Chevron Left
Voltar para O sul da América: história, música e arte

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O sul da América: história, música e arte da instituição Universidade da Carolina do Norte em Chapel HillUniversidade da Carolina do Norte em Chapel Hill

4.4
273 classificações
71 avaliações

Sobre o curso

From small farms to urban neighborhoods, from the region itself to the more distant worlds of the southern diaspora, we discover the stories, music, and art of the American South....

Melhores avaliações

ES

Aug 14, 2015

One of the greatest courses I ever followed!\n\nInteresting, documentary, not even one minute boring, very well organized and easy to follow.\n\nMusic is part of our history.

CC

Aug 26, 2015

Bill Ferris is a wealth of knowledge and experience - I only regret missing out on the classroom dynamic of a Ferris-led discussion of Southern arts, particularly the Blues.

Filtrar por:

51 — 71 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o O sul da América: história, música e arte

por José D

Aug 14, 2015

I took this course with a special interest on the musical aspect, namely the blues, of course. In that regard the course is very superficial, but has some interesting stuff even so. The other aspects of literature, painting, and the more popular arts (kilts, oral traditions, etc.) where a nice surprise. This course gives a view of a cultural aspect of America that is very interesting and mostly unknown, particularly, I guess, to a non American. I advise this course to anyone who is interested in ethnology, folklore and popular art and music and is not already familiarized with the American South.

por Yushan S

Sep 08, 2015

A good course for anyone who want to know more about the American South, but a little boring~

por Arturo T S

Mar 24, 2016

Es una muy buena introducción al estudio de la cultura del sur de los Estados Unidos y al mismo tiempo un panorama para buscar más información sobre ciertos temas como el blues, las tradiciones orales, la religión, la vida cotidiana y los grandes creadores de la literatura y la música inmersos en la tradición del sur estadounidense.

por Dorothy H

Nov 24, 2017

Good course with lots of educator's personal experience and footage.

por Donna S

Feb 17, 2017

Great Material. Quizes and discussions didn't work, But i was only auditing the course. There is a wealth of information.

por Coral Y

Jan 23, 2016

rich and engaging documentaries took 80% of the class content - but still fun to watch!

por Echo W

Sep 24, 2015

interesting, the photos, the film and voice records really bring us back to the time in the past, which also help me know what the real south is.

por Thanh T D

Aug 22, 2015

Interesting course covering various aspects of the south americans culture.

por Andrés S

Nov 11, 2015

Faltó entrar un poco más en detalle.

por Shelton D

Nov 19, 2016

I think some very tough choices were made to fit the course online. It is a successful course, but you can tell that a more in depth version of the course would probably be exciting. You would certainly go further, if you were enrolled at Chapel Hill, and had a couple semesters to contemplate the topic.

The instructor is a person who made his own videos and recordings of local storytellers, artists and musicians over a long period of time. You can tell he is a very active collector of local lore. So, he tries to feature this material, sensibly. Some of this material you was great.

On the other hand; the knowledge of the course is really only a beginning to what could be learned. For example, when mentioning the photographers or painters of the South, you are not able to see a large number of their pictures. Likewise, when talking about the major writers, such as Faulkner, you do not get to read many longer excerpts of their work. This course provides the names to reference; starting points for further study. The instructor trusts you to investigate these resources on your own.

por Allison B

Nov 06, 2015

Great course with a different perspective on history&people. Fun and simple.

por Ena X

Nov 11, 2015

It's a great course with a lot of background on Blues music. Tho I wish there were more music pieces to listen as examples.

por Amy S

Sep 13, 2015

Great reflections on some wonderful oral history research.

por Meghann M

Nov 01, 2015

Too reliant on materials directly collected by professor, too little context of larger artistic community.

por Joan E F

Sep 01, 2015

This course would work better if the material wasn

por Sherry C

Feb 13, 2016

The best part of this course was, of course, the videos. But it just scratched the surface. I would have been happy to have a whole unit on Eudora Welty or B B King or the Chitlen Circuit. Each and every one of the films was priceless. But the course didn't fully exploit the possibilities of the web and I felt it was very static.

por Stéphane C

Oct 07, 2015

Interesting introduction to the South, Professor Ferris tries to be as exhaustive as the format allows however the exhaustivity leads to a sense of barely skimming the surface over too many topics. I would have preferred a little less and a few more in depth analysis.

Impressive archives collection, definitely a plus of this course.

por Victoria G

Oct 19, 2015

This was a really good course. I was mostly interested in the music and related culture, but I will be interested to read some of the books that were discussed. Thanks!

por Celeste G

Sep 15, 2015

Examples are good. Lecturer could be more interesting

por Emma

Nov 11, 2015

useless

por Reuben B

Aug 15, 2015

It was interesting to a point, but there was no application of the knowledge gained. It was merely a regurgitation of facts.