Chevron Left
Voltar para Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose da instituição Universidade de Princeton

4.7
estrelas
696 classificações
218 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Melhores avaliações

VS

13 de mai de 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

15 de jun de 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 222 Avaliações para o Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

por Zhou F

25 de mai de 2020

That's a great course

por anas m

28 de mai de 2022

mmmmmm ماذا عن شهادة

por Youssef E

15 de jan de 2022

very helpful course

por Rowland A

19 de ago de 2021

Highly recommended!

por harsha r

23 de jul de 2020

Best for beginners

por Vladimir I

16 de jun de 2020

Just. Great course!

por Salamat B

18 de mai de 2020

I like assignments!

por AANSHIKA S

8 de jun de 2020

excellent approach

por Amir N

6 de jul de 2020

Love this course.

por Fotis S

24 de jul de 2020

Excellent course

por Avinash K

25 de jun de 2020

Great course!

por Kiko S

24 de jul de 2020

Excellent!!!

por Amandeep S

2 de mar de 2022

good course

por lxl1986

23 de out de 2019

elegant.

por Đỗ T H

23 de jun de 2022

great

por Nguyen V V

22 de jun de 2022

Good

por Amr A K

11 de jan de 2022

good

por Mahmoud h s s

5 de jan de 2022

GOOD

por 陳維

23 de ago de 2021

good

por Travis D

16 de mai de 2022

Very detailed course, went into further depth into some points that Harvard's CS50 didn't. Good warmup to going deeper into algorithms. However some exercises are quite difficult to understand or I feel weren't explained clearly and it can be a bit restricting to only be able to use Intellij to utilise their in house library. The marking system that they have set up can also be a little bit rigid where your answer is right but you have to rewrite the code to accommodate how the course marks the code.

por Milind P

14 de jan de 2021

Not quite beginner level course when dealing with assignments so some students might find themselves little frustrated. But with the difficulty of assignments, the learning opportunity is great once you finish assignments successfully with help of forum and other research. Book-site could be made little more extensive as currently it is very condensed compared to what chapters in book might have. Overall great course and learning.

por Brad K

26 de ago de 2021

The course info implies that this is an introduction to programming for non-programmers, essentially a college 100-level course. The provided information in the lectures does good job at building up the student's information about how to build a program. However, several of the programming assignments dial the difficulty up to a 200- or 300-level algorithms class which might lead to frustration on the part of the student.

por Oluwatosin A

23 de jul de 2020

This course was detailed and helpful. I don't know if this matters a lot, but it bothers me that this course teaches students to use its own libraries. I think the students may not be able to use the actual Java standard libraries well.

Also, I find many assignments hard to understand, most likely because the instruction is not clear enough.

But overall, this course was very nice and interesting.

por Santiago M

11 de out de 2020

I got what I needed and way more... This course is really heavy on maths and it does not stay with just "learn java"... I admit that I got frustrated at some point since Im not good at math and struggle a lot!.. but with the help of peers I was able to get the end goal and I would recommend this class to anyone that want to understand how programming works.

por Ashvith S

11 de mar de 2022

I like that this course covers the important aspects in detail, and divides the chapters into smaller subsections. I would go far as to argue that these questions are Ivy-League tier problems, and requires a lot of research and patience, which aren't appreciated by beginner students. Maybe it would be better to tone down the difficulty.