Chevron Left
Voltar para Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Stanford Introduction to Food and Health da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.7
estrelas
17,630 classificações
5,309 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Melhores avaliações

NK
24 de Fev de 2019

It was very informative course. It could have more quizzes and assignments. The way things were explained in the course was quiet interesting. Keep it up!! course. I really like this way of education.

VI
10 de Mai de 2020

It was an interesting and informative, at a basis level, course. The information is easy to understand and the new gained knowledges tend to remain in your memory, due to short and interactive videos.

Filtrar por:

4351 — 4375 de 5,257 Avaliações para o Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

por Tzvi S

11 de Mai de 2017

This is a great course for those interested in learning more about what goes on their plate and how to make it healthier. There are some very interesting insights about how we view food culturally.

por Gisela L T

1 de Mai de 2020

Me parecio un curso sencillo e interesante, me faltaria un poco mas de informacion de como estan compuestos los alimentos y me hubiese gustado que el examen estuviese tambien en español, gracias

por Vani S

5 de Mai de 2020

i think it was an amazing course. it will help you value home cooked food a lot more .well i did understand a lot of things in here and ofcourse not to forgot the importance of home cooked food.

por Aakanksha C

3 de Jul de 2018

It was very informative. Though it could have included more topics related to beverages like green tea, black coffee, or about metabolism, different types of fruits and nutritional value of each.

por Juan G

10 de Jul de 2017

It was a good learning experience, I do wish it was more in depth with regards to meal planning and grocery shopping. But i guess I'd have to talk to a nutritionist directly with regards to that.

por Carolina D L R E

21 de Mai de 2018

The course is such a good way to start into the health life for those who are interested in healthier food. The videos and the information are clear and easy to understand. I totally recomended.

por Erika F D

23 de Out de 2020

The information in the course is useful to people who know nothing about nutrition. if you are looking for a course on nutrition is probably you already know all the info given in this course.

por Aiaze M

12 de Fev de 2016

Good course, easy to follow and informative. I regret that the content was so basic, I would have loved more depth particularly when the instructor is so knowledgeable and such a good speaker!

por Istvan F

16 de Dez de 2019

Quick and Helpful really good course if you want to improve your food lifestyle !

I just think that it was lacking a few scientific explanations but beside that it is 100% worth your time !

por Victoria M

1 de Jul de 2020

The course is useful, I’d recommend it. Didn’t like gluten free crepes recipe. Nuts would add several times more calories and Nutella has palm oil, surprised to see it in Maya’s kitchen.

por Debbie M

2 de Fev de 2016

Interesting to learn about the modern US diet and why it doesn't work. I thought it was a great intro course on benefits of eating at home but more important eating meals cooked at home.

por Julia B

8 de Mai de 2020

Was truly an introduction to food science. If this is not a topic you've engaged with before, this is a really easy place to start learning and thinking about what you put in your body.

por nidhika j

6 de Jul de 2020

it was a good course with lot of information about the kind of food to eat and the quality and quantity of food. but u should incease the eggless veg receipes u were showing in week 5

por KARABACAKOĞLU Y

5 de Out de 2020

Very good course in terms of mentality, but it lacks information. Some additional videos may be included to give detailed information about topics such as how supplements affect body?

por Rodolfo T M

18 de Jun de 2018

Very interesting Course. I liked the way that every single aspect of Food and Health was explain.I also liked the tips and examples of what should we do in our daily basis. Thank you.

por Madhav B

19 de Ago de 2020

One of the great Health informatics that we can learn online in a brief time. Thank you Coursera and Stanford for providing such course. stay happy , healthy , safe and Blessed :) .

por Anna A

10 de Jun de 2019

This course was basic and a great starting point if you are not familiar with nutrition concepts. I especially loved the recipes and cooking demonstration at the end of the course.

por Abha A

11 de Mar de 2018

Really simple course! Great visual aid as well. However, I would like it to be a bit more harder (and maybe customizable for vegetarians). It could be longer and more detailed too.

por Barbara M M

12 de Fev de 2016

Really interesting! Now a days I act suspicious about the food I'm buying. It's a journey to integrate this information to a healthy lifestyle, the workshop is great help for that.

por Dua J

14 de Set de 2020

it was very nicely explained, and I enjoyed taking this course. but I feel like it could have been a little more informative, other than that it was a course totally worth taking.

por Sỹ H N

19 de Nov de 2019

A very well designed course for beginners in the nutrition field like me. It helps me understand the basics of science and inspires me to cook, eat and live better. Thanks Maya!

por Sabina M

28 de Out de 2020

Great topic, simple yet clear however seems like things I have already known as an informed individual who does her own research in order to be healthy so I’m giving it 4 stars.

por Mikaela F

13 de Out de 2020

Very interesting and easy to complete. I learned a lot, but there were also some parts that were a little basic. But overall a great course to get an intro to food and health!

por Olga N

18 de Abr de 2016

It is a very basic course, very useful for general public. But if your specialization is nutrition or public health, this course is way too easy and does not have enough info.

por Lucie S

10 de Mai de 2017

Great introduction course about nutrition and healthy eating habits. It really helps to make better food choices when shopping groceries by following some of the useful tips.