Chevron Left
Voltar para Período Moderno e Pós Moderno (Parte 1)

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Período Moderno e Pós Moderno (Parte 1) da instituição Universidade Wesleyan

4.8
estrelas
880 classificações
239 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Melhores avaliações

NM
7 de Jan de 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

JR
1 de Ago de 2019

It was a fabulous journey, and brought me so much nearer to the great minds of the 18th and especially the 19th century, reading original texts, and listening to Prof Roth's wonderful interpretations.

Filtrar por:

226 — 238 de 238 Avaliações para o Período Moderno e Pós Moderno (Parte 1)

por Richard B

4 de Set de 2015

though the flow of ideologies eventually became distinguishable, the comments on the several artists and philosophers noted were woefully uninformed and inadequate, even distorted, and the professor's eventual humming and hawing, irritating in the extreme, suggested that he was not at all prepared for his lectures - the final presentation of paintings without commentary at all was thus both a relief from his indecision and, at all of twenty minutes, an outrageous waste of time having left all of these however masterful works without any appreciable context

por Alexandra B

13 de Jan de 2022

The course itself is excellent. But the organization of checking assignments is HORRIBLE. I handed in all the assignments on time and paid the money for the course. My final essay has not yet been reviewed and I have not been issued a course completion certificate. I ask to check my work and give me a certificate or refund my money for the course. https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-postmodern-1/peer/U8MRp/third-writing-assignment/review/pmaVs3HbEeygEQ7VPP1a4Q

por Adrià T

3 de Set de 2020

The classes are very interesting, as are the readings. However, the same cannot be said of the methodology regarding the exercises. First of all, the absence of the teacher, replaced by correction between classmates - some of whom are unsympathetic - leaves much to be desired. Secondly, the third exercise is incoherent with the topics raised, seeming to want to make easy money rather than educate in teaching quality.

por İLKİN B

20 de Out de 2015

On scientific and philosophical reflections there are unbalanced focusing and biased approach to Enlightenment tradition of thoughts and Utilitarions views in particular, on the very contrary to what Prof. Shapiro explains in his MOOC "Moral Foundations of Politics".

por Shem

7 de Mai de 2020

通識向,入門級,科普西方現代性,教授人很可愛,但是講話經常有結巴,相比之下在耶魯的mooc會是我更喜歡的風格。脈絡不是很統一,尤其是從理論學說突然轉變成詳細介紹福樓拜小說,現代性思想的變更是著重於理論的,突然好幾課著重介紹小說文本本身的句子有多美,我覺得欠考慮,著重其帶來的思想意義和社會變革比較符合課程的核心。

por Andressa C M d S

14 de Set de 2015

It's a little annoying, because the videos are the same all the time... but the professor is very good, he knows so much about filosofy!

por Glenn O

22 de Jun de 2016

Only average. Much is said, little information delivered.

por Deleted A

1 de Mar de 2016

Interesting start to week 1, looking forward to week 2.

por Rayser R

30 de Set de 2020

The course is the equivalent of a first year survey course. However, I have two honours degrees from Canadian universities and a community college diploma and have taught for many years. In all of my educational experience I have rarely come across a professor who is as difficult to listen to or attend to than Professor Roth. He has the mannerisms of a nervous man who is thinking well ahead of what he is saying and is making up his points as he goes. He stammers perpetually and many of his sentences contain numerous repetitions and often end without completing a thought. I tried to read the transcripts of the videos instead to spare myself the aggravation of listening to him, but the transcripts are a hopeless shamble of typos, misspellings, and nonsense. Here is an example of what I mean. "Morality is an expression of power. And in the first essay of the Genealogy of Morals, which is an account of, of, of morality, you've only been assigned the second essay. In the first essay, he says, it, it, he does say that morality is an expression power but is really perverse in the west." Here is another example: “You, because society's the ultimate creditor. And a strong society is a society that can say, you know, forget about it. You know? You, you, you did something really bad, you're at Wesleyan, you get 2 points. [laugh] 4 points now, right? You just[UNKNOWN] points.”

In short the course is moderately informative and interesting but destroyed by the presentation.

por Sang Y D

25 de Mar de 2016

I advice NOT to take this course.

Why: the professor is never there to read your assignments. He leaves that totally to other students like yourself, to grade your written assignments, and, they do not read and give you a RANDOM grade in 2 seconds.

Don't take it, you will waste sooo much time on this one.

por Michael N R

13 de Jun de 2016

Not as advertized and way too much peer rating stuff--we do all the work the instructor does little or none--too much peer raqting stuff which I despise. And there seems to be no way to un-enroll.

por Paul M

20 de Abr de 2017

Only one star as it was not made clear you could also get 1/5 points in assignments noted as ties but no further explanation. I don't think I will bother with part 2

por Deleted A

8 de Ago de 2020

very bad