Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
2,292 classificações
697 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Melhores avaliações

DA
27 de Mai de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR
24 de Mar de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 695 Avaliações para o Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Tintu M

9 de Fev de 2017

Excellent. A load of new things to know. Helps a lot to understand the diversity and the way of life of people who are ancient and also most intelligent.

por Doug M

9 de Fev de 2021

great course. the only thing that would have helped me was an occasional timeline graphic of the various kingdoms and pharaohs referred to in the text.

por Fan C

19 de Set de 2019

This course is really a good introduction to Ancient Egypt. I learn a lot of general information about Ancient Egypt and additional interesting topics.

por Shuaib I

23 de Abr de 2017

Touching on chronology , kingship , mythology , mummies and pyramids while informing and amazing this has been one of the most enjoyable courses ever .

por Arianna B

8 de Jun de 2020

Taking this course has reminded me of why I love history. Ancient Egypt gave me a passion for history, this course has reminded me of that. Thank you.

por Caitlin O

24 de Mar de 2019

Fantastic course! Absolutely loved it and it was very easy to follow. I learnt a lot and it has increased my desire to learn more about Ancient Egypt.

por Roxana P

4 de Abr de 2021

Dr Silverman explains everything in a quiet calm voice and the explanations are very interesting. I home to’ take another corse. Thank you very much

por Yuthika

10 de Ago de 2020

Every topic related to ancient Egypt has been covered.Everything which i wanted to know about its civilization and ancient god of Egypt learnt here.

por Rafel V L

9 de Jun de 2020

Very interesting introduction to the Ancient Egypt, It was a wonderful way to learn about the pharaohs and others important things of Ancient Egypt.

por Erin L

25 de Fev de 2017

A quick but thorough introduction to Ancient Egypt, with the added bonus of serving as an introduction to the Penn Museum's Ancient Egypt collection

por Christina P

12 de Dez de 2016

I am inspired to travel to visit Penn Museum. I hope to soon. Thank you for the course, I would take more in this field in the future if offered.

por Tertius d J

18 de Mar de 2020

I do have now a better, complete, chronicle view on Ancient Egypt and wish I could have this knowledge before our family visit in Egypt in 2005.

por Brittany S

21 de Jun de 2017

I enjoyed this class, the last videos about the mummification process were particularly interesting and really humanized this ancient culture.

por Katharina R

7 de Out de 2020

I enjoyed the course a lot. It gave me a structured introduction and I learned new aspects of ancient Egyptian history I did not know before.

por Janet B

20 de Nov de 2019

Was an easy to follow format. Learned a lot and reviewed some material. Would love to go to the Univ, of Penn to see their Egyptian exhibit.

por katrina h à c

16 de Jan de 2017

i really enjoyed this course and learnt a lot. having the lectures inside the museum was great. i also really enjoyed the session in the lab.

por Angshool D

5 de Jul de 2020

I loved the course. Something new I got to learn.The professor was very good and explained everything properly.Overall I enjoyed very much .

por Offir b

7 de Abr de 2020

Very interesting happening, enriching general treasure, expanding knowledge of the history of ancient Egypt, and very interesting, thank you

por Mathieu R

11 de Dez de 2016

This course was very interesting. I feel very lucky to get this opportunity to understand more some of the old Egypt mysteries. Thank you !

por Maria

11 de Dez de 2016

Thank you for that course, I was really waiting for it to appear in Coursera. A lot of new information, looking forward to the next course!

por Victor F S O C

27 de Set de 2021

Hi! I just wanted to say I am really grateful for this course, I was totally amazed I totally loved it and I just wanted to say thank you!

por Anne E

9 de Out de 2017

Excellent diversion from contemporary ordeals and a joy to consider how much our society shares in common with ancient Egypt.

Thanks much!

por Cristina M

30 de Abr de 2017

I really enjoyed this course and I will miss Dr SIlverman's voice. This course made me eaer to kearn more about Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

por Mounisha M

1 de Ago de 2019

It's a great course I have completed. I have the answers of many of my questions about the Egyptian civilization. Thanks a lot coursera.