Chevron Left
Voltar para English for Career Development

Comentários e feedback de alunos de English for Career Development da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.8
estrelas
11,296 classificações
4,348 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Melhores avaliações

KA
3 de Mai de 2021

I enjoyed this Course English for Career Development and learnt a lot .The instructor were so helpful and proactive that it was easy for me to learn and I was able to reach clear all the assignment ..

GT
26 de Out de 2020

This is the excellent course to understand the job seeking process and enhance English skill which is especially related with the job hunting. I recommend to take this course for non-English speakers.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 4,349 Avaliações para o English for Career Development

por Eugen F

25 de Abr de 2020

This cource is especially good for the people, who have not a lot experience with the job seeking process, and also for them, who seeked a job last time a long ago. Also it will be very helpful for them, who is learning englisch right now and did not reach the upper levels in that. Thank coursera for this opportunity, I'm glad you're exists!

por Oana S S

24 de Set de 2021

Thank you to both instructors for helping me to add the proper finishing touches to my resume + cover letter. This course also helped me a lot by showing how important is to prepare myself for possible improptu questions during the interview. I thought that being an experienced professional is enough ... Guess what? Is not :(((. Thank you !

por Martha B C

16 de Ago de 2020

Nice course!

I really enjoyed this course, I learnt so many new things and I feel more confident to apply for a job.

One of my life goals is to work in a International company and this course was excellent to have a general idea of how different is applying for a job in other countries. Besides, I learnt quiet more vocabulary that I expected.

por Rajesh L

2 de Mai de 2020

It is a very nice course I have learned lots. I want to thanks especially, my mentors who provide me, classes, online. through videos, readings, and practice exercises the Coursera website.

Thank you very much, Sir and Madam, Coursera and the UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, Design a very good course for us.

Yours Sincerely

Rajesh Lal from INDIA

por Yahaira P J

19 de Jun de 2017

This course helped me to develop knowledge about the job search in the united states and how to create my resume to bring a good first impression as well as the cover letter. This course also helped me to feel confident using elevator speech to introduce my self in events. Thanks to the teachers for the way that they present each lesson.

por Aamir K

4 de Nov de 2016

This course " English for Career Development helped me learn various important topics about how to be successful in Career. It helped me know my strengths and weaknesses. how can I write a proper Resume and cover letter . and I also learned how to face an Interview. This course was very useful and the knowledge it gave me is really helpful

por Jane

23 de Ago de 2020

Simple English, using 1.5 speed to finish the videos is better for me, the course goes thought basics of job finding step, very clear and helpful for a beginner! I would say these knowledge are the MUST knew ones when finding a job. It also makes me more confident after the course. Thank you. Wish all the job seeker find their ideal jobs!

por somaya a e r

13 de Jul de 2019

it was a very useful experience. I have learned a lot of skills such as writing my own resume, a cover letter, how to overcome my fear about the interview, how to be an organized person in my interview. I'm already searching for a career and have sent my cv to some companies. thanks for that course I have known what is a resume basically.

por SANDRA R

20 de Nov de 2016

Hello, I want to send my congratulations and gratefulness to the teachers: Robyn Turner and Brian McManus, as well as to the tecnical team whose amaizing work makes possible the offer of this course. This is my first course in coursera, I enjoyed it a lot and learned many usefull things taht are helping in develop my career. Thanks a lot.

por Shuvrodev B

6 de Mai de 2021

Thank you for such an awesome course. It was very much useful and important for me. I've learned so many important things regarding the job application process. Learnings from this course will definitely help me to get a good job. Thanks, Brian and Robyn as well as the University of Pennysylvania, Coursera, and Commonwealth of learning.

por Néstor S I

23 de Mar de 2021

It is a very helpfull course, it explains in an easy way all the steps you will follow to get a job and provides you with the basic knowlegde to do it properly. I would also like to thank both instructors for their good theaching skills and their great understandable speaking english, which makes really comfortable to follow the course.

por Madhav U

28 de Dez de 2017

Dear Sir

I am Madhavaiah U from India. I train graduates on Soft skills modules. At the outset, I extend my heartfelt regards to you all for designing and developing such a great course. The course has been a great source for upskilling. I like the most the way you have designed the assignments.

Love to be in touch with you

Thanking you.

por Dr R S P

3 de Jan de 2022

The course is an excellent effort for the searching jobs, writing cover letter, Resume professional for career development. Any professional would get its benefit.

It takes time to learn step by step for learning new words , watching videos. Its really helpful for career development and promotion in new profession in life.

Thank you.

por Alexander S N

4 de Mai de 2020

Es un curso magnifico que nos orienta sobre el proceso de enfrentarnos profesionalmente a una solicitud de trabajo desde el inicio cuando te interesa que te contraten para un empleo hasta cuando presentas la entrevista de trabajo.

Lo único que lamento es que quienes no contamos con los recursos para adquirirlo no seamos certificados.

por Călin G C

23 de Fev de 2020

5 star course! Very good course. Starting with mentors, very nice. Selected materials, presentation, are very well synthesized. By the way, if you fell from Mars today, tomorrow you followed the course, in 2 days you will be able to apply for a job on Earth. Why? It gives you those little guidelines that make the difference. Success.

por Dmitry R

23 de Mai de 2017

This is both a best way to advertise yourself when looking for a job and a great opportunity to summarize your own career path and achievements for planning further career growth. I express my gratitude to the creators, teachers and moderators of this course! My special thanks to the University of Pennsylvania and Coursera! See you!

por Kais M

1 de Nov de 2020

A very useful training that helped me to improve my knowledge in the filed of business English, to create a professional CV ,and Cover Letter and to understand how i do to expand my profesional netwrking.

It is my first training with Coursera and for sur it is just the beginning for me.

Thank you very much Coursera for this course.

por Atthaphon K

19 de Jun de 2020

I started by knowing nothing and the English for Career Development course contribute me to improve my English skills, learning American cultures, and also the process of job applications. This course provided any levels of English, basic and advanced level which suit every learner. This is one of the most wonderful course ever.

por Joan B

29 de Mai de 2020

Thank yo so much. I have learned a lot from this course. Now I know exactly how to make my own resume and cover letter appropriately under U.S standard. On top of that, I have learned the proper words, that I should and shouldn't have said on an interview and in a networking.

Again, thank you so much from the bottom of my heart!

por Md. K U

16 de Out de 2020

It's a best course to develop english language skills and learn a lot about job process. This course helps me to learn a better english and to know more about job search process, resumes, cover letter, networking and interview. I hope this learning will help me to sharper and better in communication in english and manage a job.

por Francesco S

5 de Mai de 2020

I was not fully convinced about the on-line course efficiency. Day-by-day I lost this kind of bias and more I learnt more I enjoyed this course. Now I have completed it, I think I have acquired an higher confidence both on the job interview path and with my English skills. I am seriously wondering to start a new on-line course.

por José A R N

15 de Jun de 2017

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to complete my CV in English to the area of Data Science. 


The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Jose Antonio

por Priscila R d A

4 de Ago de 2021

Very good course but if I could give advice I believe that would be very good to include how the job seekers could write a formal email to send for the recruiters or a manager who is looking for a new employee. So for example, I am not sure about how I could write a formal and interesting email asking or applying for new jobs.

por Audrey Z

20 de Mai de 2020

Although I'm not new to applying for job and going though job searching process, but I still learnt a lot in this course, as well as getting useful example for resume and cover letter and how to better prepare for job interviews. The instructors are really helpful and tackle the questions in my mind for a long time. Thank you.