Chevron Left
Voltar para Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Predictive Modeling and Analytics , Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

3.8
184 classificações
53 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Melhores avaliações

por HA

Nov 20, 2017

this course teach you about the technical of using tools for predictive modeling. very useful for you who want to learn the fundamental of analytics.

por GD

Dec 12, 2016

There were some instructions in the quizzes hard to understand with no additional explanation in case of error.

Filtrar por:

51 avaliações

por Eric Zines

Apr 10, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, but I did struggle more than I should have with the software tools. In many cases, my version of the tool (the latest) did not match the instructor's version, and I worked to translate my version to his, and that's not a good use of my time. That said, the material was interesting, and the professor did a great job presenting it. I would recommend the course, but I would recommend that you learn to get the results not just in XL Miner, but in R or some other software, as well

por Graham Clarke

Mar 21, 2019

Very poor course and delivery of subject matter was terrible - Do Not Take This Course!

por Amol Kulkarni

Jan 15, 2019

More Banking & Financial Industry Related Examples can be covered...

por Shafeeq Shas

Jan 11, 2019

Very good course for understanding Regression, classification. Other advance predictive models like trees, random forest, neural networks are covered fast. Could have been little more lengthy sessions.

instructor is very fast in explaining concepts.

por Isaura Duby Valdez

Oct 06, 2018

I only wished that the teacher would speak slower.

por Colin Paterson

Oct 04, 2018

Very interesting course that covers a lot, which is good in that it gives exposure to different mining techniques, but bad in that I feel very far from mastering the techniques. Each mining technique could be its own course. Course could do a better job of explaining how to interpret the model outputs.

por Yvonne Goh Qiu Ting

Sep 16, 2018

This module is badly organised and taught. The lecturer goes through the concepts with no explanation or illustration. As a result, it was hard to understand the significance and applicability of the concepts taught. It was also very hard to catch what he was saying as his voice was not clear and no slides were provided. Further, no answer key was provided for the assignments and quizzes - we wont even know why we got the question(s) wrong and what should be the correct step(s). The final assignment/quiz was kind of a repeat of the first four quizzes/assignments using a different set of data. While I appreciate that this is to give us more practice, it wasn't very useful as the lack of answer key for the first four assignments/quizzes meant that we couldn't quite know the reason for getting certain question(s) wrong earlier on.

por Cayla Cason

Sep 09, 2018

Really like the course and learned a lot. Wish that the quizzes didn't offer as much guidance on the steps to use XL Miner. Because this is given, it's not fully testing students on the material

por Jordan Haas

Aug 31, 2018

The professor does not explain the concepts well enough, to be quite honest. I have simply used his videos as a way to Wikipedia the concepts to actually understand what he is trying to explain. Also, I think it would be beneficial to provide information prior to signing up for the course (or Advanced BA path) stating that there is additional content to purchase.

por Ivan Zaluzhnyy

Jul 29, 2018

Dan Zhang is a very good teacher.