Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentos Morais da Política

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentos Morais da Política da instituição Universidade Yale

4.9
estrelas
3,580 classificações
724 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When do governments deserve our allegiance, and when should they be denied it? This course explores the main answers that have been given to this question in the modern West. We start with a survey of the major political theories of the Enlightenment: Utilitarianism, Marxism, and the social contract tradition. In each case, we begin with a look at classical formulations, locating them in historical context, but then shift to the contemporary debates as they relate to politics today. Next, we turn to the rejection of Enlightenment political thinking, again exploring both classical and contemporary formulations. The last part of the course deals with the nature of, and justifications for, democratic politics, and their relations to Enlightenment and Anti-Enlightenment political thinking. In addition to exploring theoretical differences among the various authors discussed, considerable attention is devoted to the practical implications of their competing arguments. To this end, we discuss a variety of concrete problems, including debates about economic inequality, affirmative action and the distribution of health care, the limits of state power in the regulation of speech and religion, and difficulties raised by the emerging threat of global environmental decay....

Melhores avaliações

SS

Jul 02, 2020

The lectures are easy to understand, the reading materials informative. I thoroughly enjoyed this course and any beginner will be able to grasp the technicalities of Moral Politics after this Course.

MS

Sep 17, 2015

excellant work dont by Dr Ian Shapiro and staff on putting such a mind turning,thought provoking MOOC on a complex and ever controversial subject known as POLITICS!..I hope to see more from them soon

Filtrar por:

676 — 700 de 719 Avaliações para o Fundamentos Morais da Política

por Haneen F

Oct 10, 2020

Loved every second of it, especially towards the ends of the course with emotivist culture and the democratic tradition. Very very very high quality teaching

por Siddharth M

Aug 19, 2019

A very useful and instructive course, with an engaging format; but could only be improved, if all readings were published directly on the course-site itself.

por Lenon H

May 02, 2020

O curso fornece uma bagagem vasta sobre os principais teóricos da filosofia política, bem como uma ampla visão do conceito moderno de democracia. Recomendo.

por SAI D S

May 26, 2020

the videos were really good and the readings were helpful and the course dealed greatly about the fact that democracy is really for everyone.

por Aasupal P

Sep 17, 2018

The course was engaging and informative.It teaches you the broader concepts in a deductive manner with completely all perspectives included.

por Zakaria G

Apr 05, 2019

loved the course, would have just loved more videos and discussions about democracy, where it fails and how to deal wit that

por Calvin C

Jun 21, 2016

"very inspiring, thoughts provocative course", that I have learned a lot as a lay man in the morality of politics.

por MARIANA L

Feb 14, 2016

Very interesting! I just didn't like the conversation format of it, but the professor is great. Thank you!

por Maria S

Nov 29, 2016

Really informative and interesting. Thank you Coursera and Professor Sharpino for making this possible!

por Alfred M

Jul 30, 2019

The course is a bit too long and unorganized. It would be better if concepts are separated in chunks.

por Edmund S R

Jun 24, 2020

It was the best course with full of fun and learning. The more you go the brighter you become.

por Maria E H

May 08, 2017

The content of the course is valuable and well your worth the time spent on the course.

por Reuben M P

Apr 28, 2017

Conversational format is really helpful, great real world examples and connections.

por ANTO.C.S

May 13, 2020

This course is also helpful you know basics or the foundation of political science

por Harsha S R

May 14, 2020

overall a most comprehensive course on the foundations of politics!

por CHONG Y C

Jul 12, 2020

very interesting course to introduce you to the idea of politics

por Sophea C

Mar 30, 2016

It help me to understand about political situation and analysis.

por Geetika G

Jul 31, 2020

I honestly enjoyed the entire course, it was quite insightful.

por Diego M G

Sep 01, 2020

Me encantó el curso. Me hubiera gustado aprender mucho más.

por RUSHIKESH S I

Apr 10, 2020

Very Nice Course. Clear Understanding About Politics.

por Louis A

Aug 11, 2019

Very in depth and fruitful, I enjoyed it very much.

por Shirley K

Jul 04, 2020

great course,taught me some things I didn't know

por Ruoshi C

Aug 22, 2017

The video is too short. I was expecting more.

por Joy S

Apr 09, 2018

good info, quizzes of reasonable difficulty

por Syed F R

Oct 15, 2016

Covers the basics. Quite Good.