Chevron Left
Voltar para Data Science Math Skills

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Data Science Math Skills da instituição Universidade Duke

4.5
2,098 classificações
466 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Data Science Math Skills

por Swaviman K

May 08, 2019

Very well explained concepts. The probability portion was the best. Baye's theorem & Binomial theorem were very interesting. I had a very nice learning experience.

por MaheshKrishna C

Sep 18, 2019

Good Content and well Structured

por Alieldin R

Oct 14, 2019

The course was very good and well thought of, a great refresher for very important concepts, the instructors are very good at simplifying the material and making it very understandable.

por Juan N R B

Sep 05, 2019

Excellent! Very useful and simple to understand!

por Samuel J

Oct 04, 2019

I am a high school sophomore and I loved this course. I learned so much in a short period of time. Now I want to go into data science as a career. Thank you!

por Mahnaz K

Oct 22, 2019

The course overall was great. So much math was covered that it is hard to believe it was all done in 4-5 weeks required to complete the course. It was well taught-- very relevant and clear for the most part. I have had all this math in the past so I had a frame of reference but without it I think it would be hard to follow. Having said that, I found the Probability lectures hard to follow. It seemed you need to know a lot of probability theory beforehand. Also the videos were too short in this sections and went very fast. The videos need to be 20-25 minutes with more examples. The quizzes in this section were the hardest because not many examples were given in the lecture. Overall though I feel accomplished and feel I can tackle the math that comes my way when I pursue my data science degree. Thank you for putting together a course with the background math needed for data science.

por Yan T

Nov 01, 2019

Great course brushing off math skills with quiz in the end of each module. The last module is the most difficult, it'll be better if more examples be demonstrated. Good pace and a good course for those who need to get an idea of some topics.

por Abhishek R

Nov 07, 2019

Every part covered gives a good introduction to the world of data science as intended. However in my personal opinion the part on probability was covered a bit hastily, though the quizzes will force you get some in-depth understanding

por Francine S

Nov 09, 2019

Step by step course! Perfect for beginners. I highly recommend it.

por Augustine Y

Dec 30, 2018

Introduction to the basic knowledge preparation of college level math.

por Luan d S

Dec 30, 2018

It's a excellent course with all of the basic concepts to start in the Data Science World.

Great regards and thank you for the course.

por 宋雅风

Jan 08, 2019

A very basic introduction of math. You can use this course to recap the relative knowledges

por Marc P

Mar 09, 2019

Good intro or refresher, but needs more concrete examples in the probability theory section.

por Soumya R R

Mar 11, 2019

Too good content and practice sessions.

por Ashish K S

Mar 11, 2019

better

por Aman G

Mar 20, 2019

The course is well structured and good for the newbies and the ones who are not from mathematics background.

por Eugenio E C S

Mar 19, 2019

The first half it was great. After that I felt really confused with the probability examples and the exercises was really tricky. Besides of that, it's a good course.

por Carlos V

Feb 18, 2019

V

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

r

e

s

o

u

r

c

e

t

o

r

e

f

r

e

s

h

t

h

I

n

g

s

w

e

l

e

a

r

n

e

d

in the past and also asses some voids in our knowledge of calculus and probability. Thanks!!!!

por Ahmed O B

Feb 07, 2019

More exerciser required. Specially in probabilities theorem

por Warunee S

Jan 27, 2019

Great course

por Raghu R P

Jul 11, 2018

Very good refresher course on Probability

por TIRUMALANADHUNI P K

May 28, 2018

excellent

por Yiwen G

Jul 28, 2017

A little bit easy if you have solid high school math background.

por Atsushi T

Sep 14, 2017

Very comprehensive and challenging - I feel a final quiz would be great but individually, very well though out content and questions

por Paul M

Sep 17, 2017

Good refresher. Weeks 3 and 4 are much more difficult to follow than one and two. Part of this is due to the subject matter but also a change of teacher / and style makes it more difficult.