Chevron Left
Voltar para Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System, Universidade Duke

4.7
291 classificações
53 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Ever wonder how Netflix decides what movies to recommend for you? Or how Amazon recommends books? We can get a feel for how it works by building a simplified recommender of our own! In this capstone, you will show off your problem solving and Java programming skills by creating recommender systems. You will work with data for movies, including ratings, but the principles involved can easily be adapted to books, restaurants, and more. You will write a program to answer questions about the data, including which items should be recommended to a user based on their ratings of several movies. Given input files on users ratings and movie titles, you will be able to: 1. Read in and parse data into lists and maps; 2. Calculate average ratings; 3. Calculate how similar a given rater is to another user based on ratings; and 4. Recommend movies to a given user based on ratings. 5. Display recommended movies for a given user on a webpage....

Melhores avaliações

por GW

Feb 19, 2016

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

por CT

Sep 17, 2018

Challenging, but I feel that I learned a lot about programming. I'm looking forward to the UCSD intermediate programming course.

Filtrar por:

50 avaliações

por

Apr 14, 2019

F*cking coursera did no run correctly which wasted my 60 dollars.

I f*cking enrolled in this course on April 7.

I finished my first week, then it told me that the session starts on Apr. 22 which is exactly the hell day that I should pay for the next month.

I don't understand why I can't access my materials since i 've already pay on Mar.22, and I should be able to access all the course materials.

i am very angry

por Shaun Rizk

Mar 29, 2019

Most everything was good in this course. There were a few things that they didn't explain how to do ever throughout this 5 course program which was frustrating, but other students helped to fill the gaps on that part. Otherwise it was a great course that helped me put all of my knowledge to use.

por Matios Dinegdia

Mar 28, 2019

Great course.

por LAKKOJU NAGA SAI SRI RAVI TEJA

Mar 05, 2019

learnt how to apply java in real time applications

por Guangchen Xiong

Mar 01, 2019

Not enough submissions to review at the end. So not very friendly to self pace learning. Had to wait to review other people's submissions before complete the course, which may waste some time since it's paid by month.

por Eugeny Korobka

Jan 31, 2019

Great course. Somewhat easy relatively to other courses in this specialization.

por Peter Gerard Williams

Jan 14, 2019

This whole series really challenged me but I've learned more from this course than any of my other previous attempts to learn programming. I feel a lot more confident now taking on more challenges in software development. There were some homework problems near the end that could have been explained a little better (sometimes I was overthinking it). I also felt that perhaps instead of BlueJ, I would've liked to use something like Eclipse in order to better understand the main() function. All in all, I would definitely recommend this course for those interested in programming or wanting to learn Java.

por David Hunter

Dec 11, 2018

A great capstone for this specialization. One quibble is with the time estimates: all the reading assignments are marked as taking 10 minutes, which is probably true: just reading and understanding the reading will probably take that long. However, these assignments also task the student with writing code which is impossible to write in 10 minutes. Throughout the specialization, I often took between 1-7 hours to complete a reading/coding assignment. So the time commitment that they advertise is totally out of whack with reality.

That said, the material is mostly well-presented and interesting and the coding practice does give you good experience of what it is like working in Java.

por Chris Taylor

Sep 17, 2018

Challenging, but I feel that I learned a lot about programming. I'm looking forward to the UCSD intermediate programming course.

por Martin Gallauner

Jul 18, 2018

Didn't liked this course. Maybe I excepted more from the idea to build a recommendation system