Chevron Left
Voltar para Big Data Integration and Processing

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Big Data Integration and Processing da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.4
1,499 classificações
316 avaliações

Sobre o curso

At the end of the course, you will be able to: *Retrieve data from example database and big data management systems *Describe the connections between data management operations and the big data processing patterns needed to utilize them in large-scale analytical applications *Identify when a big data problem needs data integration *Execute simple big data integration and processing on Hadoop and Spark platforms This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Melhores avaliações

FC

Sep 25, 2016

Best course taking into account the first three. Good material, more in depth than the other ones. Very well explained. Useful to get a sense of various interesting topics and orientative.

AA

Mar 06, 2018

It was a good course, it could have been better if some examples of Spark were also provided in other Languages like Java, people without having background of python may find it difficult.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Big Data Integration and Processing

por Scott M

Mar 19, 2018

I found the 6th week of this course to be frustrating. There was a big jump from the lessons to the final 2 tests, and the questions and directions were not well worded, a bit confusing. The biggest issue was that many students had the same questions that were blocking their progress, however there were almost no replies from teachers or staff to give some guidance, tips, etc. Some of these questions were asked over a year ago and the new students had the same questions again, and still no real activity from the teachers in the forums. In past classes that always happened.

por Dwayne D

Jul 27, 2018

This course provides a good overview and positioning of relevant big data technologies. In the latter weeks, the hands-on exercises become increasingly challenging, which is a good thing. I have a much better grasp of Apache Spark and its role in big data processing and integration as a result of this course.

My only significant complaint (and why I rated 4 stars vs. 5) is that the setup instructions for the environment needed for the hands-on exercises needs to be updated. I spent 1.5 days (in terms of time I allocate to continued learning) struggling with configuration of the final exercise. The forum was useful. It appears most learners who take this course after June 2018 will run into the same issue. The course administrators should update the instructions so that others won't lose time or, worse, give up on the course because of issues indirectly (at best) related to the learning objectives.

All in all, this is a very good course; and I'd recommend it.

por Roberto G C

Jul 23, 2018

Great course and content; I just would like that I've felt better prepared for the last challenge with Spark. @ week6. But still an excellent course and hands-on exercises.

por Prospero-Martin R

Jun 09, 2018

I did liked the subjects on this course! but it would be highly appreciated and would bring more potential students to this course if the setup instructions where more clear and right on the issue. Students come with various discipline backgrounds and 100% of us are new to Big Data Tools, so troubleshooting and issue while trying to do a lab or quiz is very stressful and encouraging. Even better PLEASE add a Troubleshooting section on a week's course should you see that many students are stuck with the same or similar issue...PLEASE!

por King W N

Jan 05, 2018

This course was a lot more challenging, the assignments requires that you have some knowledge with scripting even though the practice runs through some but if you do not have the background it is very challenging. But, don't give up since you have the vm running on your local machine you can continue to practice with the course examples.

por Federico S

Apr 13, 2018

I liked the subject, and I achieved my main goal with this course. So I am globally satisfied.

But last week's assigments were likely above the knowledge acquired through the lessons. It was hard to succeed on it, especially in some steps.

Eg. It doesn't make much sense to spend a long time looking for the correct syntax of the desc function to sort a table in descending order

por Sam M

Feb 18, 2018

The final assignment contained concepts that were not taught in the course: for example, how to remove leading space from a field, how to put 2 words in a tuple, how to filter lines/texts with null, how to deal with country names with more than one word (e.g. United States), etc. The final assignment requirement far more advanced Spark programming skill than what was taught in the rest of the course.

por Charles G

Dec 15, 2017

It was a tough last project and I had to use outside resources with limited examples and that is why I could not finish on time. I don't like being late on anything but this was by far my worst time management due to vague instructions and lack of supp

por Manoj D

Oct 29, 2018

The course content is good, however, main issue is with the hands on and assignments instructions - they are not completely clear and lack many things.

por Brian M

Oct 14, 2018

The lectures are so mundane and abstract. I enjoy the hands on portions, but they are so disconnected from the lectures when concepts are to be explained, that they ultimately feel like we're just executing code from the material that we may not fully understand. By the time the quizzes come up, we're expected to put everything together as if we're regularly practicing the methods used in the hands-on portions. Very disappointed.

por Phillip M

Sep 04, 2017

I have to give this course a low rating, simply because the week 6 assignment "Analysis using Spark" was a terrible experience. All other assignments throughout these course have been great, but the "Analysis using Spark" assignment was poorly constructed. Essentially the assignment could not be completed as prescribed in the instructions. The data required modifying in order to complete the exercise - which I was never able to complete. The goal of the exercise was to use what we learned from the lessons and work with data frames, not deal with and repair broken csv data. This was extremely disappointing!

por Ana L

Sep 03, 2018

A lot of the instructions for the assignments were incomplete or just wrong. The installation for Splunk never worked as written, forums were of no help; I ended up downloading an older version of Splunk just to complete that week's assignment. This course was extremely frustrating to complete.

por Alireza A B

Oct 22, 2017

Lecture material and instructions are very limited and confusing. There are so many places that the order of the steps to perform certain tasks are flipped making the students spending several none sense hours. I wish somebody would care and review the material and fix all these issues!!!

por Jason R

Oct 21, 2017

This course continued the trend of this specialization where the lectures are full of vague jargon/diagrams and name-dropping of various applications without teaching us practical skills and then quizzing us on whether we listened to the video verbatim as opposed to challenging our minds conceptually. Only the exercises are redeeming in giving some useful, hands-on experience with some applications but then the final project required extensive googling to figure out how to work with pyspark dataframes that weren't taught in the course. Instead this course should have just been full of hands-on teaching of pyspark, mongodb, and python. Also the splunk module was a total tangent/distraction and should be dropped.

por Andreas D S

Apr 21, 2019

instalation for pyspark is not working properly

por José G d A L N

Dec 04, 2018

Perfect

por Jorge V

Dec 23, 2018

This has been one of the most exciting courses I've done. The final project makes a good job on making you apply a Big Data Processing Pipeline to solve a common task these days with SparkSQL: analyzing data on social media.

por Zeinab T

Dec 30, 2018

Very good explanation of Spark layers and processes and how it differs from MapReduce. Thank you.

por Mahamat N A M

Jan 31, 2019

it's really useful course for data integration. and you will understand the basic of data integration and processing which is really important part of big data as well.

por Jude O

Nov 06, 2018

This course was a bit tough but I am excited I completed it.

por André G P

Nov 09, 2018

Great course.

por Nick B

Nov 28, 2018

Enjoyed the class. It was very enlightening.

por Esteban E C

Nov 30, 2018

Great course :)

por vasudha k

Jan 16, 2019

amazing course great assignments

por Srishti R

Mar 05, 2019

Great experience towards learning this course