Chevron Left
Voltar para Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential da instituição Universidade McMaster

4.8
3,721 classificações
977 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Mindshift is designed to help boost your career and life in today’s fast-paced learning environment. Whatever your age or stage, Mindshift teaches you essentials such as how to get the most out of online learning and MOOCs, how to seek out and work with mentors, the secrets to avoiding career ruts (and catastrophes) and general ruts in life, and insights such as the value of selective ignorance over general competence. We’ll provide practical insights from science about how to learn and change effectively even in maturity, and we’ll build on what you already know to take your life’s learning in fantastic new directions. This course is designed to show you how to look at what you’re learning, and your place in what’s unfolding in the society around you, so you can be what you want to be, given the real world constraints that life puts on us all. You’ll see that by using certain mental tools and insights, you can learn and do more—far more—than you might have ever dreamed! This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or subsequent to, its companion course, Learning How to Learn. (Mindshift is more career focused, and Learning How to Learn is more learning focused.)...

Melhores avaliações

TM

Feb 12, 2018

I really enjoyed the first course, Learn 2Learn. The female professor is great but the boring old guy should have been kicked out of the course, as he do not provide anything of value for the course.

SN

Jan 18, 2018

Thank you Barbara. It was really enjoyable trip with you in this course. I have found many new learning techniques. Your positive behavior was very encouraging for me to begin a new list of my life!

Filtrar por:

901 — 925 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Mindshift: Break Through Obstacles to Learning and Discover Your Hidden Potential

por Deleted A

May 08, 2018

Very Insightful. I would recommend take the course really slowly and actively asking yourself the breakthrough quotes, like what is your mission?

por Matthew B

Jul 08, 2018

Good, but overlapped with Learning How to Learn and wasn't as informative, but would 100% recommend. It still gave me valuable life insight that I will use for my whole life.

por Deleted A

Mar 19, 2018

Informative, fun and practical! I enjoy learning this course. Thank you!

por Luis S B L

Apr 08, 2018

It´s an interesting course. You can find things inside you that can help you to live in a better way. You can perceive the things around you in a different way. If you do this course conscientiously you can learn a lot of thing about yourself that you have hidden. Thank you to Barb and Terry for show us these interesting concepts and insights.

por winston f

Feb 03, 2018

very interesting topics, some useful tip and tricks too.

por Alhasan A

Jul 03, 2017

It's a pretty solid course. I can't help but compare it with Learning how to learn, though. And I feel like there was more content therein

por Ma. A S

Jun 24, 2017

I truly enjoyed "Learning How to Learn" MOOC so I was eager to find out the next installment. However, there are some overlaps from this course and Learning How to Learn which made certain portions redundant. Minus the overlaps, I liked the topics covered such as career choice, mentors, skill set building, and loved the Nelson Dellis memory tips videos (especially the the first one, the names and faces and language - I have not completed watching all the optional videos but intend to do so). Both professors are very engaging and informative and I look forward to their future MOOCS.

por Dr. P M

Sep 15, 2017

I have enjoyed this course , gained new knowledge, but I feel this course was not as good as "Learning How to Learn", where a high standard was set by dr. Oakley. I felt more interviews could have been done with people who made a career change, How difficult or easy it was for them and also how they are progressing or have progressed in the new career. If they regret it or believed that was a great success.

por RUCHIRA K

Feb 08, 2018

very good

por Claire R

Feb 09, 2018

I've giving this only 4 stars because I'm comparing it to Learning How to Learn which I took first. Though the production values are better for this course it seems more scattershot in what it covers. Really interesting though. I learned things which I think will help me improve my life. But for me this class is a really beneficial add-on to the Learning How to Learn class. Thanks!

por Jai B

Sep 26, 2018

Good for learning some tips here and there to more effective learning, but a little too redundant and a little disorganized at times. No real "aha" moment, just a collection of some useful/non-useful tips

por Daniel S

Aug 26, 2018

I enjoyed this course and found it to be useful in helping me see the various aspects of learning. It was good for self reflection on how I learn and ways I can improve my learning.

por CHERYL B

Aug 18, 2018

This is my first course through Cousera. I found it engaging, the information was useful, the pace was good. I look forward to other courses.

por Low H B

Nov 21, 2018

A

por Sven N

Nov 21, 2018

This course helped me to take decisions and to shift careers. An eye opener.

por somia a

Aug 23, 2018

This course is a great one. It really helped me a lot to shift my mind. Now I think I am able to learn anything. I restored my old passion of studying physics and astrology. My only objection was that the content didn't have many exercises. It all depends on the videos and writing your thoughts in the discussion forum. But I think as an amount of information, It is still enough. The information affected me greatly. Thank you.

por Mike B

May 22, 2019

Packed full of insights and techniques about ways to approach learning and change in your life, both personally and professionally. Fun and easy to follow.

por Naraphakrasmi B

Jun 17, 2019

It is good for everyone who start online learning . There are a lot of tricks that can help you get more effective learning.

por Dmytro I

Jun 19, 2019

It's hard to actually review this course because topics covered are very wildly all over the place and on different levels of knowledge. Correct way to handle this course would be to actually divide this course into two - first two weeks that should be called "Advanced learning" and week 3 and 4, that are more about encouraging people to change their lives. And, I believe, these are two totally different topics...

For anyone that wants to learn how to learn Week 2 is a total and absolute MUST listen. Several times...

Weeks 3 and 4 are only for people that wants to change their work life or/and level of work happiness. Important topic, no doubt about it, but to more limited number of people.

So if you enjoyed "Leaning how to learn" - you'll find Week 1 and 2 very useful. Otherwise check this course only if you consider changing you profession or way of work life.

Oh, and too few videos from Dr. Sejnowski. His videos in "Leaning how to learn" were a great contrast to easy-going and fun videos from Dr. Oakley - and for me it really helped to keep my focus on the MOOC.

por krisli h

Jun 10, 2019

While this course doesn't have as many specific aids to the process of learning new skills, it is excellent at showing why broad lifelong learning is a practice that enhances your life.

por Sa'adat D

Jul 25, 2019

That is really critical with really passionate Mentor.

I really appreciate Course era for providing this really worthy platform.

por JARLINTON M Z

Aug 02, 2019

Good and very informative MOOC

por Anne S M

Aug 02, 2019

This MOOC, introduced me to breaking through obstacles, how to follow and complete a mooc. This was really inspiring, and helped me mindshift to reach my highest potential.

por Louise H

Aug 07, 2019

Amazing to learn more about way