Chevron Left
Voltar para Indigenous Canada

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Indigenous Canada da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.8
estrelas
14,154 classificações
5,355 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Melhores avaliações

VK
23 de Fev de 2021

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

GC
13 de Out de 2021

This was one of the best online courses I have taken. It was well written, great material related to my own personal development and gave me a better understanding of the Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 5,548 Avaliações para o Indigenous Canada

por Laurie G

12 de Ago de 2021

I​ found this course to be very informative, eye-opening and thought provoking. It has certainly helped me to have a much better understanding of the many challenges faced by Indigenous people today and why such challenges continue to exit (intergenerational trauma, government policies and an un-informed public etc.). I personally feel a course such as this should be taught in all schools, starting in junior high and expanded upon my understanding of ondigenous people was based on the colonial interpretation, which would be the case for many. I applaud the work that would have gone into creating such a course and am thankful for the opportunity to learn about Indigenous people from their own lens. Time well spent and I will be sharing this course and how to access within my own group of freinds and family. Thank you

por Norma L

22 de Fev de 2021

The lectures were clear, accessible, varied and allowed me the time I needed to review and think about the material they contained. I loved looking at Leah Dorion's art works and seeing the visual images that accompanied the lectures. I enjoyed listening to all the speakers and being able to follow along with the transcripts if I felt I wanted to do so. I also enjoyed the invitation to view Indigenous artworks outside the frame of this course, which I was able to do because the course provided some key names. This was a disturbing and stimulating course, a perfect introduction to important current affairs. The past cannot be changed, but we are able to make responsible and accountable choices in the present in the hope we contribute to a better future for everyone. Thank you for offering this course.

por Andrea E

7 de Set de 2020

What a fabulous way to educate Canadians in a collaborative, empathetic and compassion way. Thank you to all of the contributors, academics and visionaries who saw this course through to its completion. As a non-Indigenous elementary school educator, this course gave me that very important ´next step' that I have been looking for the past 3 years. I work alongside the Gord Downie and Chanie Wenjack Fund and with several community groups in The Dish With One Spoon, so becoming better educated in our shared (and tumultuous!) history is of utmost importance back in the classroom and at home with my own young children. I highly recommend the resources available in this course to all Canadians, and hope to rely on this experience moving forward in my own journey to Reconciliation. Miigwech. Andrea Eby

por Angela F

28 de Ago de 2021

I am so grateful for this course. I feel appalled and ashamed about the education that the Canadian catholic school system of the 80's saw fit to NOT provide me. Like many others have commented, I feel like I was vaguely aware of various parts of this history, but certainly not with a true understanding. I relish the opportunity to better inform my own children and, though deeply saddened by so much of what I've learned here, I remain hopeful for real, meaningful, lasting change for Canada's future. Every Canadian should have this information so our history can be accurately told.

por Sarah S

27 de Set de 2021

Thank you for providing me with such an eye-opening foundation to understanding indigenous worldviews, history, communities and how they interacted with Canadian settlers from first contact to modern times. This course from an indigenous perspective should be essential learning in our school curriculum. I highly recommend this course to anyone sincerely interested in learning about the richness of indigenous cultures and experience, from the fur trade and land treaties, to residential school trauma and environmental activism to art.

por Darlene W

27 de Ago de 2021

I have learned so very much. I've learned about colonialism, indigenous worldviews and their connection and respect for mother earth, the importance of storytelling and artwork, how important the past is to the future, respect for others, cultures and land to name a few. By offering this course to everyone for free will hopefully change what is taught for Canadian History because it's been taught incorrectly for much too long. Thank you to everyone :)

por Scott H

28 de Ago de 2021

I felt the content of this course was a great introduction to learning about the Indigenous people of Canada, the material was delivered in an easy to follow manner and made it easy to absorb. I enjoyed this course quite a bit and being able to do it on my own time was really beneficial to me being able to retain the information I was learning.

por Camille R

27 de Ago de 2021

​Covers many important topics very well. Represents the true seriousness of Indigenous history in Canada. As First Nations myself, I learned so much more from this course that I have never learned before. This was enlightening, informative, and a great source of valuable information.

por Stacey W

27 de Ago de 2021

Excellent course. Loved the freedom to explore the lectures at times where it fit in my schedule. Learned a lot of information that was never included in our previous schooling about Indigenous People. Thank you for the opportunity to learn more and understand.

por Alexandre H

28 de Set de 2021

Very informative for a starter to learn and understand more about indigenous peoples of Canada. I thank you very much for making it available, I spent 12 fantastic hours! Special thanks to the narrators and the artist whose art was very moving and beautiful.

por Lorna R

26 de Ago de 2021

Excellent course. Well presented. Very informative. I learned a lot about the Indigenous people, in which I was very ignorant about. This course should be taught to all elementary students in schools across Canada.

por Elizabeth A H

26 de Ago de 2021

I thought the c​ourse was fantastic! I really enjoyed the information and format for the course and found the lessons full of interesting facts. The only issue I had was in getting the certificate after.

por Andrea K

28 de Ago de 2021

This course was the information I wish I had learned in grade school. As an allied, I look forward to looking into other courses. I feel the faculty did a fabulous job with this introductory course.

por Thérèse S

27 de Ago de 2021

An excellent course. A few tech glitches such as questions during videos popping up before the item was discussed. But it was an informative and engaging introduction to Indigenous Canada.

por Garry B

27 de Ago de 2021

Wow! I did not know what I did not know. This course is a great introduction to the tip of a very important knowledge iceberg. Please find the time to take this course.

por Jordan L

28 de Ago de 2021

This was a very comprehensive course and I am grateful for the opportunity for UofA to provide this free through Coursera. Thank you for this!

por Sharonlee L

27 de Ago de 2021

This course was an excellent eye opener to the history and how we can make a better future. Thank you for the opportunity to learn at no cost

por Stephanie C

27 de Set de 2021

This course was great and the structure of it really allowed me to study when time permitted. I would highly recommend this course.

por Alex I

27 de Ago de 2021

A fantastic overview course packed with knowledge that frankly should be delivered to all Canadians in Grade school/ High School.

por Gord W

27 de Ago de 2021

This course is the history they should be teaching in high schools in Canada. Fascinating and thought provoking.

por Côté M

27 de Set de 2021

This course helped me a lot to understand Indigenous people and theirs claims. You did a great job.

por Wendy B

27 de Ago de 2021

I am both humbled and honoured to have taken this course, thank you for the opportunity!

por Stephanie D

26 de Ago de 2021

This was a very informative course and should be part of all Canadian History B.A.

por Jay P

27 de Ago de 2021

An Excellent course!! I've learned a lot.

por Kelly K

28 de Ago de 2021

A​ll Canadians should take this course.