Chevron Left
Voltar para O sul da América: história, música e arte

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O sul da América: história, música e arte da instituição Universidade da Carolina do Norte em Chapel HillUniversidade da Carolina do Norte em Chapel Hill

4.4
276 classificações
72 avaliações

Sobre o curso

From small farms to urban neighborhoods, from the region itself to the more distant worlds of the southern diaspora, we discover the stories, music, and art of the American South....

Melhores avaliações

ES

Aug 14, 2015

One of the greatest courses I ever followed!\n\nInteresting, documentary, not even one minute boring, very well organized and easy to follow.\n\nMusic is part of our history.

CC

Aug 26, 2015

Bill Ferris is a wealth of knowledge and experience - I only regret missing out on the classroom dynamic of a Ferris-led discussion of Southern arts, particularly the Blues.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o O sul da América: história, música e arte

por Mario M

Mar 24, 2017

I want to thank Dr. Ferris for allowing us to get an inside to the beautiful worlds in the American South. The work Dr. Ferris has done in his career documenting the South and mastering it, is truly amazing. This is by far the most enjoyable class I have ever taken!

por Samanta G P

Apr 11, 2019

Excepcional! Me encanto!

por Deleted A

Mar 29, 2016

Started this course, but had to stop initially because I started a PhD. But I couldn't stop thinking about it so resumed the other day. Loved it.

por Cathy G

Jan 24, 2017

I learned so much about the South that I didn't already know.

por Dario

Jun 23, 2016

Very interesting, great professor

por Margaret F

Feb 04, 2016

This has been an interesting and informative course. It would be nice if Prof Ferris could produce an intermediate course on the same topic.

por Alice H S

Dec 29, 2016

Excellent! Full of treasure trove of information with History, stories and culture!

por David J H

Mar 16, 2016

Fascinating introduction and lots of pointers to follow through if you want to explore more

por Lester P

Aug 22, 2015

As a non-American and a musician I found this course presented immensely interesting and important background information as to how life was and developed in the American South, culminating in hearing the story of its music which I now understand in its context. I heartily recommend this course!

por Olga d B

Feb 01, 2018

I really enjoyed the lectures. Thank you very much for such a great course!

por qqwwqq22

Feb 29, 2016

Very brief but round introduction for the art forms of the American South. Greatly changed my idea and increased my knowledge about the native people in the South. Slow speed of lecture is very easy to understand for non-English spea

por Barbara K A

Aug 24, 2017

Loved it although i wish i could have taken the quizzes as an auditor just to check what i had learned.

por Bill G

Nov 28, 2015

An excellent course. Truly informative and engaging. I recommend this course to those interested in the Blues, its history and birthplace.

por Hugh M

Jan 09, 2016

The lecturers and interviews are relatively short and the quizzes don't ask that much of you, nevertheless this is a fantastic introduction to the south and explores a good breath of the arts and culture. The depth and passion of William Ferris's knowledge is obvious. He left me wanting more so I bought two of his multimedia books on Amazon, although he modestly didn't plug them I had to hunt them down.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/William-Ferris/e/B001H6IZGW/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1452359183&sr=8-2

por Jeremy E S

Sep 08, 2015

Excellent Course! From the start it was very informative. What I liked most about the course was the interviews of the everyday people from the South. The course went beyond the basic facts of Southern Culture and really brought out the influences from the common man. I highly recommend this course for anyone interested in American Culture! Thank you for this course.

por CYNTHIA W

Apr 20, 2018

Very interesting and informative course, I have a better understanding of southern culture, the stories, music and art I often heard my grandmother speak of.

por Elizabeth P

Nov 10, 2015

Engaging and interesting, a review of Southern Culture with an excellent instructor.

por Althea M

Sep 07, 2015

As part of the southern family living abroad I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Thanks Bill, for sharing your experience and knowledge with us. I look forward to watching your documentaries on Folkstream!

por TRUDY D

Jun 04, 2018

I am not originally from the South, but I have lived in Florida for the past seventeen years. I have always loved the stories, music, and art of the South, and now I know the history of them.

The course was extremely interesting and I highly recommend it to anyone who has an interest in these things.

por Chris C

Aug 26, 2015

Bill Ferris is a wealth of knowledge and experience - I only regret missing out on the classroom dynamic of a Ferris-led discussion of Southern arts, particularly the Blues.

por John N

Aug 09, 2015

One of the best cultural studies I have ever taken! Dr. William Ferris showcases his mastery in capturing the heartbeat of the American South. Dr. Ferris tells each story with such amazing intensity and clarity that you can't help but be drawn into each moment - as though you were there. Take this class if you're looking for a deeper understanding of how traditions form the basis of societies today and the future.

por Mikhail A

Mar 11, 2016

Just started this, but in love with all this stories and music.

por Juan V

Nov 10, 2015

Was an hell of a ride! Enjoyed it thoroughly.

por phunguyen

Dec 26, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. Very interesting!

por Gloria F L

Aug 31, 2015

Because I was born and raised in the South, I enjoy courses that expound my knowledge of southern culture. This is an excellent course and I am enjoying Dr. Ferris' lectures. It brings to mind my memories of early childhood experiences (the good and the bad) that have shaped the national and international consciousness. I state that because I lived in Atlanta, GA during the Civil Rights Era and I wear my southern style with pride, no matter where I travel.