Chevron Left
Voltar para Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System da instituição Universidade Duke

4.7
estrelas
511 classificações
94 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Ever wonder how Netflix decides what movies to recommend for you? Or how Amazon recommends books? We can get a feel for how it works by building a simplified recommender of our own! In this capstone, you will show off your problem solving and Java programming skills by creating recommender systems. You will work with data for movies, including ratings, but the principles involved can easily be adapted to books, restaurants, and more. You will write a program to answer questions about the data, including which items should be recommended to a user based on their ratings of several movies. Given input files on users ratings and movie titles, you will be able to: 1. Read in and parse data into lists and maps; 2. Calculate average ratings; 3. Calculate how similar a given rater is to another user based on ratings; and 4. Recommend movies to a given user based on ratings. 5. Display recommended movies for a given user on a webpage....

Melhores avaliações

GW
18 de Fev de 2016

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

JP
2 de Jun de 2020

It’s a great project requiring good application of java. Some steps were hard to follow but understood them after some time. A good project to end a specialisation course. Cheers.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 89 Avaliações para o Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

por GtzL

22 de Set de 2020

I like so much the courses!

por wen c

5 de Set de 2017

very very very good course

por Oscar R

1 de Fev de 2016

Great/Excellent teachers.

por Goodwill T K

29 de Jan de 2020

Needs a lot of work

por ASMITHA B

18 de Jul de 2020

Challenging course

por Abrar H

1 de Jul de 2019

Well paced Course!

por Happi Y

14 de Jul de 2020

Just AWESOME!!

por Matios D

28 de Mar de 2019

Great course.

por Junchao

21 de Fev de 2016

Great course!

por Rudik E

4 de Fev de 2016

It was Great!

por Mohammad H S

29 de Dez de 2020

Great Course

por Iasinovschi B

16 de Nov de 2016

Exceptional!

por Ashaba A D

28 de Dez de 2020

great stuff

por Makiko O

20 de Dez de 2017

Enjoyed it!

por Musa M N

22 de Mai de 2017

Just Good!

por IRFAN M

27 de Set de 2020

Awesome

por Humam H E

10 de Out de 2019

great

por Phạm N T

3 de Nov de 2019

good

por 于泽众

13 de Set de 2017

nice

por Γεώργιος Κ

24 de Mai de 2020

This is definitely a good and useful capstone but a 5-star rating is maybe too much. The main disadvantage of the course is that it has not enough support from students or mentors in the discussion rooms. The second disadvantage is that building continuously on the top of other classes adds complexity to the final project. For one who has finished all 4 previous courses, I definitely recommend that course as a must.

The course should be supported by the creators and further improved because this is one of the best specializations. The concept of it is to guide you from a non-programmer to a junior java developer by focusing on fundamental structures of programming.

por Peter G W

14 de Jan de 2019

This whole series really challenged me but I've learned more from this course than any of my other previous attempts to learn programming. I feel a lot more confident now taking on more challenges in software development. There were some homework problems near the end that could have been explained a little better (sometimes I was overthinking it). I also felt that perhaps instead of BlueJ, I would've liked to use something like Eclipse in order to better understand the main() function. All in all, I would definitely recommend this course for those interested in programming or wanting to learn Java.

por Muhammad F B J

21 de Mai de 2020

It was a good summary of everything that was taught. However due to the long gap from the initial exposure to CSV parsing and html table to now, it was not easy accomplishing the tasks as a lot of external reference was required to solve the problems given. Some of the exercises were phrased sort of ambiguously which made it hard to comprehend

por Md. A

14 de Jul de 2020

The capstone was helpful for learning core software development practices. One can learn interface, abstraction, recommender system implementation and many more from the course. But, some instructions were pretty unclear and specially the peer reviewed assignment submission instruction was vague.

por Shaun R

28 de Mar de 2019

Most everything was good in this course. There were a few things that they didn't explain how to do ever throughout this 5 course program which was frustrating, but other students helped to fill the gaps on that part. Otherwise it was a great course that helped me put all of my knowledge to use.

por Michael B

6 de Mar de 2016

Great conclusion to the courses in this Specialization. I would not recommend it for those already (very) familiar with Java but for those starting out with Java this Capstone is just difficult enough to be challenging yet not too easy.