Chevron Left
Voltar para Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose da instituição Universidade de Princeton

4.7
estrelas
695 classificações
218 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Melhores avaliações

VS

13 de mai de 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

15 de jun de 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 222 Avaliações para o Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

por Тугов С А

12 de jan de 2021

This is an absolutely incredible course. I couldn't have hoped for better one. My endless admiration and gratitude to authors.

por Kuirong W

21 de ago de 2020

This is a great course with heavy loaded homeworks which is definitely help if you like to get the best of the course.

por Sreejit C

11 de jul de 2020

Quite a nice introduction to Programming and Java . Thank You lecturers for this interesting course and assignments .

por Meysam A

2 de nov de 2019

It's a prefect starting point for those who want to learn programming or those who wants to refresh their knowledge.

por Deleted A

6 de ago de 2019

Awesome course. Very challenging even for experienced programmer. Prof. Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne do a great job.

por Ang L

20 de fev de 2022

This course is very helpful to me to understand the basic knowledge of computer science, thank the professors!

por Gopala V R

27 de jul de 2020

Excellent. Wish I had this professor teaching when I first started learning programming quite a few years ago.

por Jack H

20 de mai de 2020

Great intro level course, I really enjoyed it. I look forward to the Instructors' other courses on algorithms.

por John C

20 de jul de 2020

Interesting programming exercises.

Well-structured course and automatic evaluation of exercises very good.

por Arshad

13 de mai de 2020

It is always a privilege to learn from someone who is the best in his field. Thanks for the lectures.

por Nguyen D L

22 de jan de 2021

It's amazing how an introductory course in programming can show student many fundamental skills.

por Manuel M T

12 de ago de 2021

This is an excellent course. Well taught, organized, covering the foundations of java and OOP.

por Christos N

25 de set de 2020

Great experience. Of course a lot to learn, and big effort to complete but provided new ideas!

por Vorravoot N

10 de jan de 2022

Great course, i get many idea and basic knowledge for Java from this useful course. thanks :)

por Ahmed D

10 de jul de 2021

Excellent course even though the programming assignments are sometimes a little bit too hard.

por Tassianna T

29 de dez de 2019

This course is excellent; It provides a robust framework to build on programming practices.

por Ahmed A

1 de nov de 2020

amazing course, it covers a lot of programming principles and how to think computationally

por Romain F

2 de set de 2020

I loved the course's rigor and how the auto grader guided me through the assignments.

por Edison A R M C

23 de dez de 2019

Excelente curso, muy concreto y excelente para iniciar en java y en computer Science

por sobit t

11 de nov de 2020

Best java course on Coursera. Really help me built Clear concept of programming.

por Jon H

6 de ago de 2020

This was a really great course. I learned a lot. The lectures were excellent.

por Yi S

6 de set de 2019

fun homework assignments that keep me motivated to write efficient code

por Philippe G

16 de jan de 2020

Very effective course with automated and immediate students graduation

por Maksym G

21 de jul de 2020

Knowledge and confidence you get are well worth time and effort.