Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Career Development

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Career Development da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
11,320 classificações
4,355 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

R
20 de Jul de 2020

AN EXCELLENT COURSE. THE TEACHERS ARE OUT STANDING. THERE IS A CLARITY OF THOUGHT AND EXPRESSION IN THE TEACHERS. EVERY ONE WHO IS SEARCHING FOR JOB SHOULD DO THIS COURSE. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE TEAM.

GT
26 de Out de 2020

This is the excellent course to understand the job seeking process and enhance English skill which is especially related with the job hunting. I recommend to take this course for non-English speakers.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 4,351 Avaliações para o English for Career Development

por Sebastiao S

27 de Mai de 2020

this Course helped me, to applied the Proper terms in a Correct Format, and understand the behavior that a Job Seeker is required to Have, Thanks very Much Penn University and both Instructors. Yet also Appreciate Coursera for Putting Together such an easy platform for a Person to Learn.

Regards,

Sebastiao Sala

por Carjoline G

12 de Nov de 2016

This course is a must for job seekers. With my experience, this had given me a lot of information and honed my skills in English for developing my career. Thank you so much to the Coursera community, especially to the University of Pennsylvania and to our remarkable teachers- Mr. Brian McManus and Robyn Turner.

por Facundo G R

25 de Mai de 2020

I find this course interesting, easy and a great way to improve your English if you're not a native American. Otherways I recommend it to people who didn't have jobs or are looking for his 1st job because it helps you to understand the selection process and give you many tips to get the job you're looking for.

por MANISH L

29 de Abr de 2020

i had a great experience learning the course, all the sources including articles, games, quizzes and videos provided me a better understanding of the course and how the industry and job search process exactly works. A big thanks to our instructor Robyn Turner, Brian Mcmanus and Coursera. # KNOWLEDGE IS POWER.

por Yousif A A

26 de Jun de 2021

It was really a very excellent course, and I benefited greatly from it, and it drew my attention to important things that I did not know before, and increased my skills in discovering what suits me and how to reach it, in addition to using the language to search for work and other wonderful things, thank you.

por Clara G

23 de Jun de 2020

It is really wonderful to know, how is the process in the US for Jobseekers, and how to prepare a great resume, and how to highlight my skills and qualifications with a proper cover letter, learn about small talk, and elevator speech, and the Do's and dont's in an interview. Really good experience. .Thank you

por wonders o t w د ن ع

3 de Mai de 2020

Actually, i have attended various courses in the title of improving professional skills but i can say this with great confidence that this course is unique and unquestionable. It really helped me improve my English skills along with professional skills.

Thanks alot my dearer instructors and at all coursera.👍

por Antony B

6 de Out de 2020

Hello everyone,Today I want to share with you my own experience in this course, It was a great opportunity to grow myself and improve my skills and knowlegde this course is too complete have the necessary information and capacity of the teachersto facilitate your learning. Luck next students.

YOU CAN DO IT.

por Amjadhusain M

27 de Jan de 2021

Brain McManus and Robyn Turner are the best tutors. They taught me very nicely and I learned the English language for my career development. Every professional must learn this course to boost the knowledge. I learned how to apply for job applications, how to make a biodata, and how to face the interviews.

por Sai A

5 de Nov de 2020

i feel very confident with resume, cover letter, small talks and interviews. The instructors explained everything clearly and effectively. The time spent attending this course is the time well spent. I highly recommend everyone who is very to new to resume, cover letter and interviews to take this course.

por Bassel A H

21 de Out de 2020

Great instructors and course with multiple interesting quizzes and interactive games that are vital for: understanding proper English, professional writing, how to make your own CV or Resume, how to write cover letters, and how to interact with the working community to apply and get the most suitable job.

por SUDIPTA D

29 de Jun de 2020

It is totally incredible . People who are afraid of speaking English , even to whom English is not so understanding easily . The way it helps anyone who is may be weak before English is gonna be Native English speaker . I'd like to thank Wharton , University of Pennysylvania . Special Thanks to Coursera .

por Nilanjana B

19 de Fev de 2021

I had a wonderful experience taking this course. I got to learn various new things and am now capable of entering the job market with necessary preparation. The approach of the teachers was really warm and the course overall left a positive effect on me and made me believe in myself. Thank you, Coursera.

por Zachariah S

8 de Jul de 2020

This is a great course, i have learned a lot. It provided the opportunity to know the difference between resume and cover letter. I am very confident that my next job application will be a success because i have the necessary skills and knowledge on how to conduct and prepare myself for a job interview.

por Joice M

6 de Set de 2020

It is an extraordinary course. You have a lot of informations about the job search process in USA and the ways you must act and to in order to stand out. You also learn about skills and ways to discovery yours. You learn the content and practice at the same time, it is very dinamic. I loved the course!

por Harsh T

20 de Mai de 2020

Course structure, content, Speaker, Resources are awesome. I learned many things which will indirectly impact on us. Thank you very much for such a beautiful and very helpful Course. I would like to tell that if You can add more quiz and reading stuff for practicing and reading than it will be perfect.

por James W M D C

15 de Abr de 2020

I have a learned lot in this Career Development from making a resume, cover letter, elevator speech and to answering an interview questions this helps me a lot because I am just a college student and that one day I will be able to apply this understandings I learned in this course. Thank you coursera.

por Marcelo B d S

24 de Mai de 2021

Some times you think that you known how to to the things, but when you have a subject prepared specificaly for you to make the right in the situation that you can´t fail, in this case to be hired in a good company, is the better thing that can happened with you. Thank you very much to make it for us.

por Yvette G

30 de Jan de 2021

I have really learned so much from this course. I was told that this course is free from my institution in St. Vincent and the Grenadines through the Ministry of Education. I have already completed Blended Learning through them. Can I be emailed my certificate of completion, please?

Yvette Gittens

por Faruq h

29 de Mai de 2020

Thank you for learning to create a site. I have learned a lot from this course. I have been able to acquire many skills. I have learned a professional Cv, former letter, manners, English speaking, vocabulary, and huge part of english. I have learned very well that I have to attend the job interview.

por Chris H

30 de Abr de 2020

I thought the class was very beneficial to students from foreign countries. I'm sure it put a lot of them, who were nervous, at ease. Also the fact that they could take this course without charge is so beneficial. I commend the Professors for a job well done.

Sincerely,

Christopher J. Heiland

por Алена Л

15 de Nov de 2021

I improved my English skills. I learned about creating a resume and cover letter, as well as creating an elevator pitch improved understanding of the job application process. I have learned a lot of new things and feel more ready and confident to find a job and apply for it. Thank you so mutch!

por luis A Q

13 de Dez de 2020

El curso excelente, a mi me ayudó en seguir avanzando con la lengua inglesa y a la vez estar preparado para aconsejar o guiar a quien me lo pida en un proceso de busqueda de trabajo, sus etapas intermedias hasta el momento de llegar a una entrevista de trabajo.

Muchas gracias fue muy bueno el curso

por Ana M B

31 de Ago de 2020

I have to be grateful to the University of Pennsilvania, Coursera, because I achieve my first on line course. And my special thanks to the teachers, thank you very much. I realize my mistakes, and now I feel more confident and prepare to face my job search and future interviews. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

por Bassam A

2 de Mar de 2021

Great experience!!

The instructors are fully knowledgeable about the studying material. They also enhanced the course with great knowledge resources such as the links, the samples, and the exercises. I wish they can provide coursera with more helpful courses and experiences for the nearest future.