie. I can't use it for anything.

por luciana a a

30 de Ago de 2020

A lovely course to know a bit more about image and literature. I loved every single video for they're all very well organized and brought very interesting information about this period. Besides our instructor is great.

por Monica F B F

30 de Mar de 2018

Me encanto el curso, ya que no solo aprendí de arte e historia de Japón, sino que las lecciones me llevaron paso a paso a comprender mejor las formas de expresión como la pintura, literatura y fotografía y su objetivo.

por Andrew S

9 de Nov de 2017

Excellent course! Well-presented, interesting and unusual subject matter, pitched well for beginners and people with some knowledge. I would be interested in studying other courses by the same institution or presenter.

por Azajul I N

13 de Mai de 2020

I have come to know a lot of unknown facts about the cultures of Japan from this course. My curiosity about Japan has been mitigated by this program. Thanks to the University of Tokyo for this nice course. Well done.

por Ilse d Y C

4 de Abr de 2021

Fascinating. Dr. Campbell - thank you for sharing your private collection of images and books (as well as your knowledge and reflections) with us! I've never felt such an urge to travel to Japan as compared to now!

por Ana L U

12 de Nov de 2020

This is a very interesting course. It opens a new window of looking at the Japanese culture that's been immortalized through the connection between visual and literary media. Thank you so much Professor Campbell.

por Maria M

19 de Set de 2020

Professor Robert Campbell is amazing and will take you through a beautiful journey where you will learn about Japanese visual and literary traditions before, during, and after the Edo period. 100% recommended.

por Pedro A N d S

14 de Set de 2021

An amazing course that brought me a deep understanding of and a part of the history of art in japan and how its artistic processes and artists were influenced by times of profound historical change for japan.

por Islas M d s

23 de Mar de 2021

Es un curso muy completo que nos deja ver como la imagen y la literatura fueron de la mano en la historia del desarrollo del Japón en el período Edo y en la restauración Meiji, durante el siglo XIX.

por Gerardo C R

26 de Dez de 2020

This course was highly educational, as well as deeply interesting. I was not previously educated on the literature or culture of Japanese society and found it still very clear and welcoming,

por Valentina B

2 de Abr de 2020

I have studied Japanese culture and art in the past, but this particular topic was incredibly interesting and new to me. The lecturer was very clear and precise, which I found helpful.

por Regina P

19 de Jun de 2020

Marvelous course! I've learned many cultural things about Japan and now I look forward to learning more. The professor was very clear and his examples were really interesting.

por Faye P

27 de Dez de 2020

Thank you for showing us even a glimpse of Japan! I've been very fascinated and mesmerized about their culture. I wish there are more courses available like this. Thank you.

por Archisha B

26 de Jul de 2020

A very inspiring and informative course. Really broadened my ways of viewing not only Japanese art and literature, but also any other form of art from any part of the world.

por Moritz S

30 de Mar de 2020

A very interesting look into intermedial relations between images and writing in early modern to modern Japan. Prof. Campbell's personal collection is certainly impressive!

por OMKAR

5 de Ago de 2020

It was such a wonderful course and I'm glad that I've gained an insight into the literary culture of Japan as well as the visual elements associated with it.

por Yan L

9 de Out de 2018

Fantastic course and the teacher is so erudited. After the course, I want to have more MOOCS with this teacher. What an intellectual model this teacher is!

por Anastasia A

10 de Out de 2021

I​ loved it. I learned a lot, which led to a better understanding of the Japanese culture and history in general. I wish there was more. どうもありがとうございます

por Коршунова Е В

3 de Nov de 2019

I am so grateful for the opportunity to take this course. I would definitely recommend it to everyone who is interested in Japanese art and history.

por Lin S

20 de Abr de 2021

Great course for anyone new to Japanese visual and literary culture. The instructor is clear, engaging and incredibly knowledgeable on the topic.

por Hiranmoy L

16 de Out de 2017

Great course, excellent teaching by sensei. ALthough subtitles sometimes are wrongly interpreted (like 'major restoration' nstead of 'Meiji'

por Andrea K L

28 de Dez de 2017

Excellent introduction, I enjoyed this course tremendously, very informative, learned a lot.

Many thanks to Professor Campbell and his team!

por Bert S

25 de Jul de 2020

Surprisingly interesting to me. I first thought it had a limited scope but that gradually proved wrong. Thank you for creating the course.