Chevron Left
Voltar para SEL for Students: A Path to Social Emotional Well-Being

Comentários e feedback de alunos de SEL for Students: A Path to Social Emotional Well-Being da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.8
estrelas
157 classificações
36 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Social and emotional learning, or SEL, programs have flourished in schools during the last decade. In this course the instructor (Emily Price) introduces you to the history and framings of social and emotional learning preK-12 curricula, as well as various elementary, middle, and high school SEL programs and associated research. This course is a part of the 5-course Specialization “The Teacher and Social Emotional Learning (SEL)”. Interested in earning 3 university credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for this specialization? If so check out "How you can earn 3 university credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for this specialization" reading in the first module of this course for additional information. We want to note that the courses in this Specialization were designed with a three-credit university course load in mind. As a participant you may notice a bit more reading content and a little less video/lecture content. Completing and passing the SEL Specialization allows the participant to apply for 3 graduate credits toward teacher re-certification and professional enhancement. We want to ensure the quality and high standards of a University of Colorado learning experience. Interested in earning 3 graduate credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for The Teacher and Social Emotional Learning (SEL) Specialization? Check out "How you can earn 3 university credits from the University of Colorado-Boulder for this specialization" reading in the first week of this course for more information....

Melhores avaliações

JW
20 de Abr de 2019

Excellent information about students self awareness, social awareness, self management, interpersonal relationships and problem solving. Research based instruction from UC-Boulder. Awesome course.

MM
12 de Mar de 2018

This course provided insight in to the reasons social emotional learning is vital for students' success in life, and provided many data points to support SEL as an academic positive, as well.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 36 Avaliações para o SEL for Students: A Path to Social Emotional Well-Being

por Dena F

4 de Mai de 2020

I loved this course as it made it so simple and clear. I really learned the importance of an integrative approach across all curricula to really have an impact on children learning social and emotional skills. I learned the value of community (from parents, teachers, children, administrators, and other school staff) knowing and implementing SEL tools in everyday aspects of children's school lives, in the classroom, in the playground, playdates, at home and in the halls. I also saw how the school I currently work at has already implemented SEL and I can now reflect on particular relationships I have with children and new approaches come to mind, on how to establish trust and rapport with "problem" children. Some of the problem is on my shoulders and can be worked through with greater success if I employ SEL techniques.

por Elizabeth A D

19 de Mai de 2019

As the course progresses the information regarding the different SEL programs for Elementary, Middle and High School was in depth and informative. Our school has been using Mind Up with good results but just as the articles emphasized it needs to be implemented with fidelity. The SEL competencies also need to be modeled by teachers and I appreciate the findings in the article Review of Classroom Based SEL Programs for Middle School that "Attention to teachers should include investigation of setting-level supports, teaching practices, and teacher social emotional competencies, teaching practices, and motivation as correlates of the quality of implementation of the the SEL program and eventual impact on students." I will definitely recommend this class to my colleagues.

por Shabir A

28 de Ago de 2020

This course is very informative and search based. It will be very useful for all adults who are engage with students for Social and Emotional learning and wellbeing. the course is designed in such a way that it give you the basic tools for further investigation into the subject. The pure research based approach is an added advantage. I really learned a lot and I am inspired to dig even deeper into the subject. Thank you University of Colorado Boulder.

por Girls i t S H H

22 de Set de 2020

At all times, and especially now, it's critical educators and the community of support understand how important students SEL is to their present experience which affects their future and the choices they make. I hope at some time in our country's history we are able to accommodate for SEL in all school for all age levels. If a child's SEL is intact, the academics and extra curricular interest will follow suit.

por Valerie V K

17 de Ago de 2018

This course provides a very interesting overview of the many different SEL courses currently in use, and offers practical advice on how to choose ones that suit one's own classroom. The current field of SEL is rather new, so many strategies are being tried, and results are not always clear, so this MOOC helps makes some sense of it all.

por Gerald M

5 de Out de 2020

This course is really awesome. Learning this SEL course invigorates me a lot, and it deepens my heart to understand our learners truly and opts for me more to pay attention to our learners' social and emotional learning. To the professors of this course, you are so great by sharing your expertise. My profound salutations to all you!

por AISV, 1

30 de Jun de 2018

I found this course very informative and I appreciated how week 4 and 5 were split into elementary and middle/high school. As an elementary teacher, I found it very interesting to read and watch the videos about SEL in middle and high school. It as interesting to see how SEL can continue on past elementary school.

por Bardell P

19 de Nov de 2020

I totally enjoyed this course. I am one who fully supports that this needs to be integrated into schools. I enjoyed the easy to understand delivery and the wealth of information that was shared. I have learnt so much and it has reinforced things that I have known and believed.

por Jessica W

20 de Abr de 2019

Excellent information about students self awareness, social awareness, self management, interpersonal relationships and problem solving. Research based instruction from UC-Boulder. Awesome course.

por Melissa M

12 de Mar de 2018

This course provided insight in to the reasons social emotional learning is vital for students' success in life, and provided many data points to support SEL as an academic positive, as well.

por ANEESH K P

4 de Jun de 2020

Very good resources and organised sessions. It is highly recommended for people working with children and adolescents. I enjoyed doing the course during

por SHREYA M

28 de Set de 2020

Very helpful course. All the videos and materials are excellent. I will be more careful about my students' social and emotional well-being.

por Jose A

8 de Jan de 2020

Amazing course, As a teacher I'm incredible mesmerize by the idea to learn more about socio emotional leraning and psichology.

por Maryium A

11 de Set de 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed the articles but videos were the most helpful in understanding and building a connection with the content

por MPEARSALL

24 de Jul de 2019

Thank you so much. Very informative and current. I truly enjoy the lectures and the readings. Maria

por Sarah N

7 de Set de 2018

Wonderful and thorough overview of an incredibly interesting subject. Thank you!

por Kelly O

4 de Jun de 2020

This SEL course was fantastic. By far one of the best courses I've taken.

por Amber S

4 de Mai de 2019

Good connection to what is happening in classrooms at this moment.

por Camille G

15 de Nov de 2019

Very interesting and applicable to my professional context

por Vasif V

22 de Mai de 2018

Perfect.It was very useful for me .I recommend you.

por Jiska C H

4 de Jun de 2019

I love this course about the heart of teaching.

por Pete B

13 de Mar de 2019

Concise, well-structured and easy to digest!

por Jennifer

12 de Jun de 2018

Excellent course! I would highly recommend!

por Lisa W

29 de Fev de 2020

Excellent delivery and great information!

por Hend A M

26 de Jan de 2020

Amazing lectures with amazing professors