Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
3,778 classificações
765 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS
1 de Jul de 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS
16 de Set de 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

726 — 750 de 758 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por CHONG Y C

12 de Jul de 2020

very interesting course to introduce you to the idea of politics

por Sophea C

29 de Mar de 2016

It help me to understand about political situation and analysis.

por Geetika G

31 de Jul de 2020

I honestly enjoyed the entire course, it was quite insightful.

por Diego M G

1 de Set de 2020

Me encantó el curso. Me hubiera gustado aprender mucho más.

por RUSHIKESH S I

10 de Abr de 2020

Very Nice Course. Clear Understanding About Politics.

por Louis A

11 de Ago de 2019

Very in depth and fruitful, I enjoyed it very much.

por Shirley K

4 de Jul de 2020

great course,taught me some things I didn't know

por Ruoshi C

22 de Ago de 2017

The video is too short. I was expecting more.

por Joy S

9 de Abr de 2018

good info, quizzes of reasonable difficulty

por Syed F R

15 de Out de 2016

Covers the basics. Quite Good.

por Satya v

27 de Mai de 2020

such a good course to learn

por B.VEGESH

26 de Jul de 2020

good for politics students

por HIMANSHU R

9 de Mar de 2019

very good and intresting

por B. P k

22 de Jun de 2020

very helpful topic

por Pourush D

16 de Jun de 2020

very informative

por Chanmyae T

17 de Out de 2018

good lecture

por Hans H

26 de Set de 2015

Very clear

por fabian c

1 de Set de 2020

well good

por Katherine W

12 de Jun de 2020

Professor Shapiro is an extraordinary teacher. His ability to clarify some fairly opaque readings is impressive. I suggest his next book should be "Pareto for English Majors."

That said, the online course needs to be updated. There's a handful of anachronisms in the video lectures and in the office hours videos. For example, to hear in 2020 that Kenneth Arrow is still living gives one pause. He died in 2017. The credibility of the entire project is thus undermined.

I did not participate in the forums once I figured out that the office hour discussions, at least some of them, were not responses to real time course participation. I expect better from Yale!

por Anna L K

15 de Mai de 2019

The content is relevant and interesting but could be more linked to today's time. The videos are not engaging which makes it very hard to follow the lectures. A changing style or more expert interviews would have been nice.

por ADI S P R

27 de Jun de 2020

Very Difficult to understand for an amateur. But way of organizing the course is good.

por MADHUMITA L 2

29 de Out de 2020

I think this course has helped me thank you for this course.

por Shivam P

5 de Jun de 2019

Its explained well but gets a little boring towards the end.

por Jiayi W (

10 de Mar de 2016

Not that interesting

por leen a h

16 de Nov de 2020

the disadvantages were: there are no written ideas in the background, the black and white video, and the dialogue between the dr. and his students