Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to the Biology of Cancer da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrelas
6,496 classificações

Sobre o curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Melhores avaliações

AH

17 de mar de 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13 de jan de 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 1,256 Avaliações para o Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por Garima K S

2 de abr de 2022

Great introductory course for students and researchers interested in the field of cancer. Thanks a lot to Coursera and instructors from JHU med school to put it together. Highly recommended!

por Cor R

7 de abr de 2020

Adequate introduction to the theme. If, however, you have any experience in oncology already, it is not advisable to attend this course since it discusses only the fundamentals of oncology.

por Louisa B

11 de abr de 2022

The course is very structured in a way that the student who does not have any heavy background in Oncology will understand the course. Thank you very much for the student-friendly lessons!

por Kiarash P

18 de mai de 2020

The course was really helpful for understanding and reviewing the basic concepts of cancer, which is always important to keep in mind to be able to treat patients accurate as a oncologist.

por Vikram A S

16 de ago de 2019

Course is concise and professors are well learned in their fields. Information in the course is relatively well dispersed. Use of diagrams is good and makes it easy to remember the content

por Ngawang C

17 de jun de 2022

I am Traditional Tibetan physician this couse is exellent and it's really helpful to me gaining lots of new knowledage about cancer biology .I am looking forward to learn more things.

por Feo M

13 de jun de 2021

Great course, I'm 15 and learned a lot. The ease with which each lesson can be understood changed lesson to lesson, depending on how well the researcher explained. But still great course!

por Tryambak P S

16 de ago de 2020

This is a very basic course designed by an excellent team with ease so that non-technical person can also be benefitted from it. Thank you, for this great course. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

por SNEHA G

14 de ago de 2020

This course was really useful for me, and it helped me to gather more information about cancer biology as well. Thank you all the organizers who made thing course really a beneficial one.

por João V V

5 de out de 2019

It is a great course, very well developed, those involved explain very well, besides having a broad knowledge base. I am very pleased, I feel that this course will really help me in life.

por Ragini R

11 de jun de 2020

The course was very useful and the content has been distributed very well. It has helped me learn a lot of things about various prevalent cancers. Thank you so much to the team. Regards.

por Perceox P

3 de set de 2019

Soy Ingeniero y he estado investigando el funcionamiento del cáncer durante unos 3 años. He aprendido mucho hasta aquí. temas nuevos para mi, desde el punto de vista de la investigación.

por Le P H

30 de jul de 2019

I love the highly-organized course materials. It is not only useful for biology students but also for anyone who wants to better understand one of the most deadly diseases in the world.

por Chelsea H

21 de mar de 2017

Great introductory course for cancer. It is simple enough for a novice to understand, and complex enough for someone who works in the field to gain additional knowledge. Great lectures.

por Aditi S

27 de dez de 2016

This course was put very simply and understandably. The information was useful in my projects and I am now able to understand terminology used in medical journals. Thank you Dr. Pienta!

por Vikram

14 de mai de 2020

This is very amazing. This course give me more knowledge about cancer. And the all teacher are very very amazing. This give me more information and a new platform for my good career.

por Jim H

20 de mar de 2017

Excellent class. I learned a lot. I like how they delivered the information into clear comprehensible segments. It was easy for follow the class, as it was well organized and clear.

por Okan M

28 de fev de 2021

Bu güzel kurs için, Coursera ve Johns Hopkins University olmak üzere emeği geçen; Kenneth Pienta, Sarah Amend, Jelani Zarif, Ken Valkenburg ve Diana Reyes'a teşekkerlerimi sunarım.

por Emmanuel A C D

15 de out de 2019

It was a very good course. It help me very much to understand and have a much better idea of the different types of Cancer. I can most certainly take advantage from this knowledge.

por Jan M B

3 de jul de 2019

Very interesting course. Important information to understand the development of cancer and its treatments and to be able to follow the medical developments of cancer in the future.

por Abhijit P

27 de abr de 2018

Extremely simplified explanation such that a non-bio background Computer Science Engineer can even understand the causes. (By the way I am learning to apply AI to cancer detection)

por Mohammadreza G S

15 de jul de 2022

This course was so fantastic for me. As I was expecting, my knowledge about cancer, my favorite field of study, is now at a higher level. Special thanks to Dr.Pienta and his team.

por Caroline S d A

8 de jun de 2020

I learned a lot in this course, it was better than I expected. It will help me in my study area and I hope I can improve my skills at university with these knowledge I've earned.

por Aishik S

28 de jul de 2020

In this course I learned many things about cancer like cancer treatment and prevention process like therapies and chemical agent, surgery and clinical trials and Many more thing

por Abdullah A S

28 de set de 2019

Very informative, absolutely loved it. Strongly Recommended to anyone interested in Biochemistry, Cancer research or to anyone looking to learn more about this particular field.