Chevron Left
Voltar para Predictive Modeling and Analytics

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Predictive Modeling and Analytics da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

3.9
234 classificações
68 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

Melhores avaliações

AD

May 30, 2019

Even though a basic math background is needed, this course is extremely simplified for understanding and being really useful introduction to Predictive modeling.

HA

Nov 20, 2017

this course teach you about the technical of using tools for predictive modeling. very useful for you who want to learn the fundamental of analytics.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Predictive Modeling and Analytics

por PRALAY P

Apr 29, 2018

Great Course !

por Isaura D V

Oct 06, 2018

I only wished that the teacher would speak slower.

por Alex D

May 30, 2019

Even though a basic math background is needed, this course is extremely simplified for understanding and being really useful introduction to Predictive modeling.

por Carolinne O R M

Sep 25, 2019

Very rich and concise content, instructor very intelligent and objective, short and digestible videos. My only suggestion is to improve the quality of the neural network content, in my opinion, the very one too shallow compared with the rest of the excellent content.

por Pradeep I

Nov 11, 2019

Provides a very good foundation over predictive modelling.

por Shafeeq S

Jan 11, 2019

Very good course for understanding Regression, classification. Other advance predictive models like trees, random forest, neural networks are covered fast. Could have been little more lengthy sessions.

instructor is very fast in explaining concepts.

por SOUMYA B

Dec 09, 2017

very well explained

por Akintan O

Mar 13, 2017

Tricky to Pass

por Thejes S V

Nov 21, 2016

The Case Assignments are pretty useful

por Cayla C

Sep 09, 2018

Really like the course and learned a lot. Wish that the quizzes didn't offer as much guidance on the steps to use XL Miner. Because this is given, it's not fully testing students on the material

por Colin P

Oct 04, 2018

Very interesting course that covers a lot, which is good in that it gives exposure to different mining techniques, but bad in that I feel very far from mastering the techniques. Each mining technique could be its own course. Course could do a better job of explaining how to interpret the model outputs.

por Eric Z

Apr 10, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, but I did struggle more than I should have with the software tools. In many cases, my version of the tool (the latest) did not match the instructor's version, and I worked to translate my version to his, and that's not a good use of my time. That said, the material was interesting, and the professor did a great job presenting it. I would recommend the course, but I would recommend that you learn to get the results not just in XL Miner, but in R or some other software, as well

por Junyue J

May 18, 2019

The tutor organised the course with clear points and highlights questions during videos. The only confusion is about web version xlminer tool.

por Mark H

Aug 15, 2019

A challenging course, the most challenging I've had on Coursera to-date. The quiz questions really make certain that you have listened to and absorbed the course material. You will get full marks if you follow the instructions given in the videos regarding how to use the software, but you still need to do independent thought and analysis. Overall, I liked the course.

The only thing that keeps me from giving this five stars is the software package used for the course. I am on a Mac, and the software works best with Windows & excel. There is a web interface and Office 365 Extension for MacOs, but it is clunky.

Also, software costs $25 for 140 day license, and I am not certain how I feel about that. It would be better I think to design the course around R/Python, or to choose a software package that is free without time limitation (restricted functionality is fine, but work the course to operate within the free tier). That being said, I don't know how to do that either, and I am sure the instructors would have chosen that route if it was easier to teach that way on a MOOC.

por Rhonda M

Sep 11, 2019

Professor is a little tough to understand, so I had to read the transcript during some of the videos. However, once I got the XLMiner issues resolved, it continued to be a great class and experience.

por Richard F

Mar 31, 2018

instruct

por Sandeep K

Nov 07, 2016

There was some amount of confusion in the Quizzes and we didnt get moderation. Some more discussion in forums should be encouraged.

por mark w

Apr 29, 2017

T

por Tracy C

Jun 20, 2018

The material is fine, a bit rushed at the end. My biggest issue with this course is the lack of support when it comes to addressing system-related issues. I've had to resolve these on my own, because neither forums, Coursera, or Frontline Solvers customer care could help.

por Sejal C

Jul 12, 2019

The instructor runs very fast. He is in a hurry to catch his train. Does not explain the topics properly.

por Federico G V

Aug 15, 2019

The course is very stimulating, unfortunately (at least for a non native english speaker) the understanding of the professor's words is tough

por Fabio F

Mar 09, 2018

content is fine. but light on BUSINESS applications. Professor's english very hard to follow.

por Mithun M

Jun 25, 2017

The instructor is really fast and he needs to slow down with better illustration.

por Tony H

Feb 28, 2018

This course doesn't do a good job of helping you learn the "why" behind the concepts. I felt like a lot of difficult concepts were thrown at me with insufficient context. It's been tough trying to internalize meaningful mental models through the course content.

por Dario A

Feb 13, 2018

The instructor's poor English makes it difficult to follow the lectures and it takes twice the time to study the transcript, which is also wrong at times. The homework was a rehash of the same basic teaching with no practical application. What good is to know the coefficient or the slope of a regression when no prediction exercises are done to find a data point that is not close to the existing data points?

XLMiner does not work online and for Mac users this was very cumbersome.