Chevron Left
Voltar para Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan da instituição Universidade de TóquioUniversidade de Tóquio

4.8
estrelas
241 classificações
75 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In their ambition to capture “real life,” Japanese painters, poets, novelists and photographers of the nineteenth century collaborated in ways seldom explored by their European contemporaries. This course offers learners the chance to encounter and appreciate behavior, moral standards and some of the material conditions surrounding Japanese artists in the nineteenth century, in order to renew our assumptions about what artistic “realism” is and what it meant. Learners will walk away with a clear understanding of how society and the individual were conceived of and represented in early modern Japan. Unlike contemporary western art forms, which acknowledge their common debt as “sister arts” but remain divided by genre and discourse, Japanese visual and literary culture tended to combine, producing literary texts inspired by visual images, and visual images which would then be inscribed with poems and prose. Noticing and being able to interpret this indivisibility of visual/literary cultures is essential in understanding the social and psychological values embedded within the beauty of Japanese art....

Melhores avaliações

SC

Sep 06, 2019

It has expanded my views not only on Japan Visual and Literary Culture but also has open for me a new way of looking at portraits in different cultures and times. Thank you so much

VC

Jan 10, 2018

Very knowledgeable lecturer with a gentle humble voice. Much was learned about literary portraits from 18th/19th centuries to literary photographs in the early 20th century.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Words Spun Out of Images: Visual and Literary Culture in Nineteenth Century Japan

por Monica F B F

Mar 30, 2018

Me encanto el curso, ya que no solo aprendí de arte e historia de Japón, sino que las lecciones me llevaron paso a paso a comprender mejor las formas de expresión como la pintura, literatura y fotografía y su objetivo.

por Andrew S

Nov 10, 2017

Excellent course! Well-presented, interesting and unusual subject matter, pitched well for beginners and people with some knowledge. I would be interested in studying other courses by the same institution or presenter.

por yan l

Oct 09, 2018

Fantastic course and the teacher is so erudited. After the course, I want to have more MOOCS with this teacher. What an intellectual model this teacher is!

por Коршунова Е В

Nov 03, 2019

I am so grateful for the opportunity to take this course. I would definitely recommend it to everyone who is interested in Japanese art and history.

por Hiranmoy L

Oct 16, 2017

Great course, excellent teaching by sensei. ALthough subtitles sometimes are wrongly interpreted (like 'major restoration' nstead of 'Meiji'

por Andrea K L

Dec 28, 2017

Excellent introduction, I enjoyed this course tremendously, very informative, learned a lot.

Many thanks to Professor Campbell and his team!

por Yujin l

Nov 02, 2018

the lecturer is knowledgeable and engaging. it greatly enriched my appreciation of japanese arts and culture. i highly recommend it.

por Ozge C

Oct 15, 2017

It was a truly enlightening and highly enjoyable course with an amazing lecturer. My gratitude to all who was involved.

por Javier

Jul 30, 2019

I really like Japan, and I wanted to learn a little more about its culture, so this course has served me a lot.

por Fanny W G

Apr 10, 2019

I love this course. Amazing content provided in very easy to understand lessons! I enjoyed every minute of it!!

por Vira T

May 10, 2018

Gives a deep and detailed image of the period. Helped a lot in my understanding writers of 19th cent in Japan.

por Katrin W

Nov 22, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course, while at the same time learning a lot about the subject.

por Aurea L R

Feb 10, 2019

It has been very interesting. I've learned a lot about a topic that I do not know

Thank's!!!

por Ricardo M

Oct 31, 2017

A great course with plenty of interesting data and delivered by a master in the subject.

por Janna T K

Feb 26, 2018

An excellent course worth of seeing for anyone who is interested in oriental art.

por Tala B

Feb 07, 2018

An amazing and interesting demonstrations from Japanese visual art and culture

por Hayley H

Nov 18, 2017

Love the professor! He explains literature and arts so clearly and elegantly.

por Мальчикова С П

Oct 31, 2018

Thank you so much for this course! I had a great pleasure when I passed it.

por Brian C S

Dec 07, 2017

Recommended for those interested in studying 19th century Japanese history

por spyridon c

Apr 20, 2019

great lecture. I have learn so many for Japanese culture and history.

thx!

por Carmen

Feb 22, 2019

Very interesting introduction to a subject I was very ignorant about!

por Melina C K

Mar 06, 2019

Very interesting course! Great to start understanding Japanese art!

por Juyoung R

Jan 07, 2018

Very usful and informative course. Highly recommanded for

por JOHN Q

Sep 23, 2017

Enjoyable and interesting course. Thanks so much!

por Aleksandr Z

Aug 29, 2019

Engaging lecturer. Unique and interesting content.