Chevron Left
Voltar para Indigenous Canada

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Indigenous Canada da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.8
estrelas
14,309 classificações
5,414 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Melhores avaliações

JS
21 de Out de 2020

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

EG
27 de Mai de 2021

Very well done! Thank you for allowing me to learn more about your history & culture. Being from Ireland and relatively new to Canada I wanted to know more about the beginnings of Canada as a country.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 5,611 Avaliações para o Indigenous Canada

por Katie W

11 de Out de 2020

From the worldview lesson at the outset to the powerful lesson on Indigenous Canadian art at the close, this course informed and surprised. It was difficult to learn the history, and infuriating to realize I grew up being told a skewed colonial story. In particular, the chapters on urban Indigenous communities and Indigenous women broadened my understanding of the pervasiveness and danger of stereotypes and patriarchal practices. Thank you to Dr. Bear, the presenters, and all who worked to assemble and present this course.

I have a single suggestion for improvement. I liked the music used as background for many of the videos, but it never changed. One track in particular consisted of two alternating pitches and a repetitive drumbeat. It was extraordinarily distracting, and I could find no way to silence the background music and listen to the lecturer alone.

por Donnalu C

14 de Out de 2020

How different would our Canada, our world, be if instead of trying to assimilate the indigenous peoples we had explored, embraced and adopted their view on Mother Earth and our relationship to our land and to community? I personally find in current times, many of us so unsatisfied, so disillusioned with hectic schedules and constant stress when really we are just completely disconnected from Mother Nature and respect for our environment and each other. This course amplifies the price, the darkness of colonization, capitalism and total disregard for what should be sacred. Too much has been lost, too many lives lost in horrific ways and Canadians need to recognise this truth and hope the Indigenous ways can still help save us all. Thank you to Tracy Bear, her team and Leah Dorion for educating us with skill, knowledge, honesty, strength and sensitivity.

por Robert J L

2 de Out de 2020

I found the course to be an excellent beginning to understanding the Indigenous issues in Canada. I grew up in Port Arthur during the 40's and 50's. I knew, vaguely, about the Reserves around Fort William and Lake Nipigon, but I don't think I ever met or interacted with an Indigenous person.

Not once in those years was I ever exposed to information that would help me appreciate the people on reserves, or the issues that lead to how they arrived there. I hope that some of that mistake are being better addressed now in our schools.

When I worked as a teacher in North Bay, I had Indigenous students in a few of my classes, most from the North Bay and a few from the North. Most were excellent people, One became a prominent lawyer in the Maritimes. The very few that were "problems" where problems because of their personalities and actions, not their indigeneity.

por Gabrielle D

5 de Jul de 2017

In June 2017, I was extermely lucky to visit Mashteuiatsh, a First Nations reserve in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region of Quebec, Canada. It was a life-changing experience and upon my return to San Francisco, CA I came across this course. I really wanted to understand more and this course has met my expectations beyond my wildest dreams. It's very well done, both intellectually challenging and emotionally powerful. I look forward every week to the new content. I would recommend it to anybody who lives in the Americas and like me is Caucasian and "had no idea". There is another reason why I really enjoy this course : I have been many times to Canada and some of my best friends are Canadians. This course is an excellent introduction to the history of their country. As a conclusion, this is one of the most interesting classes I have ever taken on line.

por Janet S

31 de Dez de 2020

The course, "Indigenous Canada," offered to me an awareness of the dignity of the First Nations peoples. Living in Hawaii I realize many parallels between the Canadian Indigenous history and culture to the aboriginal Hawaiians. Also I connected to my ancestry as a Flanders who ancestress was Jane Flanders. The book, "The Flanders Family From Europe to America" by Edith Flanders Dunbar states Jane was an Indian woman who belonged to the Sandusky Tribe. She was taken into court for using vile words to colonial Puritans. The topics that Dr. Bear and Dr. Gareau included gave perspectives from historical indigenous Canada to modern day indigenous Canada. Leah Dorion's beautiful artwork was a perfect complement in telling this story. Listening to Leah explain the topics in the painting was a true joy. Thank you to all involved in presenting this course.

por Edward B

21 de Out de 2020

As a 68 y/o white male from the U. S., this course was eye opening and very educational. While the course focused on Canada and the Indigenous/First Nation issues, I felt it also mirrored the struggles and unfairness that First Nation Peoples in the U. S. face and still face today. I'm new, sad to say, to the conversation about injustice within the Indigenous Peoples community. I was taken that the art that is beautifully presented at the end of each module included, as a point of leadership, nearly all male figures because I learned that it was women that decided much of Indigenous life and are particularly important now in 2020 as we forge ahead both in Canada and the U. S. I was hoping to see women portrayed in art in a more positive, more forward-leaning place in the depiction of Indigenous future. Thanks for an outstanding course!

por Dave D

29 de Ago de 2021

This course is a start to educating and presenting a better understanding of what the Indeginous communities, it's history, it's values and movement is about. For this course to be effective on an educational stand point of view it will need to continue to offer the more courses on these lines to be effecive so that the 400,000 people that enrolled can can continue to learn and be educated of Indigenous communites. You have a good platform you need to reach a bigger audience.

Education is the key. Funding to offer these courses (free) is the other key.

I have an understanding of the plight of the Indigenous people and the effects of colonization. i would like to understand more of the present day roles, workings of self governace of Indigenous communities.

Thank you for your time. The presentation was great. Dave Delaney 506-349-4723

por Brenda N

27 de Nov de 2020

I learned a lot from this course. I thought it was presented very well- organized, methodical in it approach with a balanced view. I had taken a aboriginal womens studies course at Athabasca University this past year so was familiar with the powerful and engaged group of women who got together to fight the inequities in the Indian Act. These women are heroes- SHEroes. I did feel that there wasn't enough information on the Sixties Scoop or any real reference to the term, which may be for a reason, but felt it should be hightlighted to people understand the history of abuse to those families. I thought all the presenters did a wonderful job, telling their parts and were all compelling and engaging. I would love to do another one- that drilled down even further. Thank you for making this course available to us. Thank you Brenda Norfolk

por Pamela B

21 de Nov de 2020

I really loved this class. I grew up in ND and currently live in Minnesota, so my knowledge of Indigenous people in Canada was quite limited. I have Indigenous friends in Saskatchewan and the class helped me to understand some of their families' history and converse with them about a variety of issues. The course instructors were very knowledgeable and professional, and the topics were easy to follow and engaging. There was a great deal of history and wide range of topics covered in the 12 lessons. The class has inspired me to continue to learn more about Indigenous people in North America and follow the politics and issues more closely. I appreciate having the opportunity to take this free online class, and will explore other Coursera classes that are available. Thank you and I wish you all the best in future endeavors!!

por Sheron “ M

29 de Mar de 2021

I am sorry that the course is over. I looked forward to getting into “my Studies” when the days work could be put aside. Carrying the part of studies being worked on, be it at the Doctors office or waiting for an appointment was normal. While reading I remembered some of the information presented. My Great Aunt and Uncle shared a lot with me as a youngster, I wish I asked more of them. If I have a regret, it would be not being in a classroom situation learning the course material. I would have been one of your older students at 71 years but learning and absorbing information from youth is enlightening and energetic. Just an aside only redid one test module as I believed I could do better. I wanted to accept the grades I obtained In my first attempt by studying hard. Thank You for giving me the interest to further explore.

por Siegrid H

11 de Mar de 2021

Excellent course! I believe every Canadian should take this course before being allowed to graduate from Grade 12. Also, this course should be completed by every politician whether at a municipal, provincial or federal level. My level of understanding regarding Canadian aboriginal history, culture, art, and current issues has increased significantly.

The course material was efficiently presented, easy to navigate, and well organized. I especially enjoyed the backdrop, pictures, and photographs during the lectures. I would have liked more pictures depicting the work of the various artists highlighted in the last module.

I wanted to take this course for over a year now but didn't make the effort to register until I came across Dan Levy's video of encouragement. Thanks, Dan! Also, I appreciated the course was offered for free!

por Sarah F

2 de Set de 2020

As a recent immigrant to Canada I don't know much about Canadian history, let alone Indigenous history. I thought this was a fantastic introductory course to begin to understand the complex groups of people who make up this country. It has definitely inspired me to seek out more information on Indigenous groups local to me and other places I travel in North America. I do think it was a bit generalising at times but the hosts acknowledged they couldn't talk about every nation in Canada in depth so I am happy to forgive this. I would have liked to see more pictures in the Art course but I now have the suggestions to look these up in my own time. I also thought it was very helpful to learn what certain terms actually mean, e.g. First Nations vs Indigenous, because this is something I have not quite understood since I arrived.

por Nancy D

11 de Mai de 2021

I looked so forward to my weekly lessons from the perspective of the Professors Dr. Tracy Bear, Paul Gareau and other faculty as well as special guests and artist interviews. To have combined this with writer/actor Daniel Levy was a joy, ESPECIALLY during pandemic. The You Tube "after" conversations made me feel like I was in a classroom and helped me to frame and question what I learned - taking it forward to "now" and how I better understand what I was not taught. This gave me further insight into the teachings of Dr. Bear and Gareau too, plus caused me to deeply like them! From a technical standpoint, I appreciate the clear ease of structure of each week, clear downloads, options to view video or minimize to take notes. This platform FAR surpassed another one I had to do for work. -I bought the T Shirt : )

por Michael H

12 de Jun de 2017

I wanted to follow up on the TRC recommendations and become much more aware of historical and contemporary issues faced by indigenous peoples in a Canadian context. I thought this would a good course for accomplishing this. It was a great course!!!! I learned so much in this course and it was easy to do so even as a busy professional. I encourage everyone to take this course. As we celebrate the Canada 150, we should be aware that we are many nations and a smaller part of a much bigger family with a much greater shared destiny. We must find ways to be much more aware of our colonial past and strive toward a much more inclusive future. There is much to learn and this course is a great survey course for getting started. To the course instructors and organizers - Thank you very much, Merci beaucoup, and apijigo megwich!

por David L

22 de Fev de 2021

This course has opened my eyes and my heart to some of the realities and perspectives of Indigenous peoples across Canada (and beyond). Starting with Indigenous world views, provided a great foundation for appreciating everything that follows. There is a respectful tone to this course that I find both astounding and uplifting, given the magnitude and duration of the historical, and present-day traumas involved. Bravo to the content builders, the presenters, and the helpful TA's!! Thank you.

I was reminded of some dialogue I where two individuals were 'cooling off' after a very adversarial encounter. One commented 'We don't know each other very well, do we? We should do something about that." For me, that pretty much sums up the enormous value and potential of this course.

Warmest Regards, Dave Lafortune

por Karen L

15 de Ago de 2020

I am so grateful for all of the efforts put in to creating this course. I appreciate that this is a high level overview, and not an easy endeavor to take on with so many indigenous nations in Canada and such a long history as well. I learned so much, and appreciated having the perspective of Indigenous people rather than the same old dusty rhetoric. This has changed much of what I thought I knew, and reinforced much of what I already knew was not right in this country. I really appreciate how multiple facets of Indigenous oppression, and creative activism were front and center. Thank you to the course professors (Tracy and Paul), the instructors, the guest speakers, and the artists (Leah, your work is thoughtful and beautiful) who contributed.

Taking this course has opened my eyes, my mind, and my heart too.

por Catherine N

23 de Ago de 2021

This course was fantastic. It provided me with an increased sense of appreciation of and respect for Indigenous people. It filled in so many of the gaps in my education and I think these topics should be covered in every high school across the country. We as a nation can do better to be more inclusive in our behaviour and accepting of the rich & diverse backgrounds of all that live in Canada. With increased awareness, we can gain more momentum in the social movements currently happening and hopefully lessen the racism that exists in society/our systems. There is no better time than now for truth and reconciliation (it is long overdue!). I will also encourage others to participate and take this course. Thank you for this course offering. It has made a difference and a positive impact on my life as a Canadian.

por SWIFT G L

17 de Fev de 2021

The Course has really emancipated and expanded my view and knowledge about my dream country Canada. I can confidently talk and relate to what happened to the First nation indigenes and their lost due to their trust betrayal by past parties in the various agreements signed.

above all other issues, I love the onward progress made by the unifies tribes and the new comers living to forward peace and cooperation.

my appreciation goes to all my lovely lectures and the patience they gave to narrate each story clearly to my understanding, i will go over all the video's lecture s again and again, I Love you eleven though we not met yet, but hope to see you all, when I finally migrate to Canada in the near future.

Finally, I wish my full name Swift Gideon Lartey appears on my Certificates.

thanks ones more from my heart.

por Angela L

17 de Out de 2021

This course has started me on my journey of awareness. Having grown up in the Canadian school system, I've learned many of the same events in Canadian history outlined in this course. However, I've learned our history through a very different lens - I didn't see the injustice of colonization and the cost to the indigenous peoples of our land. I now see the reconciliation and restroration that has to happen in Canada to heal this land. As a Canadian citizen and immigrant, I need to sincerely apologize to the indigenous peoples for the pain, suffering, discrimination and judgment I have been part of and need to repent for. The information in this course has helped me open my eyes and want to do something to help. Course is balanced and offers a wholistic view of indigenous history, issues and future.

por Lorraine L

22 de Set de 2021

Taking this course has truly been an eyeopening experience. I have to admit in the 1970's I would have definitely been categorized as a racist. I had moved from southwestern Manitoba to Regina where I worked as an RN in the Emergency department. If only I knew then what I have now learned. I am actually embarrassed by my attitude towards indigenous peopIe at that time. I have learned there was a residential school in Brandon MB that my Dad would not discuss. I now know why my father & uncle, who were farmers, were also raising foxes for their furs. I now understand the land claims & the treaties. To learn about the Indian Act & its implications was unbelievable! I firmly believe that every student in middle years should take this program & if not then - high school.

Thank you so much - Lorraine Lewis

por Gudrun v S

14 de Set de 2020

I find this a great course for a deeper, meaningful understanding of indigenous history, the effects of colonialism, injustices, violence, residential schools, systemic racism, the Indian Act and many more themes. Developed and delivered entirely by Canadian indigenous people, it explains and discusses ways in which these issues and the intergenerational trauma caused by them, have been-, and are being- dealt with by the government and by the peoples. It highlights, through many examples, stories, interviews, diverse artwork, historical photos and quotes, the resilience and creativity, as well as past and current political and social activism initiated by indigenous people. I learned a lot and I feel I have a better understanding of many of the issues.

Thank you for making it available and accessible.

por DAWN M

16 de Out de 2020

This course was such an exciting educational opportunity for me. I have always wanted to learn more about our Indigenous peoples. I learned so much about Indigenous culture and really began to understand how colonization affected their lives throughout the generations. This is NOT anything that I learned in school! Thinking back to the history lessons that I remember Indigenous people were portrayed in such an unjust light. The history lessons were so skewed. This course has inspired me to learn more, and to educate wherever and whenever I can. Thank you University of Alberta for offering this vital educational opportunity. And thank you to the Educators who shared their knowledge with such passion and pride. This course should be mandatory for all Canadians! Thank you again! Sincerely, Dawn Masters

por Jamies J L N

1 de Mai de 2019

Thank you professors for your time and effort to create this wonderful course. I also graduated from the University of Alberta, and is proud to have these talented teachers who provide the amazing Indigenous Canada course which expands my knowledge in Indigenous history, art and culture. I have learned the traumas and unfair treatment that Indigenous People have faced in Canada, and feel empathetic about their experiences. Some ethnic minorities such as the Chinese has experienced racism before too, such as the Head Tax and Chinese Exclusion Act. I would like to work with Indigenous People in the future to hopefully change their lives to the better. May you continue to create another inspiring course in a different angle or topics, so we can explore more of the unknown of our First Nations People.

por Joyce D

7 de Nov de 2020

I found this course to be extremely well presented- factual, respectful, informative, comprehensive, with personable presenters. I am very touched, and moved, by the material, as opposed to the very dry, one sided Canadian history I was taught in school. I so appreciate that this course was created, and then made so accessible both via online learning and financially. It is so rare to receive something of such quality without laying out a lot of money. I am the Program Director of a Recovery Program for Women, and our staff team committed to completing this course, pretty much on their own time. I am again grateful for the opportunity to have our whole team move forward together in a much greater appreciation of the reality of the Indigenous communities in Canada.

Thank you so much.

Joyce Durette

por Bharti M

18 de Jul de 2020

Wish there was more interaction and ways to connect with the faculty and artists. Since I was a child I had been fascinated by your people, this is the first time I explored the surface of your culture and heritage. The course really made me think about the colonized and the colonizer as well. I come from a colonized country too, India, and as a child I would be asked do you mean Indian from India or Indian as in Red Indian. I have not heard the word Red Indian being used for decades but I never had any problem being mistaken for the same but I did always have a problem with being asked the question. Thank you to the faculty and artists who collaborated on the journey to make this available to the world. All the best for the continuation and future ventures as well. Regards, Bharti Mohan