Chevron Left
Voltar para Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose da instituição Universidade de Princeton

4.7
estrelas
693 classificações
217 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Melhores avaliações

VS

13 de mai de 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK

15 de jun de 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 222 Avaliações para o Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

por Richard K

14 de ago de 2020

This was a challenging course, but not for beginners. I am an experienced programmer in several languages and wanted to learn Java, which I accomplished. The course does not teach any design approach (such as flow charting or outlining), which would be best for beginners.

por Preston N

4 de jun de 2019

Good over all, but the quizzes can be a little annoying.

por Shuyuan D

13 de jun de 2019

Good recap course for an experienced programmer

por Mikaela W

26 de abr de 2020

Lectures and assignments are heavily math-based, even in the very beginning, couldn't continue with course. I'm dyslexic and learning concepts using what feels like high-level math formulas and concepts doesn't work for me, couldn't comprehend a lot of assignment problem statements for the same reason. I'm sure it's great for those that don't struggle with mathematical comprehension, but it doesn't cater for those that do.

por Irina

30 de jan de 2021

The course is not beginner friendly in my opinion. A lot of students, me included seem to be really confused about week 1's assignments, one can clearly see that in the forums. The class itself isn't bad, just advertised as beginner friendly. I do not find it to be so. Will retake it when will have a bit of basis of Java.

por Jovonne B

26 de out de 2020

Not for beginners at all. The assignments are for those whom have strong background in math and computer programming experience.

por Neil A

11 de nov de 2021

Initial "introcs" program doesn't install properly because the Java compiler doesn't work - and yes, I installed as Administrator. Also, "DrJava" cant compile even the initial HelloWorld,java application used to test the introcs installation. It's not recommended to install manually because of all the additional plug-ins that are required or I'd fix it myself. It's a good thing this is among their "free" courses because I am certainly not going to pay Coursera to troubleshoot and fix their stuff. Unenrolled. Would not enroll again.

por Parth G

21 de nov de 2020

A great course that is definitely not for beginners. I found this course to be an amazing resource in giving a solid theoretical basis to my programming knowledge. It is not meant to be as practical as Harvard's CS50.

However, some prior knowledge of basic programming and/or Java would be helpful, as not all features of Java are covered in the course and useful hacks programmers employ on a daily basis such as debugging by using print statements is not covered. In short, this course does not go through how to program practically, it expects you to pick that up by wider reading or by reading StackOverflow or Googling endlessly! I only survived because I used Google continuously, read sample java programs to understand how to code including the authors' own stdlib library), and improved my Java skills on HackerRank

Weeks 6-8 were really challenging, especially the one on recursion about Hanoi's Puzzle.

Great, well-designed course, with solid foundations on real-world applications that are really inspiring and enjoyable!

por Kristy K

18 de nov de 2020

This is an incredibly challenging course and is probably on par with first year university in terms of difficulty and independent learning and problem solving. I had no real programming and no math at all and this was insanely hard for me and I wanted to give up sometimes, but not impossible if you are a beginner it will just take a lot of work and time. The exercises and sample code provides is rich indeed and a great resource for further study and challenge. If you need something more guided and easier maybe try the Duke Java course(s) but if you can get through this, it is very rewarding.

por Jason M

5 de nov de 2020

All materials for this course are clear and concise. Aspects of Java programming were explained clearly in the video lectures. But if things needed a bit of extra clarity or I needed to refresh my memory on something the online materials were there for review. Programming assignments were explained well and reflected the material being taught. The automated grader gives good explanation of what is wrong with your code so you can make corrections and resubmit. I am planning on taking the second half of this coarse next.

por Ajayi O

18 de nov de 2020

For a newbie in programming, this course is highly recommended. It helped me to think in diverse ways. Having noticed java's rigidity compared to popular programming languages, i have been able to start with a disciplined approach by taking this course. I see things around me in a totally different manner during and after this course. It is also a pleasure having professor Sedgwick who smiles in his videos telling you its simple, I'm always like, professor, hope you know you got baby programmers in the class :)

por Gustavo N

17 de out de 2020

A very demanding course, at least for me who did not know anything about Java and OOP, the weekly exercises are key in the process of learning and the Discussion Forum is very helpful to be able to pass the exercises. I have taken other courses in Coursera but definitely this is the best one on this subject honoring the fact that is taught by Princeton, where once I dreamed to make a PhD. Thanks to the University, the instructors and Coursera, I plan to take the next one that is recommended in the last lecture.

por Alex G

10 de set de 2020

This is my first course on Coursera and this course is EXCELLENT. I started learning java in late 2019 and this course will make you a more sharp java programmer. If you do more then the assignments i.e. the web exercises and also using the book as ac companion with this course you will be facing challenging problems that bring joy if you managed to solve them.

Thank you Princeton University for making this course free and also for the grate Prof. Sedgwick and Wayne for building this course.

por Nick P

22 de set de 2019

This course was incredibly helpful. I've taught myself Python over the years for data analysis purposes, but I never had a solid understanding of computer science principles like you learn in this course. Learning Java along the way was a nice bonus, and it was helpful to compare and understand differences across different languages. The projects were of an appropriate difficulty, and I would strongly recommend completing them so that you can practice what you learn.

por LuxiLiu

19 de abr de 2020

I think the course has a great balance between introducing concept/history and practical matters. The only difficulty I encountered is that it is sometimes assumed that the students have certain knowledge (I personally spent a lot more time on w6 Recursion than other weeks because I found some concepts/knowledge unfamiliar). Overall it's a great learning experience that gives learners exposure to a variety of aspects of programming.

por Eric R

19 de mai de 2020

Well taught course, with minimal spoon feeding once it gets moving. I would like more baby steps through the initial Intellij install, as it was aggravating before I saw the value of the course. Being reminded early on that we all make mistakes (forgetting ; and the like) and that unfortunately compilers don't work because we yell at them helped me deal with the inevitable frustrations that come about during programming.

por Darko V

15 de abr de 2022

This course is the best. Big thanks to instructors. You can complete the course even if you never had similar course (in Computer science). The knowledge you get is high quality. Assignemtns are the most important in this course (as in any other course) and they are outstanding - especially the autograder that checks your work in detail and in detail reports your mistakes. It took me more time than ~ 9 h per week.

por Omer K

25 de abr de 2022

Definitely, this was the best course I've ever taken including my BSc and MSc education until now. Each assignment within this course is provided with the fields that they are most commonly used. I can not point out a single issue that was unnecessary within the scope of the course. I would like to thank Robert Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne for providing such a beautiful course with such a beautiful content.

por Daniel S

19 de nov de 2021

A​nother superior course from Princeton's CS team of Sedgewick and Wayne. The programming exercises are challenging at an appropriate level and as usual, a generous booksite also supports the course with enough ancillary material to satisfy the ambitions of the most diligent beginning students. This is a course for new learners with a computer science bent and builds from the ground to a satisfying level.

por Practice P

2 de out de 2020

Amazing course! It gives an opportunity to learn how to think about coding, how to approach real world problems and translate solutions into working programs in Java and other languages.

I sincerely enjoyed the course, especially video lectures and coding assignments, and plan to keep learning from professor Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne other courses on Cuorsera.

Thank you very much!

por Zamir D

26 de abr de 2020

Lectures are a master-piece. Anyone who wood like to see a perfection in presentation of complex phenomena with such a modesty, clarity, simplicity but in the same time reflecting with deepness, this is THE course. The richness of argumentation with expressions can serve as a communication worldwide programming guideline.

Stay healthy dear professor.

por Marvie

3 de nov de 2020

I learned more by completing this course in a week compared to what I learned in 4 months time in one semester at my University 's introduction to computer science course. The programming assignments kept me engaged and were very fun. I would definitely recommend this course 10/10 would love to take up a course like this all over again.

por Keiji I

9 de dez de 2020

This was an amazing course. The instructor demonstrates programs that can do incredible things yet are simple enough to fully understand from a ten minute lecture. The autograder is excellent and tells you exactly which failure modes your code has. The provided libraries make seemingly difficult tasks much simpler.

por Pankaj S

13 de set de 2020

This Course is a perfect blend of Mathematics, Science and Programming. This course will definitely upskill you. Prof. Sedgewick's teaching style is very unique. Programming assignment will challenge you to think you out of the box. Overall absolutely amazing learning experience. Thanks to Princeton University.

por sergio p

13 de jun de 2020

Excellent course! I was almost new to Java and programming (learnt some Basic more than thirty years ago). The course is very well organized, all modules are interesting. Material is great and the exercises very challenging with references to multiple disciplines. Rewarding experience. Will go for part two.