Chevron Left
Voltar para The Unix Workbench

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Unix Workbench da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.7
651 classificações
191 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Melhores avaliações

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

SL

Sep 11, 2017

It is suitable for Unix/Linux beginners who are new to shell. It introduces popular code sharing and merging tool GitHub, which most programmers would find very useful in software development.

Filtrar por:

176 — 187 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The Unix Workbench

por Dhruvak

May 20, 2019

Material was great. However, last assignment instructions were not clear.

por Mohammed A A A M

Jun 04, 2019

Course is easy and straightforward, no excessive effort is needed to complete it.

por Michael J C

Jun 09, 2019

This is a good course, barely adapted from Sean Kross' UNIX workbench book. Much of the course material refers to chapter numbers but is easy enough to follow without the book. I found that some sections did make a few leaps between the written content and the exercises. For the most part this was OK but the exercises for the final section, "Nephology", were well beyond the written content ("now make a Twitter bot"). Also, the course required that we sign up to Digital Oceans (and gave us a credit)...be prepared for spam and officious disregard for customers.

por Devaashish S

Jul 20, 2019

Excellent book and exercises.

por Pratima S

Aug 19, 2019

like

por Thomas L

Jan 27, 2019

It's helpful if you want to know a thing or two about Bash.

por Anthony A

Mar 25, 2019

You need videos, not enough and all reading here, although it was the easiest course I've even started and completed. Took less than 1 day to complete and pass.

por Ahmed M A M M

Jan 14, 2019

The studying material demonstration is not fit for everyone and I see that it needs more explaining video from an instructor.

por 李锐

Aug 14, 2017

内容还行,就跟自己看书一样。作为一个中国人,还是有很多不方便的地方。

总的来说还可以吧

por Ugo N

Aug 13, 2017

This course is very boring. But teaches you how to use Bash Shell.

I'm very disappointed and sad at this moment actually, because I want to move on to do other courses but this course is standing in the way of my progress. I just can't seem to get over the last few lectures of week 3. The form of teaching is not enjoyable enough to come back to the material, although what you learn is actually viable.

I have to stomach it and get through this course as quickly as possible, cause the mere thought of coming to it bothers my brain.

Overall, do it if you need to.

por Milad V

Mar 02, 2019

in my opinion some concepts is not described very well...

por Jacky H

Feb 16, 2019

99% of the contents in this course are transfered from the book of the same title. No instruction videos. The difficulty is somehow low which makes the author's elaboration feels dry and lengthy.

It is almost the same as reading the book yourself, beside the discussion forum, which is also not very helpful in my opinion.