Chevron Left
Voltar para The Unix Workbench

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Unix Workbench da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.7
598 classificações
179 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Melhores avaliações

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

SL

Sep 11, 2017

It is suitable for Unix/Linux beginners who are new to shell. It introduces popular code sharing and merging tool GitHub, which most programmers would find very useful in software development.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The Unix Workbench

por Rahul M

Jun 26, 2018

Learned all the basics of Linux with examples.

por Kenyon S

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

por Carlos A

Jan 02, 2018

Nice course to get started. Most of the time when you might think "hmm, but what if..." you just keep reading and you will get the answer. I liked the course format and the selected examples. Thank you :)

por Valerio M

Jan 01, 2018

Very helpful!

por Ajeet P

Feb 15, 2018

Excellent

por Pieter F P

Jun 07, 2018

Very good course. I had a fair working knowledge to begin with, but the course expanded my understanding and skills to where I can actively apply them in my work. It comes highly recommended.

por Matthew A S

Feb 21, 2018

Awesome course for people with no experience.

por Karan A

Nov 10, 2017

Good teachers! Simple explanations!

por Fazeel G

May 08, 2018

It was a very educational course, and I would recommend it for beginners.

por Peddi A

Jun 21, 2018

It's vrey good for Git

por Themistoklis A

May 23, 2018

Great and very useful content!

por Bruno A M

Oct 08, 2017

Great content with accessible language and good challenges. Will definitely recommend!

por Jerome C

Nov 08, 2017

Very good class! I learned so much stuff about how to manipulate files, write scripts to automate actions on my "file explorer", and some basics about using a remote server. The course is very entertaining.

por Jose N d l R

Aug 17, 2017

Looking forward to learn regex, awk and/or perl. Excellent introduction.

por matan n

Apr 14, 2018

great !!

por Éamonn Ó N

Aug 24, 2017

Very good course, especially for beginners to get relevant and broad overview of tools (bash/git/cloud).

por Andreu C P

Oct 19, 2017

A well structured course that serves as a clear initiation to Unix. I will recommend it!

por SUN L

Sep 11, 2017

It is suitable for Unix/Linux beginners who are new to shell. It introduces popular code sharing and merging tool GitHub, which most programmers would find very useful in software development.

por Anmol L P

Feb 19, 2018

Good course for all of us who want to explore unix and are new to it. The course design is wonderful.

por Gregorio A A P

Oct 17, 2017

EXCELLENT COURSE

por Benjamin G

Jul 02, 2018

Teaches Unix very well

por Vincent L

Jul 07, 2018

Nice introduction to unix and how to use Git

por ShuaiZhao

Mar 02, 2018

a nice course

por Leo

Oct 23, 2018

very clear and useful course. Thank!

por Vattumilli K V

Oct 28, 2018

Thanks for your course