Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to the Biology of Cancer da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrelas
6,499 classificações

Sobre o curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Melhores avaliações

AH

17 de mar de 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SI

13 de jan de 2022

A beautifully structured course with highly valuable information explained with great detail in a simplified manner. Highly recommended for anyone interested to gain overall understanding of Cancer.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 1,256 Avaliações para o Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por EDEN J A

14 de nov de 2020

I was able to gain the necessary knowledge and skills in identifying common cancers, their diagnosis, progression and treatment. This course is very relevant and helpful to me.

por Luiz A R C

1 de ago de 2020

Excellent course, clear and complete lectures, accessible language, actual and scientific information based on robust evidences, connected to practice. Completely recommend!!!

por Nivedha M S

27 de jun de 2020

The course was amazing. l got to learn and appreciate the different types of cancer and the various concepts associated with it. It was a very satisfying experience. Thank you

por Abykhair M

17 de ago de 2020

It is a very useful course for beginner. It can act as a stepping-stone for someone who wants to start learning about cancer or pursuing a profession in cancer-related fields

por Aryesh A

8 de jan de 2020

A very good course to understand cancer and what are the possibilities in future to fight against it.I enjoyed this course very much.Thank you for letting me do this course.

por Usama A K

1 de jun de 2017

I found this course very fruitful for me . I got extra knowledge by that. Coursera is doing well to help the students to increase their extra knowledge. very Appreciable (Y)

por ALEJANDRO E F O

3 de ago de 2020

I liked this course because give the basic principles to understand the biology of cancer, I like the points of view of researchers, doctors and nurses, it helped me a lot.

por Lena N

22 de jan de 2018

It was a comprehensive review of the development of cancer. I only wish we had more time to go into the specific genetics of the genes related to the development of cancer.

por Nafisa N I

18 de mai de 2020

What an amazing story-teller the course-creators are! I have learned and enjoyed a lot. Highly Recommended for anyone who wants to further their career in Cancer Research.

por Pierre G

21 de mar de 2020

It is very useful , simple , and I am looking forward to take more courses , and I think it gives a proper introduction for whoever wants to start learning about cancer .

por Angela V M S M

5 de mar de 2021

Loved it, really easy to understand everything and the teachers were really nice and explained everything very well. I'm happy I took this course, I really learned a lot

por Dmitri V

17 de nov de 2020

Easy to follow, maximally informative and professional. All lectures connected to each other finding the balance between simplicity and specificity. Thank you very much.

por James M

21 de fev de 2017

Wonderful course. Very informative and exceptionally well designed. I have learnt so much that will help me with my work in Integrative oncology and botanical medicine.

por Vedanti R K

15 de dez de 2021

Thank you so much for this valuable learning experience. I am so grateful to Coursera and Professors of John Hopkins University, this has been such a wonderful journey.

por 文迪 黄

7 de abr de 2021

Very informative lecture. From my personal perspective as a high school student it is a well-designed and a little challenging course. I enjoy this learning experience.

por Ramana M S

25 de jan de 2020

Course was grea!!!. Crisp, well framed, well presented covering every basic aspect to understand the cancer biology. I would recommend this to my friends and colleagues

por Sarah Y

4 de out de 2018

it's really an amazing course .the lecturers hit the points directly.

I just wish the next time you could provide a course that explain the molecular biology of cancer.

por Shafi A T

29 de ago de 2019

It is a very informative and fundamental course for beginners aspire for cancer biology.Instructors are pretty good and explain the topic very well.Highly recommended

por Anjana v

1 de abr de 2020

it was really a helpful class for me as a biotech student and i would like to have more classes in other areas.it help me to learn much more deep into cancer biology

por Jamyang P

19 de ago de 2019

The entire lecture and construct of the syllabus was very simple and informative. I recommend others to kindly look up to this course and have a informative session.

por Erin S

7 de jun de 2020

Absolutely worth it - boosts my CV yet fulfils my desire to know more about this topic! It helped me with learning content for my next year's modules in university!

por Patricia R

25 de dez de 2021

I can believe how much a learn about Cancer, I understand now not only about cancer also specifically what areas i am interested. Thank you so much, great course!

por Percy C M A

14 de ago de 2020

I really enjoyed with this course. It was a tremendous knowledge I´ve learned. Thank you for their times. It was very helpfull to me to understand what is cancer.

por Ruchi G

22 de mai de 2020

I have learned many things on the topic of cancer and I think this course gave me more knowledge about cancer and it's risk factor and prevention and treatment...

por NAVYA B S 4

14 de jul de 2020

Really loved the entire course. It makes even a person who doesn't have any knowledge about the subject understand the concepts very well. Excellent explanation.