Chevron Left
Voltar para Getting Started with Go

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Getting Started with Go da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Irvine

4.6
509 classificações
118 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Learn the basics of Go, an open source programming language originally developed by a team at Google and enhanced by many contributors from the open source community. This course is designed for individuals with previous programming experience using such languages as C, Python, or Java, and covers the fundamental elements of Go. Topics include data types, protocols, formats, and writing code that incorporates RFCs and JSON. Most importantly, you’ll have a chance to practice writing Go programs and receive feedback from your peers. Upon completing this course, you'll be able to implement simple Go programs, which will prepare you for subsequent study at a more advanced level....

Melhores avaliações

TO

Apr 11, 2019

Extremely well paced explanation of Go and its unique properties over other languages. A great start to learning about the Go language for anyone with basic knowledge of programming.

SP

Apr 02, 2019

One of best course i encountered for teaching a new programming languages.\n\nPeople with none C programming background may feel trouble but with some effort you can easily catch up.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Getting Started with Go

por Donguk L

Jan 23, 2019

I think it would have been more convinient if the coding assigntments were graded automatically.

por Alec J

May 18, 2019

I like the instructor, and the material was certainly worthwhile, but I do have some constructive criticism. 1. There were too many typos in the lecture slides. Spending my time debugging the professor's code strikes me as counterproductive. 2. There are a lot of things you have to look up on your own in order to complete the assignments. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, but the instructor could be clear about this at the outset. 3. The whole peer-grading scheme is ridiculous. If I went to my local university, took a course, and the professor said "you all have to grade each others' assignments," I'd be righteously upset about this. I don't see why the Coursera platform is inherently that much different so as to justify this absurd practice. Why should I trust that the other students are equipped and responsible enough to grade anything, particularly something they're learning at the same time as me?

por Lorenzo N

Jun 16, 2019

Very, very basic. They say the course is for people with knows other programming languages, but the expected knowledge is very low. For example, a very long explanation about variable scope is for absolute beginners. If you are proficient in any other language like C, C# or Java, you have listened to this explanation N-times in your life and the course is probably too slow paced for you.

por Carlos E C M

Apr 09, 2019

Good intro to golang basics, if you are not familiar with golang this would be a nice course for you.

Things to consider if you're paying for this course: The topics are very basic, slides may contain some typos, the video lectures are not updated so erros may be there for a while, the course staff do not respond in the forums, its a peer graded course and many people complain about it, I found myself a little dissapointed about it.

por John G

Jul 29, 2019

The video instruction is very superficial.

For example, in the video on variables, the instructor says something like, "the Go garbage collector is fast, and that's all you need to worry about." I disagree. The details of garbage collection are important factors in understanding if a language is appropriate for a particular use case, especially when performance and throughput matter.

I would expect a more thorough discussion of the implementation of the language in a course provided by a major university.

por Chenzhe X

Oct 07, 2018

Too much typos in the codes, misleading in some cases

por Igor K

Nov 06, 2018

I would not recommend this course. It has many syntax errors. Assessments often rely on a subjects which are not explained yet. Assessments have misleading descriptions. Does not worth your money.

por sudhanshu p

Apr 02, 2019

One of best course i encountered for teaching a new programming languages.

People with none C programming background may feel trouble but with some effort you can easily catch up.

por Luiz C

Nov 07, 2018

Interesting Course for anyone interested by Go programming, but Course is really targetted at beginner programmers

por Alessandro L

Feb 08, 2019

The instruction of some of the tasks could have been more clear and less ambiguous (e.g a String of 20 characters on Week 4 task).

por Rob S

Dec 13, 2018

The material and pace are good. My only complaint is with the peer review grading system. I've taken other courses (Odersky's Scala series) where grading is automated by unit tests. Given Golang's high reliance on testing in practice, that would seem to be a much better approach here.

por David S D

Jan 18, 2019

I am writing this after having actually completed all three courses in this series. I would rate all of them well. The instructor is fine for me, but there is an occasional error in his slides. But the selection of material was good and the tests and homework were also fine.

The one thing that was disappointing to me is the peer to peer grading format of the course programming exercises. Apparently there are not a large number of students taking these courses and so I sometimes had to wait days to get feedback and grades for my assignments. I actually finished the 3rd course before I had the last programming assignment from the 2nd course graded.

It was annoying enough that I might well shy away from taking courses with peer grading in the future.

On balance, though I have to say I enjoyed all three of these courses and I definitely leave them behind a better Go programmer than I was before.

por Phil H

Jul 08, 2019

This course satisfies the basic requirements for learning go. However, it is really annoying that there are so many typos / errors in the course materials. Everything just seems sloppy. All in all, this course does provide useful info, but it's definitely nowhere as good as it could be.

por David L

Jun 16, 2019

Negatives:

Not an intermediate course, more like a beginner course for me. Too much background info which is not go related eg concurrency/parallelism explaination

Examples are not good: bad variable and function names, non-practical or even confusing/misleading

Positives:

Important topics are covered, explainations are ok (but could be better)

por Utkarsh s

Oct 29, 2018

More Lab work would have been useful.

por Giulio C

Mar 21, 2019

Not very in depth study course about Golang but still good

por Joseph F

May 22, 2019

The peer review was a bummer for me; I don't feel like I should pay for a course and have to grade others assignments. If I want to become a TF / TA, much different story.

The final assignment was worded poorly and left some (much) to the implementor's interpretation; a bit uncomfortable.

2.5 stars

por Abhishek S

Jun 18, 2019

Should be more indepth. Standard library which were missed out and are important should be introduced like reflection, time, net, io, etc and that too in detail. I think concepts introduced must be strengthened using real world scenarios as well. Please introduce more concepts like profiling, memory management web development as part of this specialization via new courses.

por Ariel Y

Dec 18, 2018

Very shallow. Only the bare basics are covered. Some embarrassing errors in the code presented in the lectures.

Nice as an intro for a complete novice, who has just bare minimum programming experience. Otherwise - for a paid course - doesn't worth the time nor the money.

por 김민기

Nov 27, 2018

assignment requirement is not clear.there is wrong syntax in video.

por Ashwin G

Dec 04, 2018

The course was a simple introduction to the Go programming language. The lectures were precise and the assignments were based on the lectures and at the same time required some reference to go documentation available on the internet. It definitely gives us the confidence to learn and conquer a new skill.

por Adrian D

Dec 24, 2018

Great course. Really enjoyed it.

por Jheison L R M

Jan 28, 2019

Great Course

por Aditya S

Jan 27, 2019

Very good course for beginners.

por Gustavo H M d S

Jan 03, 2019

Amazing course! Some of the questions could be been better stated, but this wasn't responsible for any big problems trough out the course.

If you have already some experience in other language, it is highly recommended that you follow this course and the subsequent parts of it to learn Go.