Chevron Left
Voltar para Design global de video games

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Design global de video games da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.4
estrelas
625 classificações
162 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Melhores avaliações

SA
20 de Set de 2019

i really loved this course. it inspired me to be more innovative and think out of the box. it changed my mindset a lot. so thanks to my instructor and my peers. your words meant a lot to me.

JK
10 de Set de 2020

This is a fantastic course to run your imagination to it's top! You can built your own game world and show it to other students. The learning curve is definitely improving with this course!

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 154 Avaliações para o Design global de video games

por Jahleel K B

21 de Ago de 2017

The best!

por 梁爽

19 de Jan de 2018

So nice.

por Andy R

27 de Jan de 2017

awsome!!

por Licinio S

19 de Mar de 2018

great!

por 受 常

2 de Ago de 2017

太棒拉

por V.B.Srevarshan

9 de Out de 2018

My personal area of interest in games has always been game design, level design, character design, story writing and world design. When I found this course, I thought it would involve a lot of art work and 3D modelling. I am not so artistic, but when I started to watch videos and complete assignments, it gave me a lot of confidence. It also motivated me to improve my artwork after I completed the course. I learnt three things - 1) first and foremost describe your world in theory with all the intricate details 2) don't create your game world from void, seek inspiration for art from other games or media 3) proceed with the art work and 3D modelling

por Пётр С

2 de Jul de 2019

I like this course and thank Théotime for it. I have eventually got understanding what is the level design and found out root requirements about the location design. Also I understand now the process of creation of the world. It is new for me.

At the same time it was more difficult to go through it (in comparison with two other which I completed before) because of many many questions which Théotime made in video and less answers. Actually full answers are presented only on pages with material for self-education but not in video material. It was difficult trying to gather information from video having so many questions.

por Rodolfo E S

20 de Fev de 2016

The course focuses on a number of critical aspects in video game world design, such as artistic direction, spatial and "physical" rules, and movement considerations; and it teaches a few methods of planning them. That said, the presentation of these ideas and methods feels less organized than the others in the course. That said, all of them are useful, and if the exercises/submissions don't quite lead up to as organic a whole as the others, it makes up for it by covering bases with varied approaches.

por Benjamin B H

3 de Mar de 2016

Very good and informative course. I liked it mostly because of how it explains the ways one can create the video game world we desire and what must be taken into account. I already had prior knowledge on how to create a video game world that was consistent, but this reinforced what I already knew and took it a bit further. Very recommended for those who are beginners and want to learn how to create a world that feels real and is consistent throughout a game.

por Karin V

8 de Mar de 2016

In general the course was really good, I just had the problem that some points weren't as clearly explained as I wished them to be. It's a bit hard to follow up, since sometimes the examples are not what is asked for in the homework and there's nothing to compare your work to, so the student as well as the grading peers are not always sure what is important in the assignment. Add some more examples and explain them directly, I think that would help a lot. :)

por Kim N D R

12 de Jul de 2020

I kinda dreaded this course at first since I'm the kind of person who'd rather focus on characters and pretty much avoided trying to solidify the world that they're set in, but towards the end I got more invested. Some of the videos were a little too short and more of like a pep talk rather than containing actual educational content, but most of the videos were still helpful and I did get some things out of them that I didn't know before.

por Taciane M

11 de Set de 2019

This course has nice materials for reading and, although I had some difficulty understanding the instructor's pronunciation, it was effective in really getting me to think about the design of a game world of mine. It was very interesting to develop a map for my world and to structure its elements (besides a quick narrative of how it would begin) for the assignments!

por Farnoud F

30 de Jan de 2016

Compare to Last Course in this Specialization this course lacked the good pace through the assignments, they were out of pace or out of tune, and also there were mostly general talks more than tips to make the student get in to the flow and create a better work, All in All it was Great but compared to the course before it, it had issues :D

por Bojan P

11 de Mar de 2016

Even though it is a great course by itself, I have to look at it as a part of the whole specialization, and in that context it's just a little bit more abstract and undefined than the previous ones.

All in all, great course and fantastic specialization for now.

por Ethan A

15 de Out de 2019

It is often hard to hear what the lecturer is saying because of his thick accent but his information is very informative and useful. It helped me understand my worlds better. Recommend, but I do say you should look at the subtitles below the video sometimes.

por VANSH P

13 de Ago de 2020

the course is really good, however, the assignments could have been described more carefully, as it was sometimes confusing what to do, however, the example project given usually cleared any doubts.

really good course.

por Mustafa A K

21 de Mai de 2018

The lessons were pretty well designed and the material was sufficient, but (not meant to be rude) it was a bit distracting when the tutor pronounced and accented the words a bit weirdly. Nevertheless, great course.

por E. C C

14 de Ago de 2017

Really enjoyed this class. I am a very visual person and this class was much more fun and a bit easier as I could express my ideas visually much more easily than If I had to write everything down.

por Fraser R

11 de Jul de 2020

Excellent source material, took a bit of time to get round the tutors wording of what was being asked, but the tasks overall were really good fun and interesting to play with.

por Mario S

21 de Jul de 2020

Great course! I love how they bring techniques and concepts from other disciplines like gardening, teacher, and ballet that are super useful for world and level design.

por 王恺越

18 de Dez de 2017

The assignments are great but the videos don't seem well organized for me. They are just a bunch of tips for world designing and are not systematic.

por Juan D M

16 de Mai de 2016

Very intresting and fun, learned a lot. I just wish there´d be more examples of finished designers worlds and how they look like.

por Juan J Á S

28 de Jan de 2016

The teacher is a litlle abstract. Maybe he would improve himself if he would give more tangible things, as methods.

por Regina P

1 de Jul de 2020

The only problem are the peer reviews; most of the time I only receive one word reviews, or no criticism at all.

por Fabricio N B

2 de Jan de 2016

I really enjoyed the course.

Opened my eyes for many things that I didn't gave much though while design my games.