Chevron Left
Voltar para Improving your statistical inferences

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Improving your statistical inferences da instituição Universidade Tecnológica de Eindhoven

4.9
estrelas
590 classificações
187 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course aims to help you to draw better statistical inferences from empirical research. First, we will discuss how to correctly interpret p-values, effect sizes, confidence intervals, Bayes Factors, and likelihood ratios, and how these statistics answer different questions you might be interested in. Then, you will learn how to design experiments where the false positive rate is controlled, and how to decide upon the sample size for your study, for example in order to achieve high statistical power. Subsequently, you will learn how to interpret evidence in the scientific literature given widespread publication bias, for example by learning about p-curve analysis. Finally, we will talk about how to do philosophy of science, theory construction, and cumulative science, including how to perform replication studies, why and how to pre-register your experiment, and how to share your results following Open Science principles. In practical, hands on assignments, you will learn how to simulate t-tests to learn which p-values you can expect, calculate likelihood ratio's and get an introduction the binomial Bayesian statistics, and learn about the positive predictive value which expresses the probability published research findings are true. We will experience the problems with optional stopping and learn how to prevent these problems by using sequential analyses. You will calculate effect sizes, see how confidence intervals work through simulations, and practice doing a-priori power analyses. Finally, you will learn how to examine whether the null hypothesis is true using equivalence testing and Bayesian statistics, and how to pre-register a study, and share your data on the Open Science Framework. All videos now have Chinese subtitles. More than 30.000 learners have enrolled so far! If you enjoyed this course, I can recommend following it up with me new course "Improving Your Statistical Questions"...

Melhores avaliações

PP

Jun 29, 2020

Excellent explanations. Strong examples. Helpful exercises. Highly recommended for anyone who ever has to conduct inferential statistics or read anything that reports a p value or bayes factor.

YK

Mar 02, 2017

Excellent course. The lecturer has written code snippets that let the students visualize the meaning and interrelationship of p-values confidence-intervals power effect-size bayesian-inference.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 186 Avaliações para o Improving your statistical inferences

por Maxim P

Mar 22, 2020

Such a wonderful course, I really enjoyed the walkthrough. Also, I'd like to note the perfect English language of the lecturer.

por Dennis H

Dec 04, 2018

excellent refresher and expansion on frequentists stats (interpretation) and nice intro to bayesian stats. highly recommended.

por Katia D

Feb 11, 2018

Great course! Although I was struggling with lecture 2 (Bayesian Statistics)––It was very mathsy and a bit difficult to follow.

por César A Y B

Feb 26, 2019

Practico sin hacer a un lado lo teorico, te dan un marco mucho mas amplio para la interpretacion y planteamiento de hipotesis

por Agustin E C F

Nov 05, 2019

This is a great course!. It tackles common misbeliefs and approaches the topics both in a technical and coloquial manner.

por Ezra H

May 19, 2020

Very well structured. Every week covered a different important topic. Overall a useful course for empirical researchers.

por 唐茂杰

Jan 01, 2020

I think it's a useful course for me, but I think some content in the last week is a little bit trivial for me...

por John B

Jul 17, 2018

very well organised course and deepens understanding. Excellent resources provided also, e.g. books and papers.

por Davide F S

May 21, 2017

Clear, concise, and engaging explanation of many statistical concepts that can be readily applied in research.

por Amy M

Nov 03, 2016

Great lectures and really helpful simulations. Very engaging and interesting. Full of useful resources.

por Lydia A G

May 28, 2020

Highly recommendable course. It puts clarity from the most basic concepts to some other new insights.

por Sandra V

Dec 10, 2016

Extremely useful cours, especially the first 5 weeks! Pleasant and enjoyable. Definitely recommended!

por Fengyuan L

Jul 31, 2020

excellent course. It solves lots of my question over the p value as well as the statistic analysis.

por Habiba A

Dec 29, 2016

Easy to follow, light workload, and most importantly: very useful material of supreme importance.

por Thijs

Aug 14, 2019

Great course. Already had some knowledge about statistics, but this course really improved it.

por Mr. J

Feb 24, 2020

Superbly Done synopsis of statistical gotchas and best practice against them. Very Valauble.

por Morio C

Jan 02, 2020

Great course, clear and helpful. I will definitely recommend it to colleagues and students.

por Jose M S

Jun 17, 2017

Quite interesting and well structured. The contents of this course deserve a wide audience.

por Patrick H

Aug 10, 2020

This course should be taken by any psychologist (and actually anyone who does statistics)

por Eva D P

Jan 23, 2017

Probably the best stats course I've ever taken (and also the most fun and enlightening)!

por Sergey L

Jan 01, 2020

The course is full of useful insights and practices. I can definitely recommend it!

por Gerald R

Sep 02, 2017

a very thoughtful introduction to the different approaches of statistical reasoning

por Aviv E

Jul 17, 2017

Great course, lots of new tools and materials that really helped me in my study.

por Richard M

Jan 22, 2019

Great course. A lot of topics introduced and explored. Well worth the time.

por Bertin

Nov 17, 2018

This course is amazing, dynamic and entertaining. Daniel Lakens is brilliant.