Chevron Left
Voltar para O Contexto Social da Saúde e das Doenças Mentais

Comentários e feedback de alunos de O Contexto Social da Saúde e das Doenças Mentais da instituição Universidade de Toronto

4.6
123 classificações
38 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Learn how social factors promote mental health, influence the onset and course of mental illness, and affect how mental illnesses are diagnosed and treated. This course explores how our understanding of mental health and illness has been influenced by social attitudes and social developments in North America and around the world. The course begins by situating our contemporary mental health practices in historical context, then looks at different aspects of mental health, mental illness and mental health services and their connections to what’s going on in our social environment....

Melhores avaliações

ZC

May 23, 2017

Awesome course by Professor Williams who taught us a lot about how to consider health issues under the social context to explore the interaction between health and social factors.

SB

Feb 21, 2019

It was so structured and meaningfully engaging. Loved every part of it . Thank you Charmaine for bringing this course to coursera. Lots of best wishes to you.

Filtrar por:

26 — 38 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o O Contexto Social da Saúde e das Doenças Mentais

por Zhou C

May 23, 2017

Awesome course by Professor Williams who taught us a lot about how to consider health issues under the social context to explore the interaction between health and social factors.

por Marc S M

Oct 01, 2016

This course brings some great awareness for the full spectrum of mental health with regards to families, individuals, and societies. I would say it's a good course for anyone as we all have connections to ourself and other people with regards to mental health and illness.

por Joy S

Feb 24, 2018

Very caring, personal educator. Thorough course on the subject.

por Oran B

Nov 10, 2016

I am currently in my second year of counselling and I found this course really helpful to understand the social impact of mental health and illness. The course is very informative, with excellent learning resources. I have recommended this course my peers, I am a full-time teacher, as a way of understanding the extended context of our learners.

I thoroughly enjoyed to course and would take any other course taught by Charmaine. Her teaching style and passion for subject knowledge hand me hooked on the course right from the start!

por Sabah W

May 01, 2017

A great course. Charmaine Williams is a fantastic educator who made the learning easy, practical and very useful. The course has enabled me to reflect on my situation with much greater awareness. It has also motivated me to be supportive of families who are experiencing difficulties with mental illness. Very grateful.

por Nicola J

Apr 29, 2019

I found this course very interesting and engaging. It looks at how mental health and illness are socially constructed and how this can lead to stigmatisation and negative outcomes for the person with a mental health condition. The other side of the coin shows how when support networks are in place and when mental disorders are de-stigmatised the outcomes for many people are considerably improved. My thanks to the educator and course organisers for this informative course.

por Jennifer S

Mar 22, 2018

The information and coursework was perfect. The only negative for me was peer grading. The course was well presented and very helpful. The assignments were also very useful and helped to solidify the knowledge presented.

por Farouk H

Apr 02, 2018

The insight gained from the course was amazing. I learnt a lot! Plus the teaching style and course content made the whole difference.

por Mary A S

Mar 06, 2017

V

por DomInique B

Dec 04, 2016

I really like the course, all the information presentent.

I think it can be better if there was some test, because sometimes it gets too easy.

por Kimble P

Jul 18, 2017

This is an excellent course. It is presented in a friendly and competent manner, useful for both Mental Health professionals and the lay person. Only the digital platform glitches and missing management compromised my rating. I use other online courses, and having the discussion forum below each video lesson is more user-friendly, essential towards the promotion of student engagement. The chronic issues of missing or non-functional links belie how awkward fixing the issues students have highlighted and recycling their solutions. These 2 critiques are the only reason I did not give a full 5 stars.

por Jay B S

Jul 30, 2019

Great course for sure. The issue is the grading! Not enough people taking it so I couldn't get my final graded! Had to take a lower grade just to close the course and get my certificate. It ended up fine but they need to figure out a better way to do this going forward.

por Dorothy H

Sep 22, 2017

This course I think would really only be pertinent for people who live and work in Canada or who would want to or are very interested in this subject as it relates to Canada's history and practice.

The name should be: The Social Context of mental Health and Illness in Canada.