Chevron Left
Voltar para The Unix Workbench

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Unix Workbench da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.7
estrelas
1,118 classificações
343 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Melhores avaliações

RW
29 de Abr de 2020

This is a very friendly step-by-step guide to Unix for beginners, it helps to build a solid foundation, and the exercises are designed to explore more about what has been introduced in the course.

KS
28 de Jan de 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 337 Avaliações para o The Unix Workbench

por Luis A S M

10 de Ago de 2020

I like this couse because I can learn more about the terminal, so now I can use the shell to work with my Unix.

por Karthikrajasekar G

11 de Mai de 2020

This course concepts were conveyed in a simple and good way. easy to understanding the concepts.

Thanks Coursera

por Arjun S

9 de Nov de 2018

Really helpful and informative. Even for an absolute beginner! Thanks a lot for this awesome course. Cheers!

por Kacy C

10 de Mar de 2019

It was great because it allowed me to go at my own pace rather than watching and listening to someone talk

por Daniel P

27 de Jun de 2019

Great resources, book, plus module, and exercises were challenging but good learning experiences. Thanks!

por Éamonn Ó N

24 de Ago de 2017

Very good course, especially for beginners to get relevant and broad overview of tools (bash/git/cloud).

por Ahmed E

28 de Jun de 2018

It is concise and practical course for getting your hand a little dirty with linux..I enjoyed my time

por Anmol L P

18 de Fev de 2018

Good course for all of us who want to explore unix and are new to it. The course design is wonderful.

por Juan S M F

1 de Abr de 2018

Excelente curso para comenzar con Unix, los ejercicios me resultaron interesantes y muy desafiantes.

por Alejandro F

23 de Jun de 2020

A very good and very useful course. Congratulations and thanks to its developers for sharing this.

por sukrita p

6 de Nov de 2019

Very concise course to get started with shell scripting. Well drafted and good exercise questions.

por Josué R G S M

31 de Jan de 2018

If you want to learn the basis of Unix/GNU Linux, this course is for you. It won't dissapoint you!

por Adonis J C G

15 de Ago de 2019

It's very intuitive, but you need some experience from another language or, at least, pseudocode.

por Matthew A

5 de Abr de 2018

A great overview of the Unix command line. Including a glimpse of software development with Git.

por Brian D G

22 de Jun de 2020

This is a great course! I learned alot!! Thank you very much for making it available to me!!!

por Yohannes d

26 de Ago de 2019

it's a helpful course someone who really need to know about Linux, git, shell script and cloud.

por Arun V

26 de Ago de 2020

Very good contents to learn the fundamentals of Unix along with Hands-on experience on Git Hub

por Mrinmay B

29 de Mai de 2020

It was a good course , helped me build confidence on UNIX and got familiarised with terminal.

por Kashish M

2 de Jan de 2020

I really liked the course structure. It was a brief and practical course. I enjoyed doing it.

por Tushar A

12 de Mai de 2020

This course is very helpful for the begginers and will teach you everything from the scrach.

por Sebastian P

14 de Set de 2020

Excelente Curso, la verdad super util y con mucha practica para reforzar los conocimientos.

por Andreu C P

19 de Out de 2017

A well structured course that serves as a clear initiation to Unix. I will recommend it!

por Bruno A M

8 de Out de 2017

Great content with accessible language and good challenges. Will definitely recommend!

por Vaseekaran V

13 de Jun de 2020

Great introductory course to learn UNIX/Linux commands and familiarize by using them.

por Jörg S

31 de Dez de 2017

You really learn something by doing. And the provided learning path really makes fun.