Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
994 classificações
290 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Melhores avaliações

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

GP

Mar 21, 2018

Learned more then I could have wished for, this is the best course I have had on Ancient Egypt. Thank you Professor David P. Silverman, you made this class very interesting.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Simone L

May 13, 2019

A good course, marred only by occasional poor quiz questions. Problem questions were either ambiguous or, more often than not, referred to material from previous weeks or not in the course at all. Independent research was then necessary to be confident of a correct answer at first attempt. Most problems seem likely due to course editing and subsequent loss of internal referential integrity.

por Gorret F

Jun 24, 2019

Un cours intéressant parfois un peu dense

por Matias P

Jun 21, 2019

Nice! :)

por Catherine F

Jun 16, 2019

Interesting.

por Басов М Ю

Jun 12, 2019

Perfect and interesting! I'll pass it again!

por Krystyna S

Jun 07, 2019

Loved this course! There is loads of information, very detailed and well paced delivery.

por paulina l

Jun 02, 2019

Es un curso muy completo para comprender y conocer el antiguo Egipto. Tanto los videos, como las lecturas complemenatarias, así como el poder hacer notas son de utilidad para resumir la información y poder contestar las preguntas que se hacen al final de cada módulo.

por ana c

May 31, 2019

Un curso fascinante,interesante y muy bien presentado para todos los amantes del Antiguo Egipto.Me encantó

por Alpana R

May 24, 2019

Week 2 ----History and Chronology Quiz is very tough. But the later onces are good enough. I have learnt a lot with this course. It fulfills my dream.

por

May 20, 2019

Mr. Silverman is such a good teacher and charismatic! Also bought his book, i highly recommend!

por Shriya M

May 18, 2019

Amazing course i learnt a lot about egyptian history. Dr Silverman lectures were very interesting and informative,

por Jerry P

May 17, 2019

Bought both course and optional book. Enjoyed the course with some reservations as noted herein and conclude that the book is better by far. I am glad to have it as a resource while I am dabbling in Egyptology these days. Finished the course in less than a week.

It should be noted that, for the most part, this is a series of short 2-6 minute lectures delivered in "talking head" style with what has been called "negative stage presence" doing "stand and deliver" lectures read from a prompter of some kind. There is a good attempt at production quality in the video lectures.

The least enjoyable part are the accompanying lecture notes presented as ".txt" files filled with grammar, syntax and typo errors. Printed them out and read them all. "Ray" is not the spelling of either Re or Ra but it's in there. These need a complete proofreading.

The quizzes are problematic at times. I will mention only the quiz at the end of "Mummies and Mummification:" where there is a question regarding how the heart was handled during the mummification process. From the lecture and the lecture notes: "It was either left in place or removed, mummified, and then replaced in the body." This means it is an either/or but only one of these will be marked correct. I would like my quiz corrected.

Overall, I got what I came for - a fairly comprehensive overview and introduction to ancient Egypt and Its Civilization. I learned new facts, gained new insights and picked up some heretofore unknown subtleties. I enjoyed it but had to work through some unnecessary pedagogy. Glad I did it. Took about 10 hours as advertised. Evidently there is a follow up course but I will not be going forward with it. I appreciated this introductory course for what it is.

por Amy F

May 15, 2019

Was wonderful. Instructor is very knowledgeable and this was great beginner's learning. Recommend.

por Vojtěch K

May 15, 2019

A great introduction into the Ancient Egypt! You get to know the basics about pyramids, mummies, gods, and life in then-Egypt.

por Kelly G

May 14, 2019

Excellent course to introduce the Ancient Egyptian civilization.

por RESSE B

May 07, 2019

Great cours, learn a lot in it. Bacis about Acient Egypt Civilization, history, deities, writing systems etc.... Thanks Pr. Silverman.

por Enrique U U

May 04, 2019

It's been a very interesting course, quick and easy to follow.

por Muhammad R R

Apr 30, 2019

Very impresive and well informative course.

por EL B M

Apr 27, 2019

NICE

por Lillianne d H G

Apr 25, 2019

An interesting course very well organised and led by professor David P. Silverman. I highly recommend it.

por Emily H

Apr 19, 2019

Enjoyed thoroughly! Thank you Dr. Silverman.

por Joyce U

Apr 14, 2019

I'm learning so much.

por Thom T

Apr 11, 2019

While the subject matter is very interesting I don't think it was told well or in an exciting way.

por Peta A

Apr 09, 2019

Thank you 🙏

Most enjoyable course, well presented and the material was A1.

por Eline

Apr 06, 2019

I've loved this entire course but have noticed that on the English subtitles not every name matches what's been said by Silverman. Other than that it's been a fun ride and I'd definitely recommend this course.