Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to the Biology of Cancer da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.7
2,074 classificações
442 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Melhores avaliações

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por Dan

Dec 26, 2018

Informative but not very engaging. Videos were mainly slide after slide of text with the occasional graphic. Presenters sounded bored and read the slides almost verbatim, often going too fast. End-of-week quizzes were just compilations of the in-video quizzes. Also frequent errors and typos in quizzes.

'Honors' liver cancer course was essentially identical to the liver cancer section in the main course.

por Ibrahim Y

Feb 25, 2017

great course with very experience lecturers . it has helped me to gain more insight into cancer development. thank you so much Dr. Kenneth J. Pienta and the other doctors. God bless you all.

por Omer K

Nov 23, 2016

It will be very helpful to me for doing my research work on the very same topic.

But all of these courses should be free of cost,just like this one.

Thanking you once again !

Regards.

por Zhaodong W

Mar 27, 2019

Brilliant course, this is my 1st course in coursera, and it broadens my horizon.

por sarah j

Jan 16, 2019

very informational

por Samia S

Jan 14, 2019

Wonderful course that interested me and fed my passion.

por SARAH E O H

Jan 31, 2019

Great explanations

por Vamsi K S B

Jan 31, 2019

Great introduction. But do not stop with this course, if you are planning to do some good work in the field of cancer. This is just the beginning.

por Parth R J

Feb 03, 2019

great for beginners like me to dive into world of cancer treatments

por Rakshith K

Feb 03, 2019

The course was helpful for me to learn about the science of cancer biology. Being a pathology student this helped me in understanding the concepts of cancer which s very important for me for my future. Thank you doctors and thank you Coursera !!

por Harishmitha N

Jan 21, 2019

very well constructed.

por Dustin S

Jan 03, 2019

hits the surface of cancer for anyone who is at least interested in learning how some cancers work.

por Mohammad D A

Dec 18, 2018

كانت دورة مفيدة لفهم السرطان

por Jake F

Jan 05, 2019

Extremely informative, will use moving along my career trajectory in medicine!

por María C S L

Jan 07, 2019

Excelente curso

por Sanjana A

Feb 24, 2019

Thoroughly inspired and loved the course. Exceeded my expectations and learnt a lot. Thank you!

por Estrella F J

Feb 14, 2019

.

por Amritha M V

Feb 27, 2019

Loved it! I learned a lot more regarding this field and it has totally encouraged me to continue with my passion of cancer research.

por Syed M M

Mar 03, 2019

Very helpful and well organized. It was a great experience to hear all these scientists.

por Fernanda M B

Mar 03, 2019

Nice course for people studying medicine, I really liked it, is very dinamic and not boring.

por Mehul C

Mar 08, 2019

good insight on Cancer biology

por Laura I G C

Mar 09, 2019

It is a good course! Please include Leukemia!!

por NADEEM S

Mar 12, 2019

EXCELLENT

por Sarada P M

Mar 12, 2019

Excellent

por David H

Mar 12, 2019

Grat course