Chevron Left
Voltar para Indigenous Canada

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Indigenous Canada da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.8
estrelas
14,218 classificações
5,380 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Melhores avaliações

JB
10 de Out de 2021

This is a must for anyone, non-indigenous to Indigenous to complete. Should also be a part of the process to become a Canadian citizen. Very well done. I thank you for opening my eyes, mind and heart.

LH
29 de Jun de 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course in the the way it is presented and the information given. It expanded my knowledge and insights of indigenous history, culture, and knowledge, as well as so much more.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 5,581 Avaliações para o Indigenous Canada

por Scott R

4 de Jan de 2021

Really enjoyed this course. It explored a range of topics that I knew very little about, many of which should be included in basic school curriculums in Canada. I'm so happy to have gained a better understanding of indigenous people in Canada, both in historical context and contemporary issues. Thanks so much.

One perspective I felt could have been included in the course was the integral role of indigenous peoples in Canadian resource development and extraction. Despite many challenges, there have also been many success stories, particularly in the mining industry, in the form of collaboration agreements, aboriginal employment opportunities (often in isolated northern communities with high unemployment) and successful consultation/collaboration. Many mining projects have been beneficial to both indigenous communities and the Canadian economy as a whole, and I believe those success stories should be told as a "path forward" for all Canadians working in a resource-driven economy.

por Ryan B

10 de Fev de 2021

This is and edit on my previous review (hopefully this is better) and pardon my terrible grammar .

I'm still a little late on this review in general since finishing this course. What do I say as someone who needed to learn more? I think I had to take it all in and truly think about it.

I thought because I had worked in a field where I worked with indigenous youth before that I had a decent idea about the dynamics of a culture that has been undermined. No I did not. I realized I had been ignorant at times. I think its something some people need to start acknowledging more about their privileged life. Many of us can be so much better.

Any "Canadian" should learn this course . Its so difficult to type anything about a whole course in a few sentences. If you're interested in learning and have an open mind.... which apparently is still needed... then take this course.

I'm going to be better, and I think we can all do that. Seems indigenous people knew that right from the start.

por Jan

1 de Mai de 2020

I loved this course. I learned so much about Inidgenous history both past and recent and ongoing. I have a much better sense of the impact that colonialism had and is still having on Indigenous peoples . I also realize how my education in the Canadian education system is so onesideed so heavily influenced by colonialism . I know sadly that it has not changed very much ..This course should be a mandatory part of our current curriculum in schools across Canada,

I am so grateful for the all the participants in the lectures especially Billy Ray Belcourt , what a speaker!!!!!!!

I am so grateful for this clearer understanding of the Indigenous experience throughout Canadian history and what is still ongoing today. About Inidgenous Ar tI do have to say that I have always seen it as art. I have loved Inuit sculpture since I was a kid . I have read several Indigenous authors listened to Indigenous music just because, but I will understand more the place where it comes from within now.

por Jean-Francois P

9 de Nov de 2020

Today I completed this program, and throughout each module, I was totally involved and learned so much about Indigenous cultures in Canada. To my total disappointment, I realized during the first few modules that our Federal and Provincial Governments and the educational system have lied and hidden so much from us, and I would even say purposely misinformed Canadians and the world about the abuse and the horrible treatments of Indigenous people.

I would suggest that this program be mandatory in all schools across the country from grade 4 or 5 up to grade 12 to properly educate and inform the young generations before their probably already racist entourage wrongly indoctrinates them.

Thank you to all who participated in researching, preparing, and delivering this seminal program that sheds an accurate perspective on Indigenous populations from 1534 to today.

Thank you to the three hosts for a wonderful experience. I am now a more aware, knowledgeable and thankful person.

por Sylvie B

18 de Mar de 2021

Très intéressant. Ce cours m'a aidé à mettre ensemble plusieurs pièces du casse-tête et m'a permis d'approfondir mes connaissances sur les peuples autochtones au-delà des préjugés et des stéréotypes véhiculés par la société. J'ai aimé être exposée à l’histoire, la culture, la philosophie, l'art, les valeurs et l'éducation des peuples autochtones d'un point de vue autochtone. Je comprends mieux l’impact de la colonisation sur la population des premières nations et comment le racisme systémique continue à créer des préjudices. Face à la crise climatique à laquelle nous sommes tous confrontés, nous aurions beaucoup d’enseignements à tirer de la sagesse transmise par la parole des aîné-e-s. Je recommande ce cours à tous, et en particulier aux canadiens et canadiennes ne serait-ce que par devoir et respect envers les premiers habitants de notre terre d’accueil. La parole autochtone est pour moi une force émergente qui ne peut qu’enrichir nos vies si on y prête oreille.

por Lyn P

11 de Jun de 2021

I thought I knew much about Indigenous Canada. The Treaties section was and eye-opener and mind blowing as to how the Canadian Government are still have control and suppresses the people with the creations of various Laws, Acts and other roadblocks so they remain dependant on them.

The entire course was very informative. It should be a recommendations for high school students. There are to many negative images of the Indigenous Peoples so it would be wonderful if Newcomers to Turtle Island should have to learn about Canada an then when they take their Canadian Citizenship test their should be questions on the country and peoples they choose to become citizens. Being an Indigenous person that is non-Canadian, I can identify with the stereotypes and negative lenses we are viewed.

I got sick after completing Week 9, but I was happy that I was able to extend my completion date. Highly recommend the course to anyone wanting to learn about Canada Indigenous History.

por Jason G

9 de Set de 2020

As someone who grew up, denied of his heritage and culture. I am grateful for this course, it's knowledge, understanding and inspiration. The lesson on art and it's ability to raise awareness, understanding, while inspiring, touched my soul and encouraged me even more to continue with my public art sculpture, The Missing Rose. The Missing Rose, funded through the Original Peoples Investment Program by Calgary Arts Development and the City of Calgary. Is a contemporary metal sculpture of 11 enlarged polished steel roses, set in a broken heart shaped vase, centered on a Medicine Wheel base. 11 Roses as one is missing to honor and commemorate our lost sisters. This project is focused on raising awareness and donations, while honoring and commemorating the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls of Canada. Thank you Tracy Bear, Alannah Mandamin-Shawanda, Isaac Twinn and everyone involved in making this course possible. All my Relations,

Jason Gordon

por Doug O

30 de Jun de 2020

Very well-delivered and presented. The trio of educators worked well together, each delivering a distinct style of teaching. I was frequently shocked (and saddened) to realize the misinterpretations of Indigenous history that I was exposed to during my secondary and post-secondary education. The selectivity with which our textbooks and teaching materials were produced years ago. And the biases that we non-Indigenous were and often continue to be exposed to. Excellent balance of video, quizzes, interactive art and reading. (There were a few hiccups with the transcription of the interviews and lectures as some speakers words were transcribed inaccurately so their spoken words were contradicted by the transcription notes. I found this in the last third of the course. THUMBS UP for the variety of interviewee subjects and experts. I highly recommend this course, especially to anyone in media or communications and, of course, for educators. Many thanks.

por David M W

16 de Nov de 2020

It is very difficult to offer a course that tries to cover the breadth of material that this course covers and to present it to people with a wide range of learning backgrounds, but I was very impressed with how good the course was. Overall, it was excellent and I would highly recommend it to others. If there was one thing I would have liked to have seen more about in the course it would be the historical relationship between Indigenous people and European settlers in the Maritimes (and southern Ontario and Quebec) prior to 1850. In that time period much of the focus of the course was on the fur trade and areas in the western and northern parts of Canada. It was mentioned that relationships changed in the west after 1850 when farming and more permanent communities were established, but there was not much about how the permanent settler communities of the east (and lack of fur trade in that region) defined Indigenous / settler relationships.

por Gervin A A

23 de Mar de 2021

This is an interesting and very insightful course on Indigenous issues in Canada. I have learned a lot about how Indigenous peoples have been marginalized and discriminated against on their own land. I have also learned and gained knowledge about the history, culture and traditions of Indigenous people. Although settles have tried in diverse ways to change the culture and traditions of the people, they are not yielding to settle pressure and oppression but findings ways and means to maintain and conserve their traditions and cultures through social movements and activism. It is my pleasure signing up for this course and I give credit to the organizers for organizing this course for people to learn about Indigenous people's issues, especially the discrimination, subordination and marginalization they experiencing. I will recommend this course to anyone interested in studying and understanding Indigenous issues in Canada.

por Monique N

1 de Abr de 2021

This course is excellent, moving, and inspiring. I have studied the colonial history of Canada and the experiences of Indigenous Peoples in Canada before, however taking this course has reminded me and inspired me to continue learning and engaging with this history and these experiences. I am currently working on a second Masters and I am preparing a paper on intergenerational trauma and the ongoing impact of colonialism in Canada. As I write this paper, I will remember the many ways that this course has demonstrated Indigenous voice and agency and strength. It is not just about understanding the devastating impacts of ongoing colonial patterns and practices, but also seeing the strength and empowerment and leadership of Indigenous Peoples. I agree with the TRC report recommendations that non-Indigenous Canadians have an accountability to learn about our colonial past, not to passively wait for someone to teach us.

por Mary M

11 de Abr de 2021

This was an excellent, well-paced and engagingly delivered course. As a non-Canadian, but an anthropologist long interested in indigenous peoples, I found it very informative and logically organised. It is also to be commended for its thought provoking treatment of understanding wider issues of colonisation, patriarchy, racism, genocide, extractive exploitative economics, ecosystem degradation, and respect for different ways of knowing and world views, all so much needed by all peoples everywhere. I liked the combination of delivered lectures, art narratives, testimonials and videos. The notes will be very useful for further exploration of issues, events, places and people in more depth. I am grateful for this being made available free, and for the professionalism, commitment and authenticity of the three presenters, and the indigenous artist who "accompanied" the student at every lesson. Thank you all so much.

por Gail M

4 de Dez de 2020

I was glad to have had the opportunity to take this course. History texts,books need to be corrected and this course would be very useful for Grade 7, 8 and above. With regards to a specific ongoing battle out in the East Coast between the Miqmaq and the commercial fishermen - I am thinking that anyone who applies for a commercial liscence re fishing, hunting, logging, and any kind of resource extraction should HAVE to take a similiar kind of course as part of the liscensing process BEFORE they get their liscence. Hopefully something like this might deter events escalating to the point that they have out East. Gchii-miigwetch to all the intsructors, elders, artists and others who contributed to this course. I quickly caught the word indoctrination in one review and yeah if you have to see it that way - it might seem to be the only way to correct and move forward from the harm done by colonization.

por Karena M

19 de Abr de 2021

I'm so thankful for this excellent course. Since about 13 yrs old, I had a sneaking suspicion that there was WAY MORE to the history of Canada - that it really wasn't mainly about Christopher Columbus. Well, now we have a much better and clearer and realistic picture of what really happened. Thank you to the whole team at U of Alberta, your faculty and all the people who helped put this course together. I shall spread the word to encourage others to take this course. I've gotta say, having Dan Levy suggest it put a lot of wind in the sail - which is sometimes what is needed. I also enjoy the APTN tv station which has been discussing some of the topics I have learned about - getting more informed is pretty well a responsibility, wherever you live. And we happen to live in Canada, so...... Thanks again and wishing you the best of luck, courage and continued determination and successes going forward.

por Cindy L

31 de Ago de 2020

This was a wonderful course in that it was an honest look at the history of indigenous experiences. What I was really hoping for was a more in depth look at how indigenous and settlers coming west truly interacted with each other on a more personal level. Unfortunately there exists the "us" bs " them" mentality and until that goes we will always have this discourse. I was very happy to see the inclusion of the struggle of indigenous woman who married non-indigenous. I have two uncles who married indigenous woman when they came back from WW2. And the abuse and discrimination WE ALL faced because of that was staggering. And it came from both indigenous and non-indigenous. For people not well versed in history this course will be outstanding for them in that it will present an honest and compelling look into a part of this country's beginning. Thank you faculty for a wonderful and pleasurable journey!!

por Adrienne A

11 de Nov de 2020

I am so thankful to have heard about this course before it started and to have had the opportunity to learn alongside everyone. The Sunday live chats with Dan, the faculty members and guests were so inspiring and eye opening. I really appreciated being able to dive deeper into the content of the course through these conversations. I grew up in Winnipeg and was embarrassed at how little I knew about indigenous history and culture after living so long amongst the largest indigenous urban population in the country. I am beyond thankful for this opportunity to learn about things that I feel we should’ve learned in grade school. This has kickstarted my learning journey and I will definitely be pursuing more knowledge about our indigenous history and culture which helps me to better understand current events and enables me to be a better ally.thank you to everyone who helped bring this course to so many!

por Alejandra G

26 de Mar de 2021

Indigenous Canada has been a wonderful journey of relearning and expanding the knowledge of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples. I am grateful for the facilitators, they do a great job relating a shameful and painful history and they come alive engaging and provoking the learners when it comes to relate the history of resistance and resilience, the beauty, and the hope that Indigenous ways of seen the world have to offer. Today, that message is even more powerful as we need to look for alternative and better ways to be in this world. I wish I could take a part II of this amazing course, with humbleness I will endeavor to continue the personal journey; making sure my children get educated from Indigenous Canada's perspective, and incorporating the learnings and looking for ways to reciprocate and speak up against racism and oppression against Indigenous people everywhere I can. Thank you!

por Steve S

30 de Mar de 2021

This course should be mandatory for every high school student in Canada... pass it, or no diploma. Of course, for those of us long past our high school years, it should be a priority for all of us to immerse ourselves. New Canadians should also be required complete the course. How can we understand Canada without understanding the indigenous story, and the colonial past as it has been carried into the present? I was intrigued by so much of the information, angered by what was has been done to the indigenous people, and I now have a much more profound understanding of the issues still with us today, and still to be resolved, and each of our responsibility to do so.

I also learned how extraordinary and diverse the indigenous peoples are in Canada. It's most certainly time to finally live together as equals.

Thank-you for an exceptional experience, and making it freely available to all.

por Terrena P

11 de Jul de 2021

The recent discoveries of unmarked graves at the sites of former residential schools compelled me to learn more about the strifes of the Indigenous peoples of Canada. Their trials and tribulations and the theft of not only their land but their way of life, language and culture was extremely eye opening to me. My husband and son are both of Mi'kmaq descent and I have learned recently that I may be of Metis descent, but even without those Indigenous connections, I feel an empathy with all Indigenous people and the hardships they endured and continue to endure today. I stand with all Indigenous people and hope to see one day that they are given the proper respect and return of all that was taken from them. This course is one all Canadians should take to truly understand the past and how it has affected the present and will continue to affect the future for generations to come. Wela'lin

por Catherine K

11 de Set de 2020

The course was in-depth and challenging. There were many facts, concepts, and histories which were complex, interrelated, and ongoing. Many subjects I only knew about superficially. These were described thoroughly and in a way which Helped me acknowledge that there is much I still need to learn about Indigenous Canadian people’s, their heritage and histories, and the ongoing colonization experience. It was especially helpful to hear about the Land and the Indigenous connection to it. It is a far more intricate connection then my own thoughts, and history with, “land”. I was pleasantly surprised to see a reference to “Mariano Aupilarjuk”. I have worked with his grandson (In Nunavut) and recently sent him a USB with over 40 drum dance songs on it. I am hoping the voice of his grandfather is on one of the songs. The songs were shared with me by a traditional singer in another NU community.

por Mathieu L

8 de Nov de 2020

Despite not being Canadian nor even from Turtle Island, I have always been interested in (appalled by ?) the situation of the indigenous peoples of northern America. Living in Europe, I have had access to a copious and varied amount of information and books about indigenous peoples of the USA, but very little is available in France about Canada, which is shocking , considering that the French were once the main colonial force in the continent. I heard about this course through Canadian writer/actor Daniel levy, and I have been absolutely thrilled by it. It's rich, easy to access despite the difficulties of english as a second language, and informative. I've had a whale of a time studying Indigenous Canada with coursera, and I hope to continue this process of educating myself on these fundamental issues, that affect us all worldwide. Thank you for this terrific opportunity

por Elizabeth B

12 de Mar de 2021

This course provided an excellent overview of Indigenous history, culture, people and land. It explored a number of topics in depth, and did not shy away from explaining how settlers tried to eradicate many elements of Indigenous culture. The module on residential schools was particularly difficult to go through, but extremely important to be aware of. In every module I learned something new (often many things) and feel I have a greater understanding of the concepts and issues than I did before taking this course. I think this should be a mandatory course that every Canadian takes. Our Canadian educational curriculum does not cover even a fraction of what was presented during this course, and presents a very one-sided view of Indigenous Canada; this course rectifies that and brings light to many important parts of history that has been swept under the rug for too long.

por Sukhjit S

16 de Nov de 2020

This course was an eye-opener. I am so glad that a social media link directed me to the link and I ended up enrolling in this course. While I was studying the chapters, watching the videos, and finishing my final quiz for each chapter, I felt that this course should be mandated for every Canadian. Most importantly, this course should be part of the Canadian Citizenship Test. Most of us who chose to live in this beautiful country would not be knowing the real history of Canada without such courses. It is very limited availability on this subject matter. The way this course was planned and delivered, was an incredible experience for me. Today, I finished the course and really feeling proud to know a little bit more about Canadian history and the lives of those who were originally the owners of this wonderful land. Thank you to those who made this course so engaging.

por Karl P

15 de Dez de 2020

This course was enlightening. Each module was fascinating, informative and it opened up not only my eyes but my mind. I now have a whole different perspective on what I thought was our Canadian history. I can definitely state the education I received both in high school and post secondary did not reveal the whole picture on the many important events, happenings, and special moments that shaped our Canadian history as this course did. I am appalled at the treatment received by Aboriginal peoples at the hands of the First Settlers and the continuation of this mistreatment even to the present day. I have a brand new outlook and I will incorporate this new knowledge into my everyday life. Thank you for the great work that went into the development of this course. I hope many more will partake in this course and develop a better understanding of our history.

por Roland K

15 de Fev de 2021

This was a very enlightening course. I already knew some - not all - of the history, but little of the cultural background. One of my favourite modules was the last one, about Indigenous art. I previously knew so little about today's Indigenous artists! My only criticism - a mild one - is that insofar as the course deals with colonial powers that have interacted with Indigenous people, the focus is almost exclusively on England rather than France (and where French names occur in the videos, they are often mispronounced). Some of the relevant history is not understandable without a bit more emphasis on the "French fact" - which played a crucial role, for instance, in the genesis of the Métis people. If the course is ever updated, I suggest that an extra module be added to cover this aspect - ideally, with the involvement of a francophone Indigenous historian.